LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Opensuse 12.2 Mantis
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 7412 03-01-2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0



Description: The latest release of the world’s most powerful and flexible Linux Distribution brings you speed-ups across the board with a faster storage layer in Linux 3.4 and accelerated functions in glibc and Qt, giving a more fluid and responsive desktop. The infrastructure below openSUSE has evolved, bringing in mature new technologies like GRUB2 and Plymouth and the first steps in the direction of a revised and simplified UNIX file system hierarchy. Users will also notice the added polish to existing features bringing an improved user experience all over. The novel Btrfs file system comes with improved error handling and recovery tools, GNOME 3.4, developing rapidly, brings smooth scrolling to all applications and features a reworked System Settings and Contacts manager while XFCE has an enhanced application finder.
Keywords: opensuse suse novel mantis 12.2 lizard green yast zypper rpm o'doyle rules


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-11-2012, 10:22 AM   #1
Knightron
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: Slackware.
Posts: 1,297

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: zypper is super. Devs will hold back release to get quality standard
Cons: no rc.local. about 300mb worth of updates on fresh install.



Opensuse, one of, or my favorite Gnu/Linux distro.
This release was released over two months from the original release date. The decision to do so was based on the growth of developers turning the old release system redundant. I admire the Opensuse teams decision to push the release later, opposed to releasing on schedule a buggy distro. The release schedule is currently being reviewed and later versions may no longer follow the eight month system. I like that Opensuse has the guts to change which will lead them to eventually evolve.

Opensuse 12.2 doesn't offer anything phenomenal from the previous release, especially if you used open build service repos to receive updated selected software. Mantis is just a stable build with updates and over all, it's nice.
Opensuse offers many extra optional repos to get various things, such as updated kde, updated gnome, updated wine, ect. It makes Opensuse an absolute pleasure to use.
Opensuse uses the rpm package manager, and zypper for an automated package tool. I think zypper is possibly the best automated package tool around, pacman is the only other that comes close. For the graphical user, there is yast which is a very good tool too, but alas it does have a habit of over complicating some configuration files.
Opensuse 12.2 comes with Grub2 unlike previous releases. I do not like Grub2 very much, but it seems to be working fine, so i can't complain.

I very much enjoy Opensuse, and while there is a couple annoying things i have found; i have found a few or more annoying things in every other distro i've tried as well.

Another great release, and i predict Opensuse will only become better as the devs review there release system.
 
Old 09-12-2012, 04:10 PM   #2
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,824

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Everything worked eventually
Cons: but there's a lack of polish compared to the best distros


OpenSUSE is available as live CDs for KDE and Gnome, or as a DVD (not live) with a choice of interfaces. I tested the 32-bit DVD.

The disk offers to check itself, which is nice. The on-line basic guide has little information (nothing on partitioning) and the reference manual is is not much better, but the installer has pop-up help for each stage which is probably sufficient for an intelligent beginner. It offers a choice of KDE, Gnome, or Other. The first two also enable you to select the main software groups required, while Other gives a choice between Xfce, LXDE, window manager (unspecified!), and CLI server. I installed twice: KDE (their preference) and Xfce (mine). The home partition can be encrypted (I didn’t test that) but I didn’t see any option for a bootloader password.

At first boot, the system spends a couple of minutes configuring itself. Why wasn’t that done during the installation? With KDE, it wasn’t over even when the music played, the CPU still running at 90% for another minute. There’s not a lot of software installed, but the choices are sensible. Both desktops came with LibreOffice, Firefox, Gimp, email, audioplayer, and videoplayer. Some gave warnings when run from the CLI, but nothing critical. Like last time, Xfce is missing its file searcher. The package manager worked well, but you must configure it first or it’ll get stuck looking for the installation disk.

Like Fedora, OpenSUSE expects you to enable a third party repository to download media codecs and the Flash plug-in. With KDE and Gnome there are one-click wizards at the SUSE website, but with other desktops the command line is needed. Far too many packages were installed, or replaced by different versions, allegedly to satisfy dependency requirements. What has KDE-artwork-wallpapers to do with codecs? And, like Fedora, there were a lot of problems. Kaffeine (KDE default) and Xine played some flv files, but reported ‘no audio device’ for others. Totem (Xfce default) was impossibly jerky. Parole worked well, if you gently shook the window first! At the fifth attempt, I succeeded: VLC worked perfectly, even on the ‘mp4 from hell’. The Flash plug-in worked in Xfce, but was very jerky in KDE. Maybe all this is my hardware, but that won’t be unique. I had to create ~/.asoundrc to enable my USB speakers, and then Amarok (KDE default) gave an error message that it was configured not to use them. Audacious installed with a missing dependency but eventually worked, as did Rhythmbox (Xfce default).

I always find some problem or other with OpenSUSE, and I can’t see why anyone would prefer it to the competition. As with Fedora and Red Hat, it’s a minor miracle that it eventually gets turned into SUSE Enterprise Linux. Nevertheless, I did end up with a viable system eventually, and it has thousands of users, presumably happy.
 
Old 01-06-2013, 09:15 PM   #3
Lunar
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: openSuSE
Posts: 75

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: stable, i can touch and play with Everything...
Cons: openSusE forum 'moderators' are 'fairy' sensitive...


i've been using SuSE, openSuSE since about 1997'ish along with most other distros (Mandrake (1st), RH (2nd), centOS, ubuntu, slackware, real SCO Unix, etc.. ) and when my fav, Novell took over at version 9.x I decided to stop shopping.. Oh, and I very much prefer KDE over the iron curtain of today's Gnome...

SuSE been very, very good to me... : )

Landis.
 
Old 03-01-2013, 07:33 AM   #4
larwana
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: openSuSE 12.2
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: runs my integrated sound card, Yast
Cons: no easy way to get new software, the SuSE website's package locator, can't be browsed, you have to type in a name


So far so good. I'm trying to make the migration from that other OS, to Linux. OpenSuSE has made things fairly easy so far. I've been playing with SuSE since the late '90s, but was never able to get enough stuff working to make me stay.

Now, I can use all of the programs I currently need, and most of the ones I want. I tried Mint, but had hardware issues that I couldn't resolve. I went back to SuSE, and things have run smoothly every since.

I also like that openSuSE runs KDE natively. I've tried the new Gnome and Unity, but I am definitely most comfortable with KDE.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration