LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Archived > Conectiva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Conectiva 10
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 40756 09-25-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 5.8



Description: Conectiva Linux is a Linux distribution that is made in Brazil, and is popular in South America. It has English, Spanish, and Portugese support.
Conectiva is probably most well known for it's Crystal Icon theme, and for creating Synaptic, a graphical front-end for APT.
http://www.conectiva.com (Portugese only).
Find links to download or purchase here: http://www.distrowatch.com/table.php...tion=conectiva
Keywords: Conectiva Linux 10


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-15-2004, 05:41 PM   #1
thorn168
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Vector Linux 5.1 Std., Vector Linux 5.8 Std., Win2k, XP, OS X (10.4 & 10.5)
Posts: 344

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Grub2, Synaptic, Webmin, It's so Beautiful
Cons: I can't play music CD in the cd-rom drive, Winmodem doesn't work, Kpilot doesn't work



I still compiling my notes on the testing that I am doing on this distro. I will post them when I finish. I am currently using Conectiva 10 professional. I downloaded all three discs. I love this distro.

Grub2 loads faster then Lilo for me.
Synaptic makes updating, installing and uninstalling easy.
Webmin is really powerful once you learn how to use it.

I am surprised that no one has really commented on this distro almost 6 months after its release.

My only real complaint so far is that I cannot obtain the updates for this distro. I think that if I could get the updates most of my problems with this distro would be resolved.

Compared to my experience with Mandrake 10.0 Official Conectiva 10 is a more professional product.

However Conectiva does require 2 floppy discs to install from a floppy boot. "Boot.img" and "floppy.img" once those discs finish doing their job the rest of the work is done by the first installation CD.

I am still working on evaluating this distro so please have patience with me until I finish my research

Thorn
 
Old 12-27-2004, 12:16 PM   #2
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything
Cons: problems with kpilot + palm zire 72 (but everybody has...)


Hello all!

The following words are from a end-user, mechanical engineering that uses linux for work and home stuff.

I've been using Conectiva 10 Professional for three months. Everything is fast and easy, it has detected my nVidia FX 5200 automatically during instalation, and even the onboard SoundMAX of my ASUS P4V800-X (with ALSA). The support for HyperThreading works fine too, and even the USB joystick I have (like those from PlayStation2) have all functions enabled running games with CEDEGA.

I have previously worked with Red Hat 8.0, 9.0 and an ancient Mandrake distro. In my opinion, this Conectiva 10 is the strongest distro I've ever worked, since its interface and apps make its use robust, easy and fast. It has a lot of built-in hardware support. My DVD combo, zip drive and network have worked just fine with no problems.

The only issue I have is with kpilot. I have a Palm Zire 72 and I can sync. As far as I know, there are problems with the Zire series, although the "Conectiva system info" app does recognize it. I still can't sync, but I am looking for the answer.

About the rest, their OpenOffice distro is good, instalation profiles are handy and easy, hardware support is good, 3D works wonderfully well (GTA Vice City runs just like under MS-Crap-Paid-Win-OS). SAMBA network is automatic (impossible to be easier).

Conclusion: No more MS Operating System in my hd. Never. Just don't miss it, and I think I never will.

I have seen a perfect phrase on a site, but I don't remember which one... It's more or less like this: "Who needs Windows in a world without walls?" That's exactly how I fell with this distro. And better: it's made in my country :P

Long live linux!

P.S. If someone knows the answer to the sync issue with the Zire 72, plz help me. I'm still looking for the solution...

P.S. I bought the support recently, in order to get some classes and to get this sync fixed! The distro box is realy cool!
 
Old 05-17-2006, 01:16 PM   #3
poetfreak
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu Based (Mint and custom) 12.04
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: none
Cons: No longer exists!


Update your stuff folks! This is now ManDriva, and it still lacks good hardware support. Now, it is also less stable though, too.
 
Old 06-03-2007, 02:42 AM   #4
WindowsHater001
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: Fedora 7 (trying to)
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


basically just a reply to poetfreak, if he still reads this one


THEY WROTE THOSE IN 04 OMFG SHUT UP, LOOK AT DATES!!!!!!!!!!!

otherwise it sounds pretty good, thinking about trying it on a virtual machine on my MacBook
 
Old 09-25-2007, 07:29 PM   #5
Archoniam
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Great desktop, good programs, and great functionality.
Cons: Dependency hell, visudo not set for automatic use for all users, in essence the thing is total crap.


I riskfully killed all mah files and installed Fedora, which is sleeker but... aw heck just look at my review in FC7.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration