LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS Preview 7
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 48229 04-03-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: PCLinuxOS is one of the worlds up and coming providers of a Linux Desktop Solution. With a small but dedicated development team, PClinuxOS delivers Desktop Ready Software that harnesses the power of the Open Source Community.

PCLinuxOS Preview 7 is an English only Knoppix style live cd initially based on Mandrake Linux that runs entirely from a bootable CD without installing anything on your computer. Data on the CD is uncompressed on the fly allowing up to 2 GB of programs on one CD including a complete Xserver, KDE Desktop, Open Office, Nvidia 3D graphic drivers and Java all preconfigured and ready to use.
Keywords: PCLinuxOS live pendrive Mandrake


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-19-2004, 12:17 AM   #1
zarathustra674
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Mint KDE w/ a ton of PPA's and Repo's., Might be switching back to Mageia or PCLOS.
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Regular Updates. Texstar and most other PCLOS users are very helpful and polite, based on Mandrake(some may consider this a con, I don't).
Cons: Seems like I remember someone saying not to use some mandrake rpms(contrib, plf, thacs, etc) because they might break something in the distro due to customizations made to the distro.



I've tried almost all incarnations of PCLOS since its inception, and Im pleased with the live-cd performance. I always appreciated Tex's quality Mandrake rpm's so I figured I'd give it a whirl.

This distro has a slew of cool programs already included that are at the top of their game. I like it because I can take it to college, stick it in a drive, reboot and voila. I get linux at school with apollon already there, as well as limeware(not a fan but hey, its there and it works). I like using it to show my customers(Im an in-home windows repair guy) that there are user friendly alternatives to Microsoft.

Another positive is that this distro is frequently updated. When a new version of a component comes out, its in unstable almost immediately, like KDE for example.

You can make comments/suggestions and they do get heard. Many times Tex will answer a question himself or at least build on someone else's answer. His responses are always timely.

The KDE desktop is beautiful out of the box. Uses the plastik style, pretty icons and it's responsive. As mentioned java, flash, and most all codecs are already installed and ready to go.

The main issue with this distro for me has been that I dont know which version of mandrake packages to use in the distro. Someone said that if you use certain mandrake packages it could break something. Ive tried a few simple things like xscavanger, privoxy, liquid(mosfet), and they worked ok, but I'm afraid to try the audio rpms from contrib, plf, or thacs. This distro was based on Mandrake 9.2 I think, but its been updated and changed so much now that It's really forming its own shape and I dont know which version of mdk to get the rpms from 10 or 9.2 or ??

A minor problem for me is the inclusion of synaptic. Most people probably consider this a godsend, but rpmdrake/urpmi worked fine for me in mandrake.

The distro is great and so is the community, give it a whirl.
 
Old 01-04-2005, 07:04 AM   #2
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 0

Pros: Live CD - installable - good software selection
Cons: It's Mandrake origins are easily spotted!


I tried to set up a page for Preview_8, but having done so cannot find it! This is about Preview_8.

PClinuxOS is forked from Mandrake. There's no getting away from that. Is that a bad thing, though?

As a former user of Mandrake 9.2, one of the "easy urpmi" repositories that proved popular was by Texstar. He produced some quality RPMs and often got updates like KDE and the like onto Mandrake desktops well before they appeared officially. His builds were always sound. They often improved on the eye-candy as well.

After Mdk9.2, the "texstar" builds vanished. However, Texstar and Tom Kelly have built this distro which, at first glance, appears to build on all the strengths of Mandrake, but with additional ease of use, especially in setting up.

When you run the Live CD, apart from the lack of speed (due to on-the-fly decompression) you wouldn't know it was a Live CD. The Knoppix trap of over-filling the menus and using a distracting Wallpaper have been avoided, instead, a really useful set of software is used, with a pretty but functional background, and well-organised menus in the latest KDE3.3.2. It detected all my hardware (including my prism3 usb wlan card which nothing else ever has) and correctly set it up. Having played with it, you can install it on to your Hard Drive.

The means of doing this is an icon provided on your desktop. Once run, you need to (prepare and) rename and format your target partition using a direct Mandrake steal, Harddrake. Having done that, the installation is pretty much automatic, and should take no more than 20 mins. If it takes much longer, you may have a distorted CD, as I found to my cost on my first four attempts! Once I burned a fresh CD, it went great!

Up and running, setting up users is simple. I found changing the root password from "root" to my preferred one during install didn't work, so I had to use the "passwd" command.

Using synaptic to update the software took a little getting used to, after "emerge" in gentoo and the updates applet in Mandrake. Eventually I found that I preferred it to Mandrake Control Centre because I could remove, update and add from the same interface, rather than exiting one and running another, and that felt more logical.

In use, OpenOffice.org 1.1.3 (which is the KDE-madeover version) loaded first time in 6 seconds, subsequently in 4, and glxgears gave me the same return as I got in Gentoo, and a little faster than in Mandrake.

As it has a pre-built kernel, I couldn't patch the kernel to get udev to work properly with raw1394, but I'm sure that will come in a future "official" kernel.

Strangely enough, it has an old-ish version of Scribus and prefers KMyMoney to Gnucash, though version 1.8.6 of the latter can be installed (1.8.9 has been out for ages).

But remember, this is prerelease "beta" software. Things are being added and the site at www.pclinuxonline.com includes an "rpm request" thread where many wishes are answered.

In the scheme of things, I must rate it highly, it runs faster than Mandrake, it's easy to set up, most of the software is up to date, it's easy to maintain and add packages. It looks good, some of the wallpapers are stunning though not intrusive.

OK it's not Gentoo, but for a beginner or a more experienced user who wants a binary-based distro that combines looks with functionality, this distro is on its way to becoming something special!
 
Old 01-04-2005, 07:04 AM   #3
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Live CD - installable - good software selection
Cons: It's Mandrake origins are easily spotted!


I tried to set up a page for Preview_8, but having done so cannot find it! This is about Preview_8.

PClinuxOS is forked from Mandrake. There's no getting away from that. Is that a bad thing, though?

As a former user of Mandrake 9.2, one of the "easy urpmi" repositories that proved popular was by Texstar. He produced some quality RPMs and often got updates like KDE and the like onto Mandrake desktops well before they appeared officially. His builds were always sound. They often improved on the eye-candy as well.

After Mdk9.2, the "texstar" builds vanished. However, Texstar and Tom Kelly have built this distro which, at first glance, appears to build on all the strengths of Mandrake, but with additional ease of use, especially in setting up.

When you run the Live CD, apart from the lack of speed (due to on-the-fly decompression) you wouldn't know it was a Live CD. The Knoppix trap of over-filling the menus and using a distracting Wallpaper have been avoided, instead, a really useful set of software is used, with a pretty but functional background, and well-organised menus in the latest KDE3.3.2. It detected all my hardware (including my prism3 usb wlan card which nothing else ever has) and correctly set it up. Having played with it, you can install it on to your Hard Drive.

The means of doing this is an icon provided on your desktop. Once run, you need to (prepare and) rename and format your target partition using a direct Mandrake steal, Harddrake. Having done that, the installation is pretty much automatic, and should take no more than 20 mins. If it takes much longer, you may have a distorted CD, as I found to my cost on my first four attempts! Once I burned a fresh CD, it went great!

Up and running, setting up users is simple. I found changing the root password from "root" to my preferred one during install didn't work, so I had to use the "passwd" command.

Using synaptic to update the software took a little getting used to, after "emerge" in gentoo and the updates applet in Mandrake. Eventually I found that I preferred it to Mandrake Control Centre because I could remove, update and add from the same interface, rather than exiting one and running another, and that felt more logical.

In use, OpenOffice.org 1.1.3 (which is the KDE-madeover version) loaded first time in 6 seconds, subsequently in 4, and glxgears gave me the same return as I got in Gentoo, and a little faster than in Mandrake.

As it has a pre-built kernel, I couldn't patch the kernel to get udev to work properly with raw1394, but I'm sure that will come in a future "official" kernel.

Strangely enough, it has an old-ish version of Scribus and prefers KMyMoney to Gnucash, though version 1.8.6 of the latter can be installed (1.8.9 has been out for ages).

But remember, this is prerelease "beta" software. Things are being added and the site at www.pclinuxonline.com includes an "rpm request" thread where many wishes are answered.

In the scheme of things, I must rate it highly, it runs faster than Mandrake, it's easy to set up, most of the software is up to date, it's easy to maintain and add packages. It looks good, some of the wallpapers are stunning though not intrusive.

OK it's not Gentoo, but for a beginner or a more experienced user who wants a binary-based distro that combines looks with functionality, this distro is on its way to becoming something special!
 
Old 01-12-2005, 10:26 PM   #4
helios17
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mandriva/Mepis/Mint
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: mplayer plugins for ffox and mzilla are already done! Nvidia live cd rocks out of the box
Cons: is not true apt...dpkg not functional (waaa waaaa)


This distro blew my sox off. Look, I'm a debian guy. From pure debian to kanotix, I just wouldn't mess with the RH/Drake distros, and YAST? It gave me ulcers. I tried this live cd at the constant pestering for weeks by my friend Steve. Today it is my primary distro on hda. hdb is used for storage.

I am also a NOOB. No shame, no apologies. I am also the owner of a business and got my friggin clock cleaned by bagle in August of 04. Entire network was hosed and on that day, I began our migration to linux. At the time I thought Torvolds was a brand of tire. What an idiot...everyone knows its a brand of Swiss chocolate. Anyway, the guys above me did a great job in talking about this distro. What impressed me more than anything was the fact that the Nvidia drivers were plugged in on reboot. (you gotta use the nvidia iso though). Since I watch alot of news clips on fox news and the like, I didn't have to shuffle different files to the plugin and component folders of my browsers. Even in MEPIS, although mplayer is installed, there are some problems with streaming video on web pages. Not so with this PCLinuxOS beta 8. If this is a pre-release, I can hardly wait for the finished product. Texstar and his DevTeam have just drug Desktop Linux that much closer to an alternative to Windoze for the masses. Sometimes I wonder if they know JUST how good this release is. If you haven't tried it, please do....and don't let the Mandrake association put you off. It took me a couple of months just to try it because it was Mandrake-based...still kicking myself. This distro rocks

Ken Starks
Austin TX
 
Old 02-22-2008, 09:33 AM   #5
Don Olson
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: install vey well done
Cons: none


noobie i ordered8 linux dvds i loaded them one at a time on my old dell p4 pc many worked well but iam on a wired network none worked but pclinuxos 2007 loaded all my hardware and when ask me how to connect i clicked wirless it loaded my wireless adapter then it asked me do you want to connect clicked yes iwas on line man that was easy evey thing works even streaming vids..i love this distro
 
Old 04-03-2009, 11:33 AM   #6
stratman
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: A lot
Cons: none I know of


Since I'm a Noob I have no knowledge about PCL. I installed it and it is working fine. It is fast and seems easy to use for a Noob. I would reccomend those looking for a Linux distro to give PCLinuxOS a try. I think you'll like it.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration