LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Beta
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
« Previous Product 

SimplyMEPIS 2004 Release Candidate 4
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 19247 01-10-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.3



Description: SimplyMEPIS 2004 Release Candidate 4 slideshow

With the SimplyMEPIS 2004 RC4 release on August 10, 2004 the wait is almost over. Have a quick look at what MEPIS has in store for us.

http://www.linuxbeta.com/slideshows/...ase=46&slide=1
Keywords: mepis


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-30-2004, 10:06 PM   #1
rrwhite
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: ease of installation, hardware recognition, excellent gui configuration(kde)
Cons: for me, none



This is the second mepis distro I have tried and it is the best. It will make windoze users delete their windows partition. Try it, you'll like it
 
Old 11-03-2004, 10:31 PM   #2
eljefe
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: MEPIS 2004.04 (Debian-Based)
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: apt-get (Debian Based), hardware detection, small but with all necessary applications
Cons: Some applications are not the best of their fields, only comes with KDE and the default GTK theme (geramik) is hidious.


MEPIS is wonderful and extremely easy to use. I've installed Mandrake 7 and 8, and RedHat's 6-8, and I have found MEPIS to be the easiest. I love apt-get, the Debian secret weapon, and the fact that it is small and and installs many a good packages.

My beefs are the default GTK theme for gtk apps running in KDE (geramik). It is correctible though, you go to kalyxo.org/debian, add their ftp to the apt sources list, and install gtk2-engines-qtcurve and switch the theme the KDE control center. Another problem is some of the applications that come standard I don't like. I prefer Firefox, you have to apt-get that, I prefer GAIM, you have to apt-get that too, and I prefer GNOME, and if you are smart, you won't mess with gnome in MEPIS.

Other than that, I love it and I find it an excellent alternative to windows (though I only use MEPIS for web development.)
 
Old 01-10-2005, 08:26 AM   #3
lemuel
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 73

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: gtkpod works perfectly, fast, stable
Cons: has gcc and make but doesn't have g++ (source programs wont compile)


The thing I really like about this product is that it's a live cd and an installer at the same time. I think knoppix is also the same, but Mepis is much easier to install. all you need to do is click this little icon on the desktop that says "Install Me".

the cons is that it cant compile any of my sources. I read an article that its because mepis doesnt come with g++ and libc6-dev and you have to acquire these to complie programs. but this isn't any problem though cause you can just download debian packages of them.

all in all its still one of the best distros ive tried and I would recommend it to those who need a simple, yet fast and complete (well almost complete) linux.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration