LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices


Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware Linux 14.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
12 10549 08-19-2015
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6



Description: "After over a year of development (including the beta release and several release candidates to get everything polished up) we're proud to announce the availability of the new stable release. You'll find updates throughout the system, with the latest compilers and development tools, and recent versions of applications, window managers, desktop environments, and utilities. The Linux kernel is updated to version 3.10.17 (part of the 3.10.x kernel series that will be getting long-term support from the kernel developers). The x86_64 edition of Slackware also adds support for installing and booting on systems running UEFI firmware."
Keywords: Kernel-3.10.17 UEFI-firmware


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-06-2014, 04:15 AM   #1
gonny95
 
Registered: Feb 2014
Distribution: Slackware,Ubuntu
Posts: 84

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The most stable linux!
Cons: Packages



At first I installed Ubuntu

Ubuntu is so buggy with no reasons.

So I decided to install Slackware

My choice was absolutely right yeah!

Unfortunately installing packages in slackware is a little bit hard

There are easy ways to install packages such like slackpkg
,Slackbuild .. not much packages, though.

Any way I like Slackware
 
Old 03-07-2014, 08:06 AM   #2
Drakeo
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Slackware, Slacko,
Posts: 2,740

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: well thought out system
Cons: not enough coffe


Slackware does the most to keep things in there place and lets the world orbit around them.
 
Old 03-07-2014, 09:54 AM   #3
Brosch91
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Distribution: Slackware64 14.1
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, and follows the "keep it simple stupid" philosophy quite well
Cons: takes time to learn, but once you understand it, everything makes sense


I used to be an avid Ubuntu user back in the day, but once Ubuntu went to Unity along with the distro starting to get more unstable and buggy over the years, I decided to stop using it. I then started jumping distro to distro, having a hard time finding a distro to call home. I've tried pclinuxos, linux mint, sabayon, gentoo, and more but they just didn't click with me.

Then I tried Slackware, and with the well documented slackdocs and the slackbook, I learned it quickly and really learned to love this distribution of GNU/Linux. It is extremely stable and I really like the LILO boot loader! And the slackbuilds make it easy to install any application you want, as they have many slackbuilds for a big variety of software available.

And the one thing I love Slackware about is they don't try to be what they aren't. One problem with most of the distros out there is they have identity problems. They try being one thing, then another thing. They just can't make up their minds! Not with Slackware, they have kept the same identity since the 90s and have gotten very good at doing what they do by being the same distro in every update. One thing you can count on with Slackware is that it won't try to change identities in the next update. They just keep it simple, updating it but keeping it the same distro we all know and love. I hope Slackware sticks around for the many years to come, because it has my full support!
 
Old 04-21-2014, 07:32 PM   #4
aihaike
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 214

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: original unix file system, very stable, very secure, no superfluous
Cons: maybe not suitable for newbies because of the packing system.


I use Slackware since 12 years now, it's such a great distribution to me.
 
Old 09-02-2014, 02:39 PM   #5
socokev
 
Registered: Feb 2014
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: seems very stable to me and simple to use
Cons: you need to use command line but the basics are easy to learn


I've been a Linux user for about 8 years but would certainly consider myself an eternal newbie.
I'm not a tinkerer of systems and much prefer and stable OS so I can actually use my computer for what I sat down for, rather than having to constantly alter settings.
I started off with Mandrake (before mandriva) and moved through various lightweight and full on distros.
I found Ubuntu too hard on my hardware and Sabayon rolled a release that broke my GUI once and it felt like too much hassle.
Even Mint became hassle with it's constant new releases due to following Ubuntu.
Hence I arrived at Slackware.
For all the talk about it's difficulty I have to say it's actually really, really simple to use. Follow the well written guides and you shouldn't have any problems.
Using the command line can seem a little foreign to start with, if you're used to the 'big' distros but it's only learning and it's simple learning at that.
Many people talk about the lack of packages - there seems to be almost everything you need on the install media and plenty more on Slackbuilds.
And just so you know - whilst there is no dependency checking, the Slackbuild will tell you what you need and have a link to it - you don;t have to go searching for rare files or anything.
I've no idea what more you need for a home desktop computer that isn't offered here - especially if you just want a computer to actually do stuff on.
Plenty of security updates and an officially sanctioned Chrome build - but no big software updates that will break the system.
My advice, simply sign up to the Slackware mailing lists so you'll know when to go trough the update routine.
I've been so impressed by not having to think about the OS that I even donate cash through their website!
Thoroughly recommended for people like me - who just want a computer which doesn't break itself when you press 'update-all'!
 
Old 10-03-2014, 10:44 AM   #6
nolretou
 
Registered: Apr 2014
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 54

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast and stable. A pleasure to work with.
Cons:


Perfect for every use, server, desktop, home studio etc.
No horrible crap like systemd are included, so it stays reliable.
Once your machine is set up and running, it's ok for years.
 
Old 11-03-2014, 05:40 AM   #7
kevison
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Slack 14.1 64bit/32bit
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very stable, puts control back into the users hands.
Cons:


This distro has been around a long time. I have been using it off and on for over 17 years. It revives the curious in me about software/operating systems and experimentation.
 
Old 11-04-2014, 04:55 AM   #8
mariose
 
Registered: May 2013
Distribution: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS
Posts: 171

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: To numerous to mention . . .
Cons: To few to bring up . . .


Slackware seems to be the right choice for Linux users who know what they want and know what they are doing. It is also the right choice for someone wanting to dig deeper into the Linux operating system. If you are comfortable installing apps from the SHELL then you should not have any problems. Slackware offers all the bells and whistles and even more than what I have seen on other distributions. If you are studying Linux it is a good starting point in order to find out how the internals work. I was previously using Ubuntu for years and thought I had found THE right system for me. Once I had recently installed Slackware, I could never go back to Ubuntu or any other distribution as this point. Well done to Patrick and the team.
 
Old 01-18-2015, 05:54 PM   #9
Birdski
 
Registered: Oct 2014
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stability, customization, simplicity. The OS does not hold your hand.
Cons: Initial install is not for a beginner who wants his hand to be held. I don't find this a con. Just don't jump into this if you have only used a graphical install on other distros. Read some documentation and watch a youtube video or you most likely will b


Distros I have tried.
Red Hat - My first distro before it became Fedora. This was too bloated for my tastes.

Slackware - The second distro I tried. My GoTo Distro. No place like 127.0.0.1

Ubuntu - Hold my hand I'm scared. While doing that bloat me do death.

Mint - A good beginner distro - Hold my hand while I take your virginity...

Fedora - DO AS WE SAY, HOW WE SAY. WE KNOW WHATS BEST FOR YOU.

openSUSE - Hold my hand, and turn on everything! I did like Yast though.

FreeBSD - I really like FreeBSD, but there is no support for my the graphics card in my laptop. If Slackware takes a direction in the future that I don't like, this will be my distro of choice. Yes I know its not a Linux distro.

After my trials of the other major distros out there, I have always found my way back to a Slackware distro. I have used it as a L.A.M.P server at work for many years. Its one of those set it and forget it distros.

I feel if you are a new user, looking for something different. Something more technical, this is the way to go. You will learn the discipline of reading documentation, and the discipline of a command line interface (CLI). You will become your distro. It will instill a solid foundation of the inner workings of a Linux distro, and anything you try in the future will be like eating ice cream on a hot day.
 
Old 01-27-2015, 10:47 PM   #10
caiquo
 
Registered: May 2007
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Installation is straight forward! Stable when you install everything!
Cons: It is a challenge with uefi and elilo when installing on uefi


My first introduction to Linux was with Slackware 7.0. I have tried to use other Linux distros but always come back to Slackware. It forces you to think to figure out how something works!! Never give up! If you make something work, you become very happy because it is an achievement.
I was told it was stable. It is true. Once you figure out how to get an application working with Slackware, it will not crash like other linux distros on you! The key here is figure out how it works! But it takes patience, using online forums and learning from others. If you want to enjoy using Slackware, let sbopkg and queues be your friends. They make installation of applications quite easy. Don't forget Alienbob's scripts: especially the one to make you download and build slackware-current iso for usage. The beauty here is that the method of installation and other things are old school and don't change. As I am conservative and old school, I just love it here.
 
Old 06-27-2015, 04:46 AM   #11
Dieselchair
 
Registered: Mar 2013
Distribution: Slackware 14.1, Slackware Current
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, reliable, Can be used for any application or need, control, it just works and works well!
Cons: It takes some time to learn and get your slack back ;3


Long ago when I built my first computer it was not in the budget to buy some proprietary software. This forced me into the world of linux, at least for few months. I didn't really feel comfortable with Ubuntu. After a few more linux distros and some $10 proprietary software bought through my collage, I still was not really comfortable. Linux Mint was fun and almost comfortable. It came close, but not enough for me to really enjoy it. Then I found slackware.

Slackware to me seemed to have the values and structure I wanted. Something simple that works, but also can do what ever I needed it to do. The learning curve was steep and at times difficult. The slack mentality eluded me. Trashing my system with silly mistakes, typos in the command line, ATI madness, it was not easy but I stayed with it. I wanted to get my slack back as they say. All that time and effort forcing myself into the command line and spending time to learn slack. Was it worth it? Did I get my slack back?

YES!!!!! It was well worth it! What was once hard to understand is now second nature. Slackware takes a bit more skill and knowledge to use but the end result is greater then I expected! I can do things now that I thought were out of my reach. It has put me in control and forced me to learn. I'm a better computer user, and would even go as far as to say administrator. From running my own rack server to making an old computer run better then it ever did before.

Slackware is a way of life now, and I am very comfortable. I get to use my computer and enjoy it too! Not only that, but actually understand how it works and how to fix it.
 
Old 08-19-2015, 04:52 PM   #12
oldtechaa
 
Registered: May 2015
Distribution: Slackware64 14.0
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Simple, does only what you tell it.
Cons: Things can be hard for newbies. Have had some bugs.


This is a great distribution, and keeps it simple. This can lead to things being hard for newbies who don't want to edit text files. I was new to Linux and jumped right into this, and it wasn't hard. For some people it might be, though. It is great on restricted Internet plans as it isn't always updating and you can easily compile packages from source that you've downloaded elsewhere, etc.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration