LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > SUSE Linux Enterprise
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Suse 9.1 Personal
Reviews Views Date of last review
18 98848 02-01-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers $20.65 9.2



Description: Apart from a stable and secure operating system, SUSE LINUX 9.1 Personal delivers everything you need for the Internet, office, graphics, audio, video, and networking. SUSE LINUX 9.1 Personal can handle e-mail, presentation, text, and multimedia data of all common Windows applications.
Keywords: Suse


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 08-01-2004, 08:53 PM   #1
El Basto
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Suse 9.2, Slackware
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, easy package managment, diverse robust software selection
Cons: Honestly, nothing.



After making the switch from MS to Linux about 2 years ago I have gone through many disrobutions. Mandrake and Redhat were Ok for a beginner, nothing to write home about. Fedora was better but the graphical package managment was lacking functionality. Gentoo was great after days of strugling to get it to recognize what I thought was a totaly generic LAN card. And then there was Slackware, oh boy, that was not a good experience. I had heard that slackware is where its at, but let me tell you, its not for newbs. I couldnt even figure out how to get X running for like a week. But then I found Suse. It was just what I had been looking for; an easy to install OS with tons of great software that could not be any easier to install/update/uninstall. And not to mention beautiful.

Despite the install taking around 3 hours due to a busy FTP server (i did the net install) and a groggy cable connection, the install was a breeze. Almost as easy as a Fedora install. After getting it up and running for the first time my jaw dropped to the floor when I saw KDE3.2. Amazing! Much better than any Windows GUI even tricked out with some style app. The beauty of KDE3.2 rivals MacOS X.

From my past experiences I had gotten used to configuring my system using Vi and/or some cheesey little app/GUI that can only control 1 aspect of your system. Yes, Redhat, that was directed towards you. Let me tell you about a little app called YaST. This is an app that controls basicaly everything on your system, and I do mean everything, and it does it with style. With Yast I can edit my IP tables, firewall, device configurations, network services, partitions, user/security settings, and install/update/uninstall software.

The thing that impresses me the most about YaST was that last point I mentioned, software installation. Lets say durring installation I didnt choose to install a web browser. So I go to YaST and click on "Install and Remove Software." Then I type in "web browser". 2 seconds later I have a list of browsers that I can install. Not only is there the lastest versions of Mozilla, FireFox, and Konqueror, there are even lesser popular browsers such as Galeon and Epiphany. With the click of the mouse YaST quickly downloads the package which has been compiler specificaly for this version and architecture, installs it, resolves package dependencies, and links it (not really sure what linking is, but I'm still a newb). And to update or uninstall it you do the same thing. Its so easy, my mom who sometimes has difficulties with windows could do it. With YaST, Googleing for software is a thing of the past.

Now lets talk about hardware. Well, theres not much to say here. It recognized everything, and I mean everything! Even my TV tuner which windows even strugled with runs flawlessly, sata hdd's boot with no questions asked, notroiously difficult sound cards play music like never before, and CD-ROMS and USB devices mount automaticaly. Thats right no more "mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/flash" everytime you plug your USB memory in. It is so simple.

Software. There's tons of it. Everything from alternative text editors to wine. With the click of a button I had wine up and running in 3 minutes. No downloading and compiling, just 1 click. Now I have Photoshop7, FlashMX, and Adobe Illustrator running just as well as it did on windows. If there is software you want, Suse has it. And you don't even need to make room for it on your hdd or keep the install CD's. Its all kept on a server somewhere just waiting for your request.

I could go on and on about all the successes I had using Suse 9.1 Personal but you get the point. I would recomend it to other n00bs over Fedora/Redhat/Mandrake anyday. Any previously windows user could use it. For businesses looking to escape the dreaded BSOD's and constant virus/intruder alerts, this OS is for you. The OpenOffice package has just about everything that a workstation in any size biz could need. But if you are planning on setting up a biz environment that requires lots of data exchange and communication I would recomend paying more and getting the Pro and/or Server editions.

Good job Novell, keep up the excellent work!


btw. I appologize to Redhat/Fedora, Mandrake, Gentoo, and Slackware for all the bandwidth I used downloading your ISO's. But I promise you I will never do it again.
 
Old 08-21-2004, 01:24 AM   #2
mshahwan
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: SusE 9.1
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Super stable distribution, awesome configuration tool "YasT".
Cons: SuSe tends to add bits of code and scripts that have not been carefully tested


let's see.

Suse is very rock solid. Extremely stable. Installation is fairly straight forward. YasT makes life easier. u can configure pretty much everything using Yast both high and low level stuff. Complete set of packages from realplayer to java to firefox, eveything u will ever need.

tryed Gentoo, redhat, mandrake, slackware, not all that. the only one that came close to suse is Gentoo but its definitely not for newbies.
 
Old 09-19-2004, 03:55 AM   #3
deuce4
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: simple to install, reliable, free
Cons: none


I have wanted to try Linux for a while but had trouble with the various other "distros", which had trouble recognizing my hardware and such, and I was unable to configure the Unix commands to modify things. Then I read a favorable review of SuSE in a British computer magazine, went to the SuSE website, and within an hour or so I was booting up Linux on a newly partitioned 38 Gig hard drive on my Asus Pentium M notebook computer (Dothian chipset). The only thing I had to figure out was that the Linux partition had to be Fat32, so I partitioned my drive into a 32 NTFS and a 6 gig Fat32 for the Suse Linux.

After installing from the CD I made from the downloadable ISO image, I updated everything online while in Linux with the SuSE utility program, excellent and easy.

Sure do like running Linux for many things, yet also being able to do a quick reboot into Windows XP pro for some of my CAD work.

I am planning to buy the $89 SuSe Pro version with the latest disks soon.

Now trying to figure out if there is a way to write from my Liux partition into my NTFS Windows partition (no problem bringing files from Windows into Linux).

Good stuff, I'm sold on the concept of Linux.

Cherio
John Middendorf
 
Old 09-30-2004, 02:15 PM   #4
The Ryz
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: SuSE 9.1 Personal
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: SMOOTH transition from Windows / Very stable
Cons: None to speak of.


I havn't used Linux since Redhat v.?? (mid 90's). I've been trying to get away from Windows for YEARS but dreaded the installation process. I heard from a few friends who are Linux users (various distros) that many new distros are as easy as, if not easier than, Windows to install. So I gave it a try.

I'm running SuSE on a Dell laptop something like this: 1.2Ghz, 512 RAM, 20 GIG HD, ATI 7500 Mobility 64 MEG Video, and the rest of the usual stuff.

I've had tons of problems with this mobility video card in windows, mainly with drivers since ATI doesn't actually make them, but SuSE just picked it right up and rocked on (like with all my hardware actually).

I usually build my own PC's, so I never get any deal on packaged software (i.e. MS Office), but I was amazed with SuSE how the Office program has everything you'd pay hundreds of dollars for from the bastards at Microsoft - and I think it even works better to be honest!

I have not had a single problem yet, and don't forsee any (that I don't cause anyway...haha).

The only thing I would change is that I would have just downloaded the ISO's. I bought the disks just so I could get the book that came with it, but sadly it was written for a newbie COMPUTER user, not so much someone new only to Linux. Oh well, I don't mind paying 30 bucks for the best OS I've ever used. God bless all who work on ANY distro of ANY free license piece!!

~The Ryz
 
Old 10-12-2004, 08:34 AM   #5
Unregistered
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy Installation,Lots of Software
Cons: Dependencies!!


People say I am practically married to my Suse 9.0. After dithering for a while due to the unstability of 2.6 kernel I decided to upgarde to 9.1. Installed an extra source of installation in yast and went Upgrade!! It just installed the new stuff.
BUT quite a few things broke due to dependencies and 9.1 doesn't have one of my best loved tools eclipse anyway i can keep the one from 9.0.
The best looking OS ever.
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 10-24-2004, 07:17 PM   #6
bluesman2333
Guest
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Xubuntu Edgy
Posts: 330

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $29.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install and use, looks great!
Cons: None at all.


I had been using a retail ver SuSe 9.0 Pro. I bought a retail ver of 9.1 Personal for a laptop I have. I about fell over at how easy the installation went. The new KDE desktop is very nice. SuSe support is terrific. How could anyone, newbie or experienced user not like something like this?
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 11-29-2004, 04:07 PM   #7
robodude
Guest
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: iv gone through 5 in the las 2 days
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy install, easy package managment
Cons: dosent come with make comand or gcc


this is an exellent distro i rcomend it for ppl swiching from windows then didnt mess with kde too much like others did it is all togeather good only prob is it didnt come with make comand
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 01-20-2005, 08:45 AM   #8
cyanide_2
Guest
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 3
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Installation, yast configuration tool, great os out-of-the-box
Cons: none ;)


Well, what can i say, ive tried many distros from slackware,fedora core1,fedora core3,knoppix,red hat 9, and others...
out of them, suse was the only one which automatically mounted my ntfs drives...i had installed fc3 just 2 days back and it was a nightmare. i couldnt mount my windows drives because they were ntfs and not fat32. next, i couldnt watch movies...actually, lemme make a confession here, im a complete stupid noob when it comes to linux...i then had to install captive just to see my ntfs drives. next, i couldnt play my mp3 no matter what i did. then, i tried to install wine from another source, and i installed it but it simply would not run and exit after giving an error...i finally gave up and was thinking of which distro to install. i thought of suse, so i started installing it, and the installation itself was a pleasant experience. it autodetected my ntfs drives during installation and was quite a lot faster than fc3...after booting it, i tried kaffeine and i was again surprised at the simplicity...and the interface was cooler than even windows with some cheap skin...i would recommend it to anybody who wants to have a look at linux without worrying much about anything else ;)
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 02-09-2005, 02:00 PM   #9
begby
Guest
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: easy install, nice GUI, packaged with everything you need
Cons: none


I'm a linux newbie, and after installing and trying Red Hat 9, Mandrake 10, and FreeBSD, I finally found the perfect system: SuSE 9.1

From installation to reading all my hardware/drivers correctly, SuSE was by far the easiest O/S to install. It was also the only distro that I had no problems setting up my internet connection.

SuSE runs flawlessly, KDE is a nice GUI + it comes with X-Term and Konquer for the command line. It also automatically mounted my windows drive upon installation so now I have absolutely no use to use Windows. I have absolutely no negative things to say about Suse 9.1, especially having such a hard time with freeBSD and mandrake installs
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 02-21-2005, 01:53 PM   #10
masonm
Guest
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware64 13.37 Android 4.0
Posts: 2,248

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Simple, easy installation, good hardware support
Cons: Missing make, kernel source, and anything else needed to compile and install software


This is a great product for someone to migrate from Window$ to Linux. Very easy to install and configure as are all the previous SuSE products of late. YAST makes installing and configuring hardware and software a breeze for the new Linux user and old hand alike.

Not so great for a more experienced Linux user as the tools needed to compile and install non-rpm software are totally missing.

While one can download and install the needed components needed to compile and install tarballs, it really is a pain to have to waste the time doing so.

I would recommend the Professional version for the more experienced user, and the Personal for someone just learning to use Linux.
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 04-10-2005, 10:29 PM   #11
eternallySecure
Guest
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: FreeBSD, Fedora Core 3
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Simple, fast, great for beginners
Cons: Nothing worth mentioning


This is the perfect distro for new Linux users. Installation is simple, the OS runs fast (much more efficiently than Red Hat/Fedora Core).

Like the other reviews said, KDE is nice. SuSE put a lot of work into making this a professional quality OS (Xanthos developers are trying to make a distro for new users, but the perfect one already exists in SuSE).

The only thing (2 really) I didn't like: 1. My flash drive was not recognized immediately, and it didn't allow me to mount it myself. 2. It's too simple. I like challenges, and got bored after about a week. So I'll stick with Fedora Core until I find the perfect distro.

Try SuSE- you might like it. It's impossible to hate it.
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 04-25-2005, 07:34 PM   #12
NoobieDoobieDo
Guest
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Debian 4.0
Posts: 65

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast OS, GUI & YaST = noobie friendly. Good looking.
Cons: Many RPMs needed for compiling need to be downloaded.


First off - I've only used Mandrake 8.1, Mandrake 10 CE, Debian (never got working) and this copy of SUSE.

Moving on ... The installer is (for me) old style text based one and getting it to not format all partitions took a little fooling with. Because it was text based it wasn't the easiest thing to configure. I opted to install everything and remove the bulk later just because it would be easier. The installation took a lot longer than Mandrake 10, which is 3 disc.

Once I was able to boot into SUSE it was great. Much faster than Mandrake on my Dell 700mhz Celeron with 192MB RAM and onboad Intel 810 video. Even with the default settings it ran fast with more free RAM than Mandrake managed (read:many KDE programs booting in systray).

However many people seem to have trouble getting it to go to 1024x768 mode. This can be fixed by changing your monitor to VESA @ 1024x768, testing it, then switching back to your normal monitor.

Getting the dialup working wasn't very clear but it was figured out in about 5 mins. All the programs are called stuff like "Dial up", "Email", "Graphics Editing" so I think it's geared towards noobs maybe not looking to expand.

The reason I think one of its initial purposes was `not to expand` (see:add packages) is because most of the packages needed to compile programs is not installed and it took a bit to download them all on dialup.

I'd highly recommend this to anyone using Mandrake. But be ready to download about 10 packages or more so you can compile software.

!! And, for some reason you can't run some programs as root from the terminal (kate or kwrite for example), which until i fix that, sucks. !!
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 04-28-2005, 03:28 PM   #13
Vampirite
Guest
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 223

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Powerful, interesting, easy to install
Cons: Permissions


Heres the deal:

I installed it very easily, the installer ran flawlessly. When I came to partition, I did it manually, and even that was easy to use! However, once the installer completed, I rebooted, then my hard disk went crazy! It was if it was going to explode, I hadn't had anything like that before, it always ran quietly. So I ignored it, and booted into it. I then tried to write to the partitions, however it didn't work. I even tried to change the permissions, but it didn't work. Then I logged out into root, and tried there, it worked, so then I changed the permissions in root, then logged back into normal user, and they changed back again! In the end I didn't bother and removed the linux.

Apart from that, it was easy to use, good software, and powerful, nice one people at SuSE!!

If you like it, try it, I might have needed help with those problems.

(P.S. My hard disk is still like that, even in windows)
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 06-05-2005, 05:44 PM   #14
Yomaoni
Guest
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Red Hat, Fedora, Debian, BSD, CentOS, Ubuntu
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, Easy Config, Wireless Networking
Cons: Haven't found any yet


I have been trying a lot of distros latley trying to get my laptop to work with linux. the problem I kept running into was the fact I have a Toshiba A45 with an Atheros wireless card. I couldn't get it to work with anything other than M$. Then I tried Suse 9.1. Oh my god it was great. It saw my Atheros card right off the bat and configured it. All I had to do was add my WEP key and I was off and running. I currently am running Suse 9.3 with windows XP pro, and as soon as Blizzard brings out a linux version of World of Warcraft, windows will be going out the door. never to be seen again.
  Edit/Delete Message
Old 07-16-2005, 11:24 PM   #15
Guest
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $1.99 | Rating: 7

Pros: Installation is extremely easy and comprehensive
Cons: A bit too simple and not enough programs; Other little things don't work


I'm still at the phase where I keep installing and uninstalling distributions and running live CD's to try everything out. So, I decided to order SuSE 9.1 a while back. Now, the laptop I decided to install it on is very old and the hard drive is full of bad sectors. As a matter of fact, the ONLY Distro I could get to actually install was SuSE 9.1 and 9.2. So, that in itself is a miracle.

The installation was very easy and simple. 9.1 seems slightly different than 9.2's installation- you have to choose "Manual installation" to be able to control it step-by-step, when in 9.2, it seems to do it automatically. So, everything got installed fine - it took about 45 minutes or so.

Now, about the hard drive errors I have on that laptop: In 9.1, the installer wouldn't let me know about the error automatically (as in 9.2), but it would continue without problems.

Now, one of SuSE's greatest strength: hardware recognition. My laptop has an 802.11g wireless network card that absolutely no other distro has recognized automatically. But SuSE did - both 9.1 and 9.2. However, for some reason it won't configure correctly in 9.1 and I cannot get onto the internet. I haven't yet figured out why, but I'm working on it. (9.2 got me on with no problems whatsoever).

The KDE desktop is very nice-looking and it's very easy to find what you are looking for. After coming from Knoppix, Gnoppix, and RedHat, however, the program lists seem sadly lacking in applications. And since I currently can't get onto the internet with that machine, I cannot download any other programs.

Another issue I'm having is that no matter what command I type, I cannot get KDE to switch to Gnome. (I know it's definitely installed). I've tried all the usual commands that work in other Distros, but it just won't in SuSE.

Overall, however, I'd recommend SuSE 9.1 because of its crisp layout, super-easy installation, and YaST makes things very simple. The only things I'd wish for is more programs upon install, and for Gnome to work!

  Edit/Delete Message
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration