LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

openSUSE 12.3 Dartmouth
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 11225 09-05-2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
50% of reviewers None indicated 6.5



Description: OpenSUSE 12.3 finishes the integration of systemd and delivers a better system log experience with journald. The latest desktops bring additional polish with much faster metadata handling, a new print manager and improved bluetooth integration in KDE’s Plasma Desktop and improved notifications, better file management and account integration for Exchange and Windows Live in GNOME Shell. 12.3 brings new technologies to users with the inclusion of PostgreSQL 9.2 which comes with native JSON support (noSQL style). We’ve moved over from MySQL to MariaDB as default. This is the first openSUSE release with a complete OpenStack “Folsom” for cloud fans and this release debuts the E17 desktop and the Sawfish and Awesome window managers.
Keywords: KDE MariaDB PostgreSQL


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-27-2013, 02:30 PM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,221

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Worked well eventually
Cons: but it took a couple of days to sort out



Superficially, little has changed in OpenSUSE since version 12.2; unfortunately the changes have not been good ones.

I started with a live disk: 32-bit with KDE. Unfortunately, both the live session and the installation failed because graphics couldn’t start. The problem wasn’t a missing video driver, but a segmentation fault. I then tried the full 32-bit disk. After the installation, the system re-booted into a CLI because of a wrong choice of video driver: I had to alter the boot parameters in Grub. At the next boot, I found that no user had been created, so I had to do that manually. At the third attempt, I had no internet and the GUI tool to configure it seemed dead. It turned out that this option is deliberately disabled in the prominently listed System Settings tool: I needed YAST instead. Installing the media codecs still pulled in huge amounts of unwanted items, and Kaffeine played videos in slow motion.

I suspect the 64-bit version would be better, but the SUSE forum shows far too many other people having problems with installing or upgrading. I always get SUSE sorted out eventually, and then it works well, but it can be almost as much trouble as Arch. If you want a KDE distro that provides encryption of /home, then it’s worth trying; if you just want one that just works, then Mepis, Salix, or PCLinuxOS would be better.
 
Old 04-05-2013, 05:54 PM   #2
wroom
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: If it worked without all the bugs - Super!
Cons: Oh, there are bugs. Lots of them.


openSUSE 12.3 is the first version openSUSE that i have been able to install on any of the different hardware i've got at hand, since version 11.4. Version 11.4 on the other hand is very good.

12.3 does not install "out of the box". But with some quirks, like nomodeset boot parameters and in one case install using text mode console, i've managed to get some systems up and running good, after some segmentation faults, black screens, ACPI-bugs, thrashed files in /etc...

But there are lots of bugs in 12.3, some of them quite severe.

Systemd has replaced SystemV runlevels. On a few freshly installed openSUSE 12.3 systems the Yast Runlevel module manages to start services like expected a bit randomly. Sometimes it works, and sometimes not.
One of the systems has a totally disfunctional Yast Runlevel module, and the services must be managed manually.
Not sure at all why that system has the worst problems?
WHat is the benefit of systemd? It's not faster to boot. Rather sometimes it can take quite some time to finish the booting.
Systemd makes the system more "windowish" with its registry and paralell dependancy. I don't like that. I don't like blue screens, nor segmentation faults, nor services that don't start and run reliably.

If you are setting up openSUSE 12.3 - Do regular image backups, to be able to revert when something goes berserk, and thrashes the system configuration.
You can't trust Yast on 12.3. It needs a good rework.
And i think the work effort in version 12 should have been put into hardening Yast, instead of adding bells and wistles.

I have tried other linux distros on the same hardware, and it installs flawlessly. I'm baffled by the fact that console video seem to be the biggest hurdle for installing openSUSE 12.3 while the competitors have no such issues.
How difficult can it be? A basic video driver for a basic installation display system.

If it wheren't for all those bugs, it would be the perfect linux distribution for desktop as well as servers.

I'm struggling along with 12.3 to migrate some systems from 11.4 and hoping for a 12.4 version that is as good and stable as the 11.4.

But i would be equally happy with a continued update and extra repo support for the 11.4, because it just works.

I'm also about setting up a high performance compute cluster, but have decided to use CentOS for that instead of SUSE - Because setting up a cluster with an OS release that is a bugbucket is probably not going to end well.

Still, the light in the tunnel is that 12.3 is the first version 12 openSUSE that i have managed to get installed at all.

For me there is only one thing better with version 12.3 than 11.4, and that is the update and extra repos.
(I'm not a bells and wistles kind of guy). ;)
 
Old 07-15-2013, 05:28 PM   #3
eionmac
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Distribution: many: SuSe 12.3 live/ Knoppix 7 (very usefull!) / Windows XP Pro, Visa, Windows7
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Upgrade from 12.2 went well
Cons: Usual download separately for media stuff


1 I have used SUSE (OpenSUSE) since version 9 and on somewhat old hardware desktop about 2000 build it works well. On my old 2005 build laptop it works well but has problem starting the fans, overheats - restart then no problem.
2. As I dual boot there is always the set up for Windows disc selection in GRUB , which on 12.3 is not so easy as on 12.2 or preceding ones.
3. Finds hardware as easily as Knoppix (my preferred distro but as a Live Distro)
4 As I use only for office work, email and browsing, I cannot report on the media side as only use videos in BBC news items, but do intensive email and document work.
 
Old 09-05-2013, 12:30 PM   #4
linosaurusroot
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: OpenSuSE,RHEL,Fedora,OpenBSD
Posts: 870

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros:
Cons:


Nice and KDE seems faster than before.

Two annoying snags are:

Foreign language support is so enthusiastic you can accidentally switch into a different character set by pressing shift+space or something like that. I traced that to the "scim" packages and removed them all (rpm -e).

A desktop user is plagued by warnings about every 5 minutes on upgrading s/w even when you are current. This comes through polkit from PackageKit from apper. Zap that too if you trust yourself to do a manual update frequently.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration