LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 15
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 7725 03-18-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers None indicated 8.4



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 15 'Olivia'. Linux Mint 15 is the most ambitious release since the start of the project. MATE 1.6 is greatly improved and Cinnamon 1.8 offers a ton of new features, including a screensaver and a unified control center. The login screen can now be themed in HTML 5 and two new tools, 'Software Sources' and 'Driver Manager', make their first appearance in Linux Mint. MDM now features 3 greeters (i.e. login screen applications): a GTK+ greeter, a themeable GDM greeter for which hundreds of themes are available, and a brand-new HTML greeter, also themeable which supports a new generation of animated and interactive themes."
Keywords: Ubuntu-based Olivia Cinnamon MATE Software-Sources Driver-Manager


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-05-2013, 05:32 PM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,067

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:



Mint 15 is only supported until the next version (because of a policy change by Ubuntu) so if you donít want to re-install at the end of the year, use the LTS version 13 Maya.

Itís available with the Cinnamon and Mate desktops, and I tested the 32-bit Mate. Mint hasnít changed greatly since version 14, so I shanít repeat what I said in my last review. Gnome-mplayer is no longer included. LibreOffice is now configured for your locale, so no more dictionary hunting.

The keyboard configuration tool still wonít register shortcuts using Super, and after an update it stopped working completely, with a segmentation fault. I was sorry to see that Mate has followed Gnome 3 in switching to a machine-code configuration file. That is not Unix practice and it shouldít be Linux practice either; even OSX doesnít do it. The editor is not installed, but is available in dconf-tools (not that youíd learn that from Synaptic or the Software Manger). Alternatively, the command dconf will export it to a text file and import it after editing.

Despite the niggles with Mate, Mintís still one of the best distros, especially for beginners.
 
Old 08-22-2013, 07:28 PM   #2
OMouse
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: Linux Mint, Ubuntu
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: solid desktop, easy driver manager
Cons:


I'm using 32-bit Mint on my old laptop and it feels like it's given it new life. I was using Ubuntu 10.04 LTS and wasn't able to upgrade to the latest version and I didn't like the direction of the window manager.

The Mint window manager is very familiar and easy to use.

Everything I needed was pre-installed (Firefox, LibreOffice, Thunderbird, etc.).

I previously had issues with the wifi driver on my laptop but Mint was able to detect it and enable it with one click in the driver manager.
 
Old 10-26-2013, 09:00 AM   #3
Steve823
 
Registered: Oct 2011
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.10
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: It's Mint
Cons: Wouldn't connect to WiFi


This is the first LM version that would not connect to my WiFi. If it won't automatically connect, I won't use it.
 
Old 11-10-2013, 03:29 AM   #4
cmd-line34
 
Registered: Oct 2013
Distribution: Debian 64bit
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: simple & easy to navigate
Cons: sometimes to "simple" for "power users"


I don't honestly think Mint is a bad OS. it is always being updated, and they at least listen to there users (unlike the legacy OS). I am just saying that if you are like me, and you are constantly using the CLI, needing root access, etc., than this is not the disputation for you. Basically, that is not what Mint is here for. It is, however, one of the better only-GUI Linux Disputations I have tried. It also runs quite snappy. I will say, however, it does not run super great under older hardware, so if you want to run this on older hardware, read no farther. Tried it myself.

There are a few different desktop environments that can be installed. The "normal" version is the Cinnamon desktop, but you can also install the KDE desktop, Xfce desktop, MATE and a few others. I do believe the MATE desktop uses the least resources, and is one of the faster of the few ( to what I have read, only tried the Cinnamon).

does not want to use the CLI, this disputation might be one of the ones you should consider.
 
Old 01-18-2014, 07:51 AM   #5
rubyyarn
 
Registered: Nov 2013
Distribution: Linux 15 MATE
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Will not recognize wifi


As a recent escapee from Windows, I appreciate the GUI. I also appreciate easy access to the command line through Terminal.

Best of all, it does not force one into the latest 'improvement'. That bad habit of Windows was what sent me to Linux in the first place.

So now my slow, cranky, Vista laptop is now a simple, elegant, Linux machine.

I would like to have it recognize my wifi, but meanwhile I can get to the internet with the ethernet cable.
 
Old 03-18-2014, 02:28 AM   #6
Graubart
 
Registered: Jun 2011
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent choice for Linux greenhorns.
Cons: A trivial one--the default theme art.


I did not come to Linux in search of a hobby or calling. Like most current refugees from Windows (pfui!), I was looking for what Windows (pfui!) once boasted of being--a stable, easy-to-use platform from which to launch productive software.

After considerable research, I concluded that Mint 16 Cinnamon met that definition. I have had no reason to regret that choice. Mint runs briskly on my Toshiba netbook, linked automatically with my wi-fi and perhaps because I installed it in the same partition as Windows 8 (pfui!), I have full access to all my data files.

An Office suite equivalent, a familiar Web browser and a good photo editor cover probably 90 percent of my computing needs, and Mint 16 has them all. The occasional need to reboot to get to some Windows-dependent package is no great burden. If I ever get Wine sorted out, I may well dump Windows (pfui!) altogether.

I did find Mint's default theme artwork to be rather clunky, but a search through the the Mint artwork turned up a simple, elegant wallpaper titled, appropriately, Olivia, which dropped neatly into its place.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration