LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Gentoo
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Genoo Gentoo Linux 2004.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 39370 01-30-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6



Description: 2004.2 is a natural progression for the Gentoo release cycle. These areas of improvement include, but are not limited to:

- LiveCD compatibility with Dell server-class machines
- LiveCD compatibility with SMP machines;
- x86 laptop PCMCIA support;
- Wireless (802.11a/b/g) capabilties;
- SATA support.
Keywords: Gentoo Linux 2004.2 (Release Date: July 26, 2004)


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-15-2004, 08:54 PM   #1
cato4liberty
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: extremely configurable; forces you to learn; excellent community support
Cons: installation is time consuming and tedious



Gentoo Linux is a wonderful way to actually learn about Linux, about your system, and and to develop the confidence to configure, optimize, and debug your system.

Every Gentoo user will tell you how helpful the installation process was for enhancing their overall understanding of Linux.

The support forums are wonderful and heavily attended. Anytime I have had a problem I have posted on their forums and received a reply rather quick.

If you are curious about Linux, this is the BEST way to learn.

Either you can choose to stay fearful of the installation process or you can choose to attack your fears and learn from the experience. I chose to attack and learn and I am glad I did.

Once you have a system you never have to upgrade as the online package manager (called portage) will download all the new versions of everything from the GUIs to the kernels, from the DEs to the WMs.
 
Old 08-24-2004, 07:29 PM   #2
kb=mvp
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, documentation, easy to configure, package system
Cons: none


I started with Mandrake, moved to Slackware, then Debian, and they all used to crash. I've been using gentoo for about a month now, and I did not have aaany problem whatsoever. I learned more about linux from Gentoo's documentation in less than a month than I have learned in 5 months using other distros. Highly recommended for everyone, and it's well worth the installation time it takes.
 
Old 08-26-2004, 12:22 PM   #3
cogburnjs
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Lots of configuring capabilities, allows user to customizes just the system he/she wants nothing more to tie up resorces, great install docs
Cons: Can imagine it being very hard for new linux users, very time consuming install


Great install documentation, emerge is awsome. I started with just a small basic install then just emerged what I needed. Unlike installing alot of other versions of linux that its easier to just click the full install this one allows you to customize the exact system you want. It's really fast, alot faster than the slackware I changed from. Lots of help from the Gentoo website and here on LinuxQuestions to help me get it up and running.

Very time consuming install and would have been alot more difficult had I not had another operating pc that I could google for answers. Took me at least 6 hours to get the system up and running, but once I did I am more than satisfied with what I accomplished and would and will do it all agian.

Another main problem I guess is having to install agian on another computer and it taking exactly the same time as it did on the first for compiling and setting up, perhaps a bit faster.

Emerge is a great tool alot of things I have tried to download and install in source in the past has failed and I have given up, such as Xpertmud but with Gentoo I just emerge xpertmud and its done.

Overall if you have the time and some linux experience Gentoo is the best linux dist. that I have found and really easy to get via bittorrent, even if you choose to purchase the cd's they are alot cheaper than most other distributions.
 
Old 08-28-2004, 03:10 AM   #4
berkay
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Gentoo 2004.2
Posts: 100

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stability, Performance, Documentation and of course 'Portage'
Cons: Long installation process


After some research, I decided to install gentoo on my laptop. I chose gentoo because I wanted a system which is fast and stable... Although installation period took a long time (which depends on your choices), the result was much better than I expected... First of all, system is very fast... I installed Gnome first and the performance was greater compared with other distro's like fedora, mandrake, suse....
When I first used linux, i didn't like its package management system (mostly rpm -ivh)... it was not that bad but I always hated the screens (after ./configure) saying blablabla.so.2.etc is needed by blablabla2.3.6...... In order to install some packages, you have to search the internet very deeply for the needed files... But portage is excellent...
You say emerge gnome, it installs everything you need to run gnome(dependencies); you say emerge mplayer, it installs mplayer and put mplayer icon in the applications menu :)

In short, I recommend every linux-lover to try gentoo... If you want performance, stability and a good(!) package system, 'emerge' gentoo...

Cheers,

berkay
 
Old 08-31-2004, 06:22 PM   #5
enigma Z
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Gentoo 2004.2
Posts: 224

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: speed, reliablity, configurability
Cons: installation time, X and window managers aren't pre-installed


After using Mandrake versions 7, 8, 9, Redhat 8.0, Fedora Core 1, and Slackware 9.0, I had come to the conclusion that the way to fix linux was to re-install it. However, I now know that this is not the case. Because of Gentoo's customizabliity, I was able to fix my mistakes and learn ALOT about linux.

Gentoo linux is (as you have probably heard before) a VERY customizable distro of linux. At first this scared me away, but it isn't NEARLY as difficult as it seems. Once you boot the CD your nework will automatically connect if you have a linux compatable NIC. Then, Gentoo downloads all the packages and installs them so you get the most up-to-date version. That's pretty much it

Gentoo is fast, reliable, and highly configurable. Not only that, but it has package managment too! If you want mozilla firefox, then simply "emerge mozilla-firefox". If you want KDE, then "emerge kde". And that's it. You don't need to know where anything is at on the internet, Gentoo automatically downloads and compiles everything for you!

The only real challenging thing that I find is two things: 1. X and KDE aren't preinstalled, and 2. It takes a LONG LONG time to install, and isn't as much "start it and leave it alone" as other distros.

Those two things aside, Gentoo is an AWESOME distro, and I would recommend it to almost anyone!!
 
Old 09-14-2004, 11:15 AM   #6
kesara3k
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Gentoo Linux 2.6.9-r13
Posts: 57

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: fast, stable, good documentation, pre-optimized packages (GRP)
Cons: Takes lot of time to complete.


Gentoo works efficiently on my system & it is stable...
A good documentation available at www.gentoo.org makes it easier to install. (Even for a newbie:-)
And you can gain lot of knowladge about Linux.
As all these type distros, it takes lot of time to complete...
GPG packages makes installation of other packages easier...
Gentoo have optimized GPG (package CDs) for number of archs..
So you can gain full out out of your system.
After all I think this the best distro...
second to LFS;-)
 
Old 09-14-2004, 03:19 PM   #7
geniarse
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 141

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Up to date packages, fast, stable, lean, customisable, excellent package management (including dependency resolving)
Cons: Long installation time on slow systems, installation dauntig for newbies (though not that hard)


Excellent system well worth the investment in time. I did a stage2 installation and had no problems whilst learning a few nuggets of information previously hidden fom me.

I reccomend putting aside an afternoon so you can have an up to date system with only what you need.
 
Old 01-04-2005, 07:13 AM   #8
Mordanthanus
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Portage, community, speed
Cons: Install time was quite long


I have heard a lot of reviews from people that have been into Linux for quite a while. Well, this is the first time I have installed Linux and thanks to a recommendation from a couple of friends, I started with Gentoo.

I followed the online manual for installation, which makes it VERY easy. At first I didn't understand what some of the commands were that I was using, but you start to figure it out after a little while. After a couple of minor snags getting KDE and Xorg loaded (Thanks to my friend for some help there), everything in my laptop worked, including sound. The only thing that gave me trouble was my USB mouse, which made me research the web to figure out.

For a newbie, I think I did pretty well getting Gentoo installed in a little under two days. And installing apps is a snap with Emerge. Now, if only I can figure out what all those programs are in the protage tree...
Oh well, guess I'll have to install them to find out. Great learning experience! (I'm using it right now...)
 
Old 01-30-2005, 12:37 AM   #9
ghazz
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Highly customizable, Makes an user learn linux intimately
Cons: long process(took almost 3 days with my DSL connection)


I do not recommend those new to linux installing this distro as it does take a bit of know-how, Linux-style. There are 3 choices for install, 1 ,2, and 3. This makes it a wonderful learning tool as each stage sucks you into the internal workings a stage at a time.

I, however, like to do an install in a day and therefore feel a pang if discontent with it's longer than long install. In the future I will use it to further my education, but using it as a personal distro, not for me, perhaps you will feel differently??!
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration