LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mepis 2003.06
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 32744 09-15-2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $90,120.20 9.3



Description: Intriguing distro. Runs from CD, then you can install from KDE 3.1 gives a Debian compatible system with some bells and whistles.
Keywords: Debian-based automated install runs from CD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-08-2003, 02:59 PM   #1
carlywarly
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS 0.93 and 0.92, Vector sometimes
Posts: 825

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Very slick install. Very good hardware detection. All the pros of Debian.
Cons: Network config needed some work.



Availability - free download from ibiblio, 2 CD set for $9-95 and an additional $9-95 gets you 30 days of email support. I used the free download version.

Installation - this is where it gets interesting. Booting from the CDrom gives you a Live-CD version a la Knoppix. It runs perfectly well and looks nice, too. There is, however, a desktop icon to install Mepis. Clicking this starts the install, via a window on your KDE 3.1.2 desktop - surreal. The installation itself is very simple, and all hardware is automatically detected (my onboard sound was configured properly, which Mandrake 9.1 cannot do). When it's done, you reboot and reset the root password and that of any users you created. Then you're done - amazingly simple.

The system - you get Linux kernel 2.4.20, XFree 4.2.1, pcmcia 3.2.2, Kudzu 1.1.3, KDE 3.1.2, KOffice 1.2.90, OpenOffice 1.0.3, XCDRoast 0.98a13, KPackage Manager 3.1.2, Dict Reference Bookshelf 1.1, AbiWord 1.9.0, and WINE 0.0.20030508. A look at the Mepis website gives you the whole list - www.mepis.org Pretty up to date.

Performance and stability - very good marks, here. After all, it is effectively Debian once it is installed. My only gripe was networking. I chose to boot the CD with a nodhcp option, because I use static IPs on my home network. I was able to find a netcardconfig shell script in /usr/sbin and ran it. It configured my card, but I found that I still had a dns problem, despite all parameters being correct. Taking the network down and then up solved the problem, but there seems to be an issue here. The other problem is nvidia drivers. Using the latest nvidia install script gives an error that it is not possible to build a kernel module for this kernel. I tried the .deb packages on the second CD, but the kernel module wouldn't initialise, even manually. I'll sort it out eventually.

Package Handling - apt-get, of course. If you like it, you'll be happy. Kpackage is also there if you want a gui to install packages from the CD. Kpackage can also be used to access updates or upgrades via apt. You just adjust the settings to use updated or upgraded packages and hit return.

Conclusion - a really interesting distro. The stability and package-handling abilities of Debian, with a very slick install and up-to-date base packages. Definitely one to watch for the future.

Edit - Update - Kpackage can also be used to update or upgrade the whole system using Apt. You just need to go into Special in the Settings of Kpackage, select APT - then upgrade, update etc. Very slick.
 
Old 09-03-2003, 02:43 AM   #2
jon_k
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Mepis Linux 2004
Posts: 547

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $90,120.20 | Rating: 10

Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a


Hi carlywarly I am using knoppix -- debian too and having the same problem u are too with nvidia

if you figure it out please email me dvdrom@swbell.net or aim pc man jon because i couldn't figure it out either :()
 
Old 04-17-2004, 04:36 PM   #3
TKS
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware, VectorLinux, Smoothwall, and PCLinuxOS
Posts: 40

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Better Hardware detection than any other distro (including knoppix), Slick Install, Windows like feel, plug and play detection is unsurpassed.
Cons: Only KDE for desktop


I was skeptical. Then I tried it. Not only did it detect EVERYTHING in my old emachines T1090..it configured it, had preinstalled nvidia drivers (nvidia GF4 MX220 installed w/o a hitch), and detected my network no problem. I was up and running with a kick butt OS in about 10 minutes. From there, the package management system was easy to use and went without a hitch. I had an up to date OS within the next 30 minutes with kernel patches, package updates, and all the fixins.

I'd probably have to say that this is the best distribution for someone who wants to crossover from windows to linux. I tried it out on my sister who only uses computers for chat. She can't even tell the difference. She also likes the fact that in linux she doesn't really need antivirus or have to slow down her bootup with virus scans...nor does she have to defrag either (ext3 filesystem). So, it's literally a maintenance free OS that 'feels' like windows.

Being a slackware user since 1995, I wouldn't run it for a server (though it seems to be a great box...my sister hasn't rebooted in 3 months) but I definately would use it for an office environment in a small business since it comes preinstalled with OO.org 1.1. The next beta version is due out the first of 2005 and will have a 2.6.5 kernel which suits me just fine. This distro has the stability of debian, the package management of debian, but the feel of lycoris or xandros. If I had 5 arms I'd give it five thumbs up. As it is, I give it two enthusiastic thumbs up. Great job MEPIS!
 
Old 06-26-2004, 11:12 PM   #4
qualx2003
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Redhat 9 & Mandrake 9.2
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy Install, Pretty fast distrobution
Cons: Can't choose packages to be installed


I started using Redhat 9.0, then moved to Mandrake 9.2. Both were very slow, then I saw a friends system, which was gentoo, which was 100% faster than mine, on a computer with less resources than mine. So, I tried Gentoo, but the install is a pain. So, then I went on a quest for a good, fast, reliable distro. I used SuSe, which was pretty good, but I couldn't change my graphics card, and it wasn't working very well. Slackware just didn't work that well, 9 or 10.

Then I started reading some other reviews, and thought that I would give this a try. I wasn't even keeping one OS on my computer for more than an hour at a time anyways, and I figured why not?

Very fast. Very easy to install, and sense it is a live cd, you can use konqueror to view help files (if you need them for some reason). The install went very quickly. Like the other reviews, the only problem I had was the fact that you can't choose which packages to install. It's not a big deal to me, but some what of annoyance. After you have it installed (very little time to do so) , you can add or remove packages.

I highly reccomend MEPIS, its is pretty efficient, and worth the time to download, and the 20 minutes to install.
 
Old 07-23-2004, 06:21 AM   #5
nuka_t
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: YOPER+KDE
Posts: 263

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Speed, Install, Hardware Detection, Live-CDness
Cons: kinda ugly OOB, cant chose packages, neither are a big deal


i finally found a distro i like. i love mepis. it just fits me. not too hard, not too "mandrakey." AWESOME hardware support. it recognized my logitech mx 310 as a ,get this, a logitech mx310. how cool is that? mandrake thought it was a two button PS2 mouse(its USB btw) and knopix just thought it was a generic logitrech wheel mouse. also, my sound works. i love it. its also a lot faster than mandrake and dosent have all the mandrake-specific icons that i spent so much time trying to get rid of.

its a great distro. apt is awesome, i can never use an rpm distro again.

its cool cause i could browse the web from MEPIS while installing it, and the install was completly painless.

i would recommend this distro to EVERYONE.
 
Old 09-15-2006, 10:39 PM   #6
erniehatt
 
Registered: Jun 2006
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: great install, and periferal detection
Cons: Propriortry Video Card Drivers do not work.


I purchased and earlier version from ebay, but had a few problems with it. I have now downloaded the latest version and love it. The install was painless, it detected averything I have attached right down to a wireless card which is difficult to set up on that other OS. I had a few problems with a network, but put that down to inexperience. The video drivers worked worked great 3d acceleration. Sound, played DVD's. as soon as I loaded the fglrx driver for my ATI 9200s problems gallore, thing hanged, no 3d acceleration, this must be the one put out by ATI. there is another version out there that works with Fedora Core5, Great Distro highly recommend it.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration