LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian GNU/Linux 7.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 18228 10-09-2014
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 8.0



Description: "After many months of constant development, the Debian project is proud to present its new stable version 7.0. This new version of Debian includes various interesting features such as multiarch support, several specific tools to deploy private clouds, an improved installer, and a complete set of multimedia codecs and front-ends which remove the need for third-party repositories. Multiarch support, one of the main release goals for Wheezy, will allow Debian users to install packages from multiple architectures on the same machine. This means that you can now, for the first time, install both 32- and 64-bit software on the same machine and have all the relevant dependencies correctly resolved, automatically."
Keywords: Wheezy Multiarch-support


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-10-2013, 04:23 PM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,124

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Lots of reliable software
Cons: let down by poor organisation



The first thing to note about Debian Stable is that the installation disks are free software only. If you need a Broadcom driver to access the internet, then you need to get it first and put it on a USB stick, and then the Debian installer will install it for you. This sounds like humbug to me. If you disapprove of closed source, donít support it. If youíre willing to use it, provide it. There are unofficial installation disks available with closed source drivers, although I couldnít find the checksums for them. With DVDs, CDs, live disks, installers, and net installers, itís easy to get lost in the listings and click on the wrong thing. I wound up with an installer CD, not a live one, but it was Xfce and 32-bit so I used it.

The disk offered standard, automatic, or expert installation, each in mouse or keyboard mode. Thereís also an installer with speech synthesis, which is a nice touch. The help option doesnít, so you need to have read the documentation in advance. Automatic is for installing on several computers using a standard configuration, and expert seems to be undocumented. Seeing that the graphical installer is only mentioned in a footnote, I took the hint and used the non-graphical one. This proved simple enough and posed no problems. Despite supporting things like RAID and LVM, it didnít allow me to encrypt /home.

All these options take up space, so all I got by way of applications was Iceweasel, VLC, and LibreOffice! Actually, I only got the common files for LibreOffice: no actual programs. VLC had its codecs, but Iceweasel lacked Flash; at least my two programs worked perfectly. I remembered that Debian is set to install from the original disk and that I needed to run the software sources configuration tool. Unfortunately, that was missing, so I spent ages tracking down the repository addresses to manually enter into the configuration file. As others have noted, Debian mirrors are not fast: my word processor took 5 minutes and I still had to get a spell-checker. As usual, configuration tools are conspicuous by their absence: nothing installed to handle daemons, the firewall (if there is one), multiple sound devices, input methods, etc.

Debian Stable offers a vast amount of very good software, but it feels more like the ingredients for a distro than a finished product. If you donít want to spend a long time sorting it out, itís best experienced though derivatives, like Mepis or SalineOS. And if you need an enterprise-class distro, surely you want more than 3 yearsí support.
 
Old 07-22-2013, 05:46 PM   #2
zeebra
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia 3, Debian Wheezy, Maemo, Linux Mint 14.
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: debian is good
Cons: dependencies


debian is great as a complete Linux distributio for people who know what they are doing. Is it perfect? far from. Personally I cant stand all the dependencies just to install simple programs that otherwise can be installed from source without most those dependencies!!! what is that?

debian ofcourse is on the other side very reliable and offers all imaginable setups for all architectures and with FreeBSD kernel and Hurd. Debian as a free distribution, free as in freedom not free beer is the spine of the GNU/Linux community and is therefor good in itself. Do I use it as a main distro? No. I use the netinstaller version installed without connecting to the internet to build a minimal package. Have I tried the full version? Yes.

The full version seems quite bloated to me.
 
Old 07-24-2013, 03:25 AM   #3
gradinaruvasile
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Distribution: Debian Testing
Posts: 515

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very stable, huge package repository
Cons: Packages in stable not updated and get old


Debian is my distro of choice.

I use it on my desktop and my laptop (i do my work on them) since 6.0 was in testing and i find it very dependable, i havent had any crash or anything, even when using mixed testing/unstable/experimental/self-compiled software/kernels.

The software repository is huge, maybe the largest among Linux distros - i found just about every package i really needed.
Also, most packages have -dev versions, that are to be used for compiling stuff - mostly you dont have to search the net for compile dependencies, just install the needed -dev packages.

I use the Xfce Desktop Environment (i can't stand Gnome 3/shell), which unfortunately in stable is at version 4.8 and has an older file manager (thunar 1.2.3).
The apt system can be a nuisance sometimes, but if you stick to the OOTB/approved repos, there are no problems.
The initial setup might take longer than with the "user-friendly" distributions, but after that using it is a breeze.
 
Old 10-06-2013, 08:18 AM   #4
Olle Gladso
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.1 powerpack
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Debian is by far the most complete distribution of all.
Cons: None.


As usual from Debian,this distribution is very complete with software available for just about any imaginable endeavor.
Many, many distributions are derived from this, the granddaddy.
Why not use the original? I have used Debian for many years on all my devices and very seldom do I have problems. On those occasions that I have had issues, I have been able to find the solution by going to the various help fora devoted to Debian.
Yes, the software is sometimes not the latest and the greatest. However, newer is not necessarily better. Tried and true tend to be more stable, which is a requirement for my machines. Thank you Debian!
 
Old 10-25-2013, 06:52 AM   #5
bhussein
 
Registered: Sep 2013
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


If I would like to customize the initrd on debian 7 and build a new root.img file do i have to do anything different on debian 7?
 
Old 11-25-2013, 08:22 AM   #6
piobair
 
Registered: Aug 2013
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu
Posts: 94

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons:


The Debian flavor of Linux comes in several binary distributions, depending on the hardware that it is intended for. The most popular is i386, which is targeted for a vanilla Intel machine. Whereas Microsoft Windows is a "one size fits all", AMD64 and IA64 versions will handle the multi-core 64 bit CPUs much more efficiently than Microsoft Windows will.

I have been running the AMD distribution since Debian version 4 or 5, and have been very satisfied with it. The latest, code named "wheezy" is version 7. Recently, the DVD burner on my Linux box died. It has IDE connection to the motherboard, and IDE is no longer manufactured. My friends said that if my motherboard is so old that it only has IDE, I need a new motherboard. New motherboard has an AMD 8 core CPU and a slot for my new PCIEX16 video processor. As of this writing, "wheezy" will not run on this machine. I am submitting this post with oldstable version 6.0.8 "squeeze" installed. Reading the various reviews on the web, the 8 core AMD with squeeze is as fast as any machine on the market.

The Problem appears to be that the dynamic device management implementation for AMD64 Wheezy does not recognize the USB keyboard at bootup time.
 
Old 12-06-2013, 12:27 AM   #7
Knightron
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: Slackware.
Posts: 1,336

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It works well and holds up to its stable reputation.
Cons: In my opinon the package manager, dpkg/apt is not as good as most seem to think.


I rated this a ten because of bhussein's stupidity, giving it an unfair '0' in #5; asking a question in the wrong place.
Realistically i would rate it an 9.
As a kde user, Debian 7 was much desired by me because of Debian's old and very unpolished kde 4.4. Debian 7 ships with 4.8 which was a great release to have chosen. It ships a bunch of updated software into the repos as expected and it doesn't disappoint.
I dislike Debian's package manager for reasons i don't want to go into, but if i look over this concept; Debian has once again delivered exactly what they advertise, a rock solid and well integrated system.
This is significant, because there are many other distros that advertise similar goals and instead deliver a mass of bugged up packages.
Systemd is not installed on the system by default, which is something i like, but what i like even more is that it is available in the repos to those that do desire it. Debian gets bonus points for making choice available.
Good work Debian devs for that, and good work for their hard efforts to make a top notch system.
 
Old 03-26-2014, 09:58 AM   #8
Pf945sm
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: extremely stable, lots of software
Cons: older versions, bugs, community support


I love Debian for what it stands for and it's stability over other distro's.

The downside is that you're sometimes stuck with older versions which can lead to incompatibilities with some newer software. If you stick with the default repositories this isn't a problem but when you start compiling stuff from source and run into higher requirements this can be problematic.

Sometimes there can be small bugs that take longer to fix or make their way into the release cycle. Sometimes, this these are fixed in newer versions in Testing or Sid but it takes time for it to end up in Stable.

Community support isn't bad, but compared to Ubuntu or Mint forums, it is somewhat less. Dare I say the Debian followers tend to be airy, a bit arrogant, and often expect newcomers to have a level of understanding of Linux that can't be expected from a newcomer. This may scare off some Debian/Linux newbies.
 
Old 10-09-2014, 10:22 AM   #9
dinodesilva
 
Registered: Jun 2014
Distribution: Debian Stable & Testing
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very stable, fast and secure
Cons: A bit old packages in stable version


Long live Debian!

The greatest OS produced by one of the most generous, brilliant, disciplined teams on earth...
A rare gem in a world where greed, hatred, competition and corruption rules...

Thank you debian team!
 
Old 10-09-2014, 12:32 PM   #10
rporro
 
Registered: Apr 2011
Distribution: Debian (now Squeeze)
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Debian has a big strong community and great amount of packages.
Cons: Packages in the Stable version are not updated until next stable release.


Even though having that Cons many of us had mentioned before I still recommend it, because even when it still a not so old version of a software they update the security issues they may have or are detected. Also talking about security they have a very responsive team giving a quick fix to backholes detected on the system.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration