LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 12.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 9424 04-23-2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 6.6



Description: "Ubuntu 12.10 introduces innovations that bring together desktop and cloud-based experiences, representing the next stage in the transition to a multi-device, cloud-based world. New Previews give large, clear previews of content as it appears in the Dash search results, giving users a quick way to get more information to help find what they are looking for. The new Web Apps feature makes frequently used web applications available through the desktop."
Keywords: Debian-based desktop cloud-based Web-Apps


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-26-2012, 05:23 PM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,957

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons:



Ubuntu will go straight into a live session unless you press a key immediately you get a black screen with a couple of icons at the bottom. Then you can choose to check the disk, set language and keyboard, and run the installer or a live session.

It didn’t get to a live session for me: the graphical interface just sat there flashing. After a lot of testing and searching, I discovered that I needed to press F6 and add ‘xforcevesa’ to the boot instructions. The release notes (yes, I should have read them) mention problems with various video chips but they suggest far more complicated solutions, involving using the alternative CD and creating an xorg.conf file!

When I finally got the live session running, it just sat there, unresponsive. A trip to tty1 revealed that the CPU was running at 100% and the culprit was Compiz.

Then I tried running the installer directly, only to find it crashed with the bug that was present in 12.04 and which the bug tracker reported as solved. I could have downloaded the alternative installation disk, but why bother?

I’m obviously unlucky in having hardware that brings out the worst in this distro, but even if it works for you this time, what might it do in the future? The release notes have the dire warning: ‘The mail client Evolution may delete folders and their contents’; so why don’t they replace it with one that works?

The privacy statement is also interesting: ‘By searching in the dash you consent to the storage of your search terms and IP address by Canonical and such selected third parties’. Be warned!
 
Old 10-29-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
sycho123321
 
Registered: Apr 2012
Distribution: Slackware and debian
Posts: 186

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: easy to use
Cons: its to easy to use people need to learn to use the termanal and not have distros baby them


maby i should have put the con on the description
 
Old 10-30-2012, 11:50 PM   #3
Albouryndao
 
Registered: Sep 2012
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: So very easy to use!
Cons: Ubuntu is an OS which allows people do everything they want to do!


In fact i had installed Ubuntu 12.10 with Windows Installer and booted installation with Boot-Repair-Disk to get a stable installation. After that, I installed some softwares like Ubuntu Desktop Educational Suite, I got Edubuntu. Great was my surprise! It was very amazing and very interesting to get it. I'm very satisfied! Thanks A Lot!
 
Old 11-26-2012, 02:43 PM   #4
mintyninja41
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: linuxmint
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fairly Intuitive GUI, Accessible
Cons: Not so hot for older computers


Ubuntu 12.10 has the excellent Unity GUI, which, although not as flexible/customizable as we would like, is user friendly, intuitive, and quite pretty. Sadly, it doesn't work too well with older computers; Unity craves RAM. Otherwise, I found it fairly stable, and would definitely recommend it for any machine that could run Windows Vista and up.
 
Old 12-18-2012, 03:09 AM   #5
60s TV Batman
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 60

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Looks great, works well, Unity
Cons: Slow on older hardware


12.10 is more stable on my desktop than 12.04 was. And Unity has come on in leaps and bounds.

I was also able to get Win7 Aero running in VirtualBox under 12.10. I couldn't get Aero working under 12.04.

It doesn't like my Lexmark Pro 805 - won't even install the driver complaining that it's 'bad'. This is an accurate detection by the Software Centre. I had to purge the driver from 12.04 because it just sat there and wrote out log entries every second or so. If I need to print at the moment I start up Win7 in VirtualBox and print from there. The excremental, overpriced, under-supported and otherwise excremental Lexmark will be replaced with an HP printer next year.

My rather less impressive laptop isn't quite so happy with 12.10. It's a little sluggish, as was Win7 that Ubuntu 12.10 replaced. It's worst sin on my laptop is Ubuntu's below-par power saving options. Ubuntu isn't even close to Win7 in this respect.

********

On my desktop (SSD, i3770, 16GB) 12.10 is a pleasure to use and I give it 9/10. On my crappy old laptop it's less of a pleasure but still an acceptable 6/10. As 80% of my work is on my desktop box I give Ubuntu 12.10 an average rating of 8/10.
 
Old 01-03-2013, 08:50 AM   #6
arodlinux
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14, openSuse 12.3,
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: Easy to use until you got problem. Privacy concern


Privacy concern = spyware.
 
Old 03-04-2013, 02:19 PM   #7
yottie
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Distribution: Mint, Ubuntu, Fedora
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, stable and will continue to improve
Cons: Unity is resource hungry so switch to Cinnamon


I have tested various distros and Ubuntu is my distro of choice. By adding the Cinnamon desktop, the Medibuntu repository and the Synaptic Package manager I have the distro that meets my needs.
 
Old 04-23-2013, 09:48 AM   #8
rich442
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Slackware 14.0
Posts: 81

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: It "just works" developer tools, selection of desktops/applications
Cons: sudo-based, single encryption, depends on GUI apps


Ubuntu just works. It is one of the most modern yet stablable linux OS's available. With MP3 support out-of-the-box, it presents the easiest way to set up a fully functional computer and have it running in under two hours. The ubuntu kernel is the gold standard of modern desktop distros.

ubuntu comes in several flavors allowing the end-user to choose from KDE, Unity, XFCE, LXDE, fluxbox and GNOME-shell, Cinnamon and MATE desktops.

On the negative side, ubuntu is almost completely dependent upon the use of GUI configuration applications. This is a problem for those who would like to do some low-level work on the system but just fine for casual users. After all, each graphical application had to be coded by someone who understood the system and its nuances. Ubuntu community encourages users to develop their own GUI apps and guides new developers through the process of getting registered with launchpad with a unique GPG-KEY.

In spite of all of this, some tools (like git and subversion) need to be hunted down and the IDLE programming interface for python is redundant for those comfortable with any terminal emulator. Ubuntu has many apps that serve the same purpose.

Currently, ubuntu does not support icewm to the degree that it supports more popular desktops.

To conclude, ubuntu is a great distribution for those who want a fast, carefree environment in which to work effectively, play modern games or develop new apps in a variety of languages.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration