LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat 8.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
15 49537 02-07-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers $67.67 7.9



Description: Linux Red Hat 8.0 - A Newbie's View
Keywords: Linux Red Hat 8.0


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-18-2003, 10:39 AM   #1
sickboylives
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware 11.0, FreeBSD 6.2
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install and configure basic components.
Cons: Many configuration options hidden from end user.



I'd like to remind you that this review is coming from the standpoint of a user who has actively used Linux for one week.

Red Hat 8.0 is probably the easiest Linux out there to install (with the obvious exception being Linux on a bootable CD). It's straightforward and very descriptive during install. Loopback and network installs are easy enough even without a GUI.

Red Hat's inclusion of a "start here" systed configure tool is nice, though it does suffer from hiding a few too many configuration options from the end user. For the beginner, it is more than sufficient, and at times will end up confusing the novice.

The addition of Bluecurve makes Linux Red Hat 8.0 look great. There's not much of a drawback in this arena.

The biggest problem with Red Hat 8.0 is the Red Hat Network. I've never been able to successfully update my system with this utility.

All in all, Red Hat 8.0 is in my opinion the best distribution for a newbie to cut their teeth in Linux on. It's highly usable right out of the box and needs minimal guru-ism to use, expand, and enjoy.
 
Old 07-19-2003, 10:15 PM   #2
SuseBoy
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Suse 8.2/Fedora 5
Posts: 93

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Install, Noob Friendly , Easy to use
Cons: WIll make you want to Delete all other os's on your computer cept for Slack Deb and Gen


I got my copy from the library.
---------------------------------------
Graphics: 9
usability: 9
Install: 10
-------------
I moved to RH8 from SUSE 8.2 personal.
it's great, way better
and I got it for free.
I use this as my main Os, but Im going to install another OS on another partition.
 
Old 08-01-2003, 10:13 PM   #3
lappen
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1 / Gentoo
Posts: 83

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 2

Pros: none
Cons: GUI, hard to master


Nothing good to say about this one, I changed distro after a week and will never use RedHat again
 
Old 08-18-2003, 08:26 PM   #4
putkowski
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.00 | Rating: 6

Pros: rpm's and dependency checking is invaluable in the real world
Cons: my mouse goes apshit every two weeks (hey, where else could you get this performance from a pentium pro?)


SORRY, this should be in the rh 9 area. I don't see a way to DELETE it...






I am using rh 9 after previous experience with rh 7.

After setting DHCP using netconfig i was immediately able to connect via ADSL. Contrary to usual advice, running as ROOT allowed me to immediately update packages (after registration... sorry frebies.)

My machine is a pentium pro @ 300 mhz (w/384 mb) and includes a SCSI hard drive and CD rom. I had to use the DOS utilities on the CD to create a boot diskette and a "block driver" diskette.

per se: boot the boot diskette and then enter the command (to the BOOT prompt)

linux dd

the system prompts for the driver disk, processes it and then asks "can I have another?" how cool?

install then proceeded normally from the scsi cd drive.

Install was as usual (you must see the fine manual about partitions!!)

The only bitch i can include is that GNOME has trouble.. finding the hostname and IP address. If you don't get it right, performance does not exist. This will exhibit itself in a dialog box when you LOGIN. Someone please document all the places to include the hostname, domain, and how the IP is determined. I've also found that binding to the MAC address makes a world of (go fast) difference.

Of course, all you gurus already know this, so please send PM....

I've also had great luck (and high performance) using VNC after my initial shock (incorrect) at seeing rh 9 crawl like win2.0. Apparently lacking LINUXCONF has a certain amount of trade-off. I'll be sure to update this later as I learn...

Paul
 
Old 08-23-2003, 01:46 PM   #5
tripolitan
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Red Hat, Mandrake
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy to install, wider support by 3rd party software. Becoming the defacto Linux distro.
Cons: RPM hangs more times than not, Up2Date is unaware of other non-redhat RPMs.


RH9.0 is probably the one distro that detected and setup my Radeon 8500 with 3D support (mesa) while others have failed. It is not bloated and gets more support by 3rd party software makers than any other distro, as it is used as a testbed for many leading applications.

I am oblivious as to why RH does not have a good program for RPM management, like urpmi for Mandrake. RPM itself hangs more times than not, especially when installing non-RH packages. Up2Date is an excellent online updating utility but the Add-Remove utility is just plain dumb, it is unaware of any rpms installed on the system other than the ones that came on the install CDs! The same utility will not recognize any version updates, even when these updates are packaged for RH9.0!

Overall, I should really be switching back to Mandrake, but for some strange reason, this distro has lasted on my PC more than any other.
 
Old 09-01-2003, 07:55 PM   #6
lub0
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: its not windows....
Cons: ? not really found many yet ( apart from maybe visually )


Personally I have found through several installs of various linux OS's ( suse, RH, mandrake, slackware, caldera and turbo ) that each one (usually) offers some kind of extra add-on that you dont expect. To this day suse 8 is the only distro which gave me 3D on my graphics card. (3D phrophet nvidia gts) without downloading any drivers. And more recently i had to change from broadband to dial up, ( downer ) i installed mandrake 9 and connected to the internet via kppp. The only problem was no apps worked ( netscape, galeon, nmap... so on ). But on RH9 it worked first time, no problem.

Where does the difference happen between linux X's ???, some distro's have a different outlook on say, security but they all better than windows.
(although to be truthful, two paper cups and a bit of string are more secure than windows)
So what i mean is, take your choice... they are all good and linus torvalds should be thanked for giving us a excellent alternative to the nightmare that is WINDOWS$. If you dont know linux, then learn it. Its what a computer is meant to be.....

ps... i cant program, and i dont know half the packages on most linux distro's, my interest lie's in network security, and to this, linux is a playground. And on top of that it's better for surfing the net.



Enjoy...... The mad Scotsman.... lub0
 
Old 09-17-2003, 12:03 AM   #7
El Gato Feo
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: FC6,7 soon 8
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $149.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: This RH8 PRO was very easy for me to install.
Cons:


I am very plzd with RH8. I studied the manuals that came with the boxed set and found them writtten for a newbie like me. They were understandable and workable. I was able to connect my RH8 with my ADSL with no problems and when the network went dwn I found it quite easy to reestablish connection. I have quite abit to learn about RH8 and its capabilities. For right now I use it as 'lamp' showing the wonderfull screensavers all night long. Hopefully oneday soon I will use my RH as the main os for my work and play. I have a copy of RH8 Bible that I have found quite informative and usefull and is getting me up to speed.
Soon I'll be of some help on the forums here.

I tip my hat to RH8 and all who use it.
El
 
Old 09-22-2003, 09:39 AM   #8
chii-chan
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Redhat 8.0 (2.4.25-custom), Fedora Core 1 (2.4.30-custom)
Posts: 357

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, rpm installation, easy for newbie, cool name (Psyche)
Cons: dependencies hell, do not support internal modem natively (without installing extra rpm)


My first experience with linux was with Redhat 6.0. It was easy to install anyway but occupied a lot of harddisk space (1.5Gb), which at that time (2001) I only had my old 4 Gb harddisk. It was interesting to learn new thing from OS other than windows, but as I ran out of space, I got to uninstall it, after using it only for 1 month. The other things that made me uninstall this OS were the crappy X-interface and lack of internal modem support. At that time I was not really determined to use it as my primary OS, so I only got very little experience with linux and did not learn a lot. But as the harddisk becoming cheaper and cheaper, and as I already had 90Gb of harddisk storage, I thougt that I better start with linux again. That was early in this year. So I went to library to borrow Redhat 7.2 cds. It was terrible, because after installation, it won't boot up! Then I tried my old Redhat 6.0 on my computer (with AMD Duron 900Mhz and Geforce2 MX). This time it boot up well, but because the version did not support my graphic card, I stuck in console forever after running xf86config tens of time. I asked one of my senior if there was any way to install graphic card driver, but he said that it would be very difficult and suggested that I buy RedHat 8.0 instead. He was the only one who knew linux in my place. Anyway, I gave up at that time. After some month I felt that I was going to try linux again, and went out to buy RedHat 8.0. The installation went smooth and the interface was better than before. I thought that I want to turn this linux box into an entertainment system. I installed mplayer on my system (which actually took me some weeks to install because of that dependencies 'hell'^_^) for entertaiment. This time I was determined to use this OS and dumped my windows. For one I month, I have been learning a lot of linux stuffs of how to turn linux into entertainment box. In the process, I seemed to know my computer better than before, and my cranium expanded. I seemed to have full control of my computer to the extent that you can choose and install latest kernel as you wish, that keep my computer up to date. Now, RedHat 8.0 is my primary OS. I really recommend this product for newbie over any other ditributions. (Anyway, I chooses Redhat 8.0 instead of 9.0 because the codename for 8.0 is Psyche. Shrike doesn't appeal me that much, it sounds weird.) ---I'm alone in the world of Windows
 
Old 11-01-2003, 06:59 PM   #9
terrybiggs
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Red Hat 8.0, Rachel Modifications
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The interface is sooooo- CLEAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, and almost everythign works
Cons: lack of DVD read support


Besides the DVD drive not reading right, I have to give props to Red Hat for putting up the CLEANEST interface of them all- it's a beauty! I am using this distro as the mainstay of Project Rachel, which is a powerful, easy-to-use system. All my apps work like a dream, including Windows applications. Mandrake, everything works on it, but either half-ass or broken and has to be fixed, and the interface isn't even as clean.

My disadvantage is that I had to do some downloading to get certain things to work, otherwise, it's a great system.

 
Old 11-24-2003, 11:37 PM   #10
teacup
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware Debian
Posts: 86

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: easy to get help with this one, works
Cons: annoying redhat specific tools, rpm is icky


This was the first distro I tried out. I used it for a couple months until I got bored with it. I couldn't ever get samba to work with it. I remember being unable to use many standard console configuration tools. I had to use the redhat versions. This is annoying if you are reading from a book. It was also annoying when it kept harrassing me to sign up for rhn. Leave me alone redhat! RPM is a horrible package management system. This is what really turned me away from this distro. 90% of the rpms I found didn't work. How 'usable' is that? At least I didn't have any stability issues with redhat. It was good about that.
 
Old 03-16-2004, 02:31 PM   #11
VeganHacker
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Red Hat 8
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Install, Flexibility in configuration, stability
Cons: Updating/adding new packages, Hardware compatability/auto-detection


Red hat 8 is almost a perfect operating system - espescially for someone new to Linux. It runs so much more stably than windows (what doesn't) and is quite configurable... tweaking it isn't nearly as easy as windows (you have to update the kernel and what not), but performance-wise its absolutely amazing and doesn't use up nearly as much resources as windows. Also, while I can crash Windows XP 20+ times a day (not exaggerating... i counted), I've only ever crashed RH 8 once and that was because of mouse problems... so overall I'd say its near perfect, just needs a lil bit better display of the mouse (I have an old, old version of X) & its auto-detect could be better (than again it does auto-detect better than windows, and its always got generic drivers)
 
Old 03-10-2006, 03:30 PM   #12
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy to install
Cons: I donīt see


almost a perfect operating system - espescially for someone new to Linux, I.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 11:08 AM   #13
natureday
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very easy instructions
Cons: It was a little confusing when I added it .


My brother sent Linux Red Hat 8.0 to me in a zip file.
I was super easy installing it, but I had to keep calling him and asking him how to configure it.
 
Old 01-28-2008, 06:21 AM   #14
Alex2008
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


Red Hat 8.0 is certainly a step to the future. Unfortunately, it is also several steps back in terms of functionality. At this time in Linux history, most users of Red Hat 8.0 are probably going to be users of some other form of Linux. That means we're used to things being a certain way. I think it's fantastic that Red Hat has made things look so slick, but I liked some things the way they were. I like being able to play my MP3s and videos.

------------------------------
Cheese Tools
 
Old 02-07-2008, 01:10 AM   #15
aniltalpade
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


GOOD PRODUCT TO BEGIN
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration