LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 10.0 Official Download
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 86459 10-03-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers $8.00 8.4



Description: The Mandrake 10.0 "Official Download" version available as of May 25, 2004 from Mandrakelinux.com
Keywords: MDK 10


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-07-2004, 06:58 AM   #1
claudius753
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Mac OS X 10.6.4 "Snow Leopard", Win 7, Ubuntu 10.04
Posts: 322

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use, clean interface, more hardware supported out-of-box
Cons: Maybe too 'newbie-ized' for some, few quirks



Let me start out as stating that I have tried many distrobutions before Mandrake 10, including Mandrake 9.2, Slackware 9.1, Red Hat 8 & 9, and Fedora Core 1.

While I had nothing against these distrobutions, I still found myself returning to Windows for some things, and would end up staying in Windows so I didn't have to constantly reboot.

With Mandrake 10, I finally feel comfortable enough with it already to have not relied on windows at all for over a week now.

I find that Mandrake 10 is easier to use than any other distro I have tried so far, including Mandrake 9.2. The interface such as control center and the pakage managers are nice looking and everything seems tied together instead of everything looking disjointed and cobbled together.

More hardware is supported from the install, such as my ATI Radeon 8500 which was automatically setup with 3D acceleration. glxgears gives an average of 1475 fps.

While nice to anyone looking to get away from other OSes and get into Linux, for people well versed it may seem to give that helping hand more than they would like.

There are a few quirks, such as xmms not being installed by default. Also a few programs seem buggy on my machine such as the 'Find Files' program. Even though a few progams freeze, Mandrake handles it like a champ and allows you to close the program without the system halting.

I would reccomend Mandrake 10.0 to anyone who wants to start learning Linux, or any newbie who is getting frustrated with a different distrobution
 
Old 06-23-2004, 01:35 AM   #2
LinuxMyK
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Very Simple Installation, Stable, EVERYTHING WORKS!
Cons: feels a bit slower but not much


mandrake 10.0 official is a great distrobution free of download at the mandrake website, i would reccomend this distro to any newbie to linux and expirenced users its the first distro that my schroll works! ( no XF86config to edit!) nvidia drivers work great and its stable so i reccomed downloading it
 
Old 06-25-2004, 05:12 AM   #3
webwolf70
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Windows XP. I gave up with Linux & I left LQ.
Posts: 502

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install. A good distro for both the experienced and inexperienced user. Recognizes a lot of hardware and has a lot of extras, not to mention, needed packages. And this is the free, download version.
Cons: They need to have XFce and Mozilla Firefox added.


I have been trying a lot of distros lately. Some have limited features for the free downloaded version. Not Mandrake. All you need is there and then some. It was easy to install, came with the stuff I needed for source, binary and RPM's. I had no problem with installing other software except for the normal dependicy problems, but even that seemed easier to deal with in Mandrake 10.0 Official then with other distros. It installs quickly, and caters to the advanced user and newbie alike. And again, this is what they give you in the free version. I can't wait to see what I get when I buy it next month.

I have a few favorite distros but Mandrake is my all time favorite.


Webwolf

 
Old 06-26-2004, 08:03 AM   #4
LinuxOnEarth
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: SuSE 9.2 & Windows 2000
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easiest distro I've used, lots of Cool software
Cons: not enough installed at installation


in my life, ive used red hat 6.2,7,9 slackware 9.1 and mulinux and mandrake 10. im happy to say that mandrake is the easiest and most reliable of them all. Based on red hat, it gives you the easy package system of rpm. The only problem is that not enough is installed unless you pick practically everything. Still, I think its my perfect one. This is my 4th distro and I am very impressed. I still havent debian or suse but I aim to sometime
 
Old 06-30-2004, 02:18 AM   #5
Shantesh
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.10 | Windows XP Professional
Posts: 82

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: best distro for a newbie
Cons: they should add opera browser


Mandrake Linux is very easy to install and very much user-friendly amongst all linux systems
The best distro for a newbie i feel
Automounts drives and also the interface rocks
 
Old 07-02-2004, 08:38 AM   #6
Kadett
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Started on Red Hat 5.1 now on Mandrake 10.0
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Absolutely awesome, installation is flawless, great hardware support and manuals
Cons: None I can think of


I've dabbled with Linux on and off since RedHat 5.0 a long time ago. My first try of Mandrake 9.0 was good, but it still had some problems, but solutions were workable.

Mandrake 10.0 which I've spent the last week using is absolutely great, the installer is easily the best in the industry for the newbie. I think I can finally say bye-bye to Windows. Using Codeweavers Crossover for MS Office XP, I haven't needed to boot into Window$ all week , which has never happened before.

All in all this is great, both for relative Newbies like me and more experienced users. I think I'll definately be joining Mandrake Club.
 
Old 07-04-2004, 02:20 AM   #7
zarathustra674
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Mint KDE w/ a ton of PPA's and Repo's., Might be switching back to Mageia or PCLOS.
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Up to date apps, Easy to use, Quick Installation, MDK tools helpful for total newbs..
Cons: Things don't work as well as in say 9.2 or 9.1, or even 9.0


I'm downloading Nvidia's driver so I figured I'd do a review of mdk official. I'm really disappointed in this latest release from Mandrake. I've been a Mandrake fan for a few years(starting with 8.0), and this one disappoints me.

First off, some of the things I'm nitpicking are not necessarily mandrake's fault in one sense, but in another, they are.

1. For example, xmms doesn't work right out of the box. I know this has been beat into the ground, and I knew what to do immediately to fix it, but for a newb, this could be frustrating. This may be due to this particular release of xmms, or that it defaults to the oss driver, I don't know, but it could be frustrating for a new user. Either way mandrake could either use an older release or simply set it up so it works.

2. Since the release of 10.0, my logitech ps/2 mouse has been incorrectly detected and whenever i try to scroll pages, or use scroll bars, the page wiggles every which way. Again, this was solved by editing the XF86Config-4 file. No problem, but for a newb??

3. Still no 2.4 kernel source, self-explanatory.

4. I liked the mandrake tools better before they changed them from 9.1 to 9.2. I prefer LPRng and the tools make it hard to set this up as opposed to cups. I haven't even been able to select LPRng from printerdrake now. This SUCKS. WHEN SOMETHING WORKS, DON'T SCREW WITH IT.

Well people, my Nvidia drivers have finished downloading, I can't think of any more negatives to add. So on to the positive.

This version is somewhat up to date and Mandrake has taken the initative(sp?) to provide updates for kde 3.2.3 this is cool. Guess since texstar has is doing pclos now, they've decided to do it. Who knows. Most everything else i've tried works, my rear speakers are turned on by default now which is cool. And even, with the quirks I have this distro is still easier to set up than say slackware where I have to edit the XF86Config anyway. However, I have yet to try slack 10, and probably will as soon as I can get to my local community college to download it(There's 56k in these here hills). I haven't tried Fedora Core 2, or the newest SUSE, and I'm not hardcore enough to try Gentoo.

Two other things that are huge pluses for MDK are the Penguin Liberation Front and Contrib. With these two sources and Urpmi, you are almost guaranteed to find anything you need package wise. This is probably the single most reason I use mandrake the most. There exists repositories for other distro's however.

Well people, I have rambled enough, and I hope this has been an objective review. For a total newb who wants a taste Id suggest 9.1 or 9.2. For somewhat experienced desktop users like myself this distro may suit you fine.

I wish there was a rating scale instead of yes or no for the "Would you recommend this product?" question. If so Id say maybe or it depends, and give it a 7 out of 10.
 
Old 07-11-2004, 07:53 PM   #8
marcusfallon
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: mandrake
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: great graphics, stability, versatility
Cons: a few bugs


Well I have to admit that I am a complete and utter Mandrake fan. I have tried Redhat, Debian and Suse as well but have always stuck with Mandrake (over 3 years now). My wife hasn't used M$ for over two years now and I have only installed Mandrake on my new laptop. In fact of the four computers at home one is a Mac and the others run on Mandrake. I recently built a Usb external DVD burner and works perfectly both on data DVD and copying DVD. In other words you can do all you want with this distro and wave goodbye to Redmond. Also have two servers running in office without a reboot in months. Give it a spin you won't be disappointed.
 
Old 07-21-2004, 01:06 PM   #9
furfurdemon666
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 171

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy for newbies
Cons: Issues with Hauppauge Win-TV Go PCI cards (configuration) and Nvidia drivers - which can frustrate newbies


I did a hard drive install of Mandrake 10 Official from the official mirrors listed on Mandrake's official homepage about a month or so before the ISOs were available, so I've been using it a little longer than most who downloaded this distro/version for free.

For the most part, I've had a lot of fun using Mandrake 10 Official with kernel 2.6.3 and would recommend this distro/version to anyone looking for a fun and easy to use distro. I would especially recommend it to those looking to switch from Windows to Linux.

However, that said, here are some of the issues I've experienced:

Doesn't easily auto-config Hauppauge Win-TV Go PCI cards in default install. I tried installing several different programs and trying several different configurations and there would always be a problem. In the Mandrake Control Center I managed to get the tv tuner card working but of course when I rebooted my nvidia drivers gave me an error and I couldn't get back into KDE.

If you have another type of tv tuner card you may be fine, I don't know, but if you have what I have please know what you're getting into before you install Mandrake 10 Official and find a solution to this especially if you're using the tv tuner card with an nvidia graphics card. Others have encountered this same problem. It's strange because my tv tuner and nvidia card worked flawlessly together in Mandrake 9.2 but I was using kernel 2.4 so that's probably why.. I would guess.

My nvidia card works great when I don't go messing with the tv tuner card to get it to work, so there's no issues there.

USB thumb drives/key chain drives/pen drives/whatever you wish to call them work great but I've only tried one plugged in at a time.

For some odd reason I've noticed KDE hogging the cpu and accessing the disk quite often in Mandrake 10 Official when no other programs were running. This seems to be a KDE issue though as I've found others using other distros saying the same thing now and then on different websites. I recommend using Fluxbox anyway with Mandrake 10 Official as I don't see these run away cpu disk access issues when running Fluxbox (or other window managers for that matter)

Newbies should get to know Easy Urpmi and using urpmi from the command line to maximize use/fun.

Other than the issues above, I've found Mandrake 10 Official fun for both work and play. Check it out today! :)

Edit: I gave Mandrake 10 Official an 8 out of 10 rating because I feel there is a lot of room for improvement. :)
 
Old 07-26-2004, 07:23 PM   #10
Boffy
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04
Posts: 419

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, Quicker than 9.2, looks nicer than 9.2, URPMI has more packages
Cons: Upgrade install takes a long time (1 hr)


Where to begin.

I initially installed mandrake 10 as an upgrade to 9.2. The install took about an hour with seemed quite a long time given 9.2 was installed in around 20 minutes. Anyway I installed it but immediately started having problems. So I decided a fresh install was needed, so I backed up my files and re-installed. Man am I glad I did.

The clean install only took 15 minutes and everything worked fine first time. All the minor niggles could be solved quickly using the package install software which I a great feature. It has been well refined since 9.2 and now works quickly and smoothly. Installing programs that were tricky before is now a seamless process. This is helped in no small part to a greater selection of RPM's accessible.

KDE 3.2 looks nicer and is easier to configure than ever. I don't use gnome but I installed it anyway and it too looks very nice.

I was disappointed that the gnome display manager was not installed by default as it looks nicer and loads quicker but a simple install was all it took to add it.

The boot time of the new version has been reduced. I'm not sure how the people at Mandrakesoft did it, but they have made a better and bigger system load faster than ever. When running the OS is very stable and quick.

Overall I must congratulate Mandrakesoft on creating such a great system. I recommend any newbie or expert Linux user to try it, I defy them not to like it.
 
Old 08-02-2004, 09:33 PM   #11
Dreamcast
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $6.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install, plenty of applications (3CDs), easy to add/remove software
Cons: some other distributions have more applications


Mandrake 10.0 has nearly every software application that a typical user would ever need. Installing new software is as easy as placing a check mark in the box next to the application in the software package list.

Overall, Mandrake 10.0 is less complicated than Windows 98. The distribution is very intuitive. An experienced Microsoft windows user will immediately feel comfortable with Mandrake.

My only gripe is that it does not have as many applications as Suse Professional (5CDs). The extra software applications are not necessary. Still, having a few extra applications would be cool.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

On 09-20-04, I purchased Mandrake Discovery for $35. This was an excellent investment. Discovery is even easier to install and use than the Download version. In addition, Discovery includes proprietary video drivers, flash and Java.

I was not impressed with Mandrake Club, and Mandrake Expert. These services are available for free elsewhere on the internet. Most notably, LinuxQuestions is far superior to Mandrake Expert.

Finally, I feel much better now that I have "purchased" a copy of Linux.
 
Old 08-03-2004, 09:17 PM   #12
Inexactitude
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Slackware 12.2, Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 477

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: None, I haven't been able to run the OS for more than 5 minutes due to freezing
Cons: Audigy 2 doesn't work upon installation, couldn't get via-rhine nic working, Constant freezing, install program Freezes


Mandrake 10 community download went absolutely horribly for me. I will start off by saying that I am a long time Mandrake user, and use still use other versions of Mandrake.

The first thing that went wrong for me with Mandrake 10 was the install. When I attempted to configure my ethernet card during the install, the installation program froze. It was at the end of the install, so I figured the machine was usable and that I could fix the nic later.

I boot up and sure enough it fails to initialize eth0. I also see that my audio card isn't working. Well, no big deal, I could fix that right? No.

As soon as I open up Harddrake2, the computer freezes. It is totally unresponsive. This takes me a little by suprise (this was the first time a linux machine fully froze on me). At this point there wasn't much I could do, so I was forced to give up on Mandrake.

I use Mandrake 10 RC1 without a problem, so I'm a little suprised that I had so many troubles with this release.
 
Old 08-12-2004, 01:36 AM   #13
PDR60
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian, Kubuntu
Posts: 257

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, Very complete, versitile for server loads
Cons: Really can't think of any


What can I say, I have a site dedicated to the use of Mandrake. www.linuxloader.com is running on it and is very stable. I also use it for my desktop and daily use. I am Windows free as of 2 years ago.
I tried many Distro's but Mandrake is My distro. I hear allot of users say it's for newb's but I beg to differ. It makes a very good server. Just check out the site. Mandrake has had their growing pains but those are all history and the Distro is getting better with each release.

The Install process is very simple and the hardware support is excellent. Speed is comparable to other distros and its completeness pushes it out ahead of the others. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in a very good Linux product.

PDR60
 
Old 08-20-2004, 05:45 AM   #14
yuar
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install and also fast
Cons: Hard to configure games to run full screen


It's easy to install and doesn't quack about your hardware but what it does is something more useful to the end-user: actually makes you productive.
I can't play tuxracer in full screen though without having my screen split into 4 to 5 stripes and I have to log back out and in to set things right and I can't still play games in full screen mode.
 
Old 08-25-2004, 04:54 PM   #15
ADS
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy
Cons: Somewhat unstable, slow


Good for beginners looking to learn about Linux, but isn't stable or bugfree enough for longterm use.
 
Old 09-08-2004, 05:55 PM   #16
ilyanep
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Debian Sarge
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to Setup, Intuitive Control Center, Nice Interface
Cons: Freezes up on Logout, Doesn't support older Wireless cards



To install Mandrake took me about 30 minutes, and I was up and running within an hour.

The control center let me set practically every minute detail that I wanted. The OS comes with a lot of packages, so I didn't have to download anything.

The Interface is nice, providing many systems like Gnome, KDE, and some others.

My main problems with Mandrake (somewhat minute though) are that it freezes up when I go to the menu and then click 'Logout/Restart' and that it doesn't recognize my D-Link DWL-520 (but I find that to be a problem with all versions of Linux).

In the end, Would I reccomend this to a newbie or even an intermediate user? Uh-huh! But if you want to use it as a server or be a Super-133t h4x0r, then you might want to consider another distro such as Debian.
 
Old 09-11-2004, 11:11 AM   #17
qwerty12
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great and easy to use
Cons: The hardware detecting program needs some work.It successfully detected my hardware but if I had my office jet v45 on and I let it detect my USB devices it would say it found a office jet v45 connected but could not detect the actual printer connected to


It is a great product and apps generally install easily.It was my first time using linux and I found it easy to configure to your needs.
 
Old 09-12-2004, 02:11 PM   #18
webchem
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: MDK 10.0
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, easy to use
Cons: Problems on dual boot system (easily fixable), lack of Firefox


As a newcomer to Linux (although I have tried Live CD's), I wanted to install an easy to use, easy to install distro. SuSE was recommended to me, but when I hit go to install it refused to mount any of my disk partitions.

MDK just smoothly installed - brilliant. BUT (and this is a big BUT), the bootloader installed itself and when I re-booted up it came, I selected Windows, and all I got was a flashing cursor - big PANIC time.

However, MDK 10.0 is splendid, I was able to rescue all my data and burn to CD (great). The whole system is easy to use, and although only Konquerer is installed as standard, Firefox etc are just a download away. The installation is different, and I don't think Firefox installed properly.

So I set about trying to solve my Windows XP boot problem, and after some very deep delving on various forums (including this one), in which I encountered all sorts of very complex fixing including using such commands as fdisk /mbr (or whatever they are) which are very scary, re-formatting hard-drives etc to mention but a few. I then came across a very simple fix, which looked right because it was simple.

All I had to do was enter my bios settings and change my Primary Boot from 'AUTO' to 'LBH'. Bingo boot issue solved! Hurray!

I am actually quite cross with MDK, as this should be an issue that they should warn about. Looking at various Linux forums it is not an uncommon problem and people are going to all sorts of extreme measures to fix it, and the solution is very quick and easy!

So to MDK itself, it looks good, its quick and seems to be stable. It somes with everything you need to use for whatever setup you require.

The only thing I haven't yet managed to do is set up a simple network with a Belkin ADSL modem/switch/wireless that enables the other computers in the house to share printers and use the desktop as a fileserver. This was very simple in XP.

I would just like to see Mozilla installed as default, and the boot issue resolved - or potential users warned about the problem. Konqueror is great, but there are some sites (notably gmail) that don't work with it.

Looking forward to many happy hours using MDK.



I then set about
 
Old 09-13-2004, 01:06 AM   #19
Bluenoser
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS
Posts: 138

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: User friendly, smooth install, tons of software to choose from
Cons: Minor bugs, slightly unstable, Premium services very costly


My first linux distro was Mandrake 8.1, which I bought retail, mostly because I had dialup then and had no other way to obtain a copy. Finally I got highspeed and I have since tried RedHat 9 which I did not care for at all, and went back to Mandrake. Then tried Suse 9 Pro for a bit, then Mandrake 10, then Suse 9 Personal and have just gone back to Mandrake 10 simply because it just feels right to me. I still want to try Debian and Slackware to compare, but I know I'll just end up back with Mandrake.

Anyways the only hardware that does not work is my printer, and it doesn't work with any other linux, so we can't fault Mandrake for that LOL but once installed, and setup with nvidia drivers, flash and some minor tweaking, it's very comparable to XP, but with less crashes. I think XMMS and Mozilla should be included in a default install but these can be added very easily. I still have to boot into XP for some things though, so it is not a total replacement for me yet
 
Old 09-19-2004, 12:06 AM   #20
wirawan0
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1, SuSE 9.2, Ubuntu 7.04-10.04, Sabayon 5, Debian 6
Posts: 62

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Ease of install, ease of use, bunches of nice software (esp. multimedia)
Cons: Free distro is trimmed down (3 instead of 4 CDs), missing devel libraries, too much unwanted automations


I have been using Mandrake Linux since version 9.1 was out in 2003(?). I installed it on my Sony VAIO AMD-AthlonXP-based laptop (precisely: PCG-FXA53). The main reason, at that time, was that I was so desperate to get a distro with working ACPI support. (I had used Red Hat 7.3--which was a fine distro--on that laptop for a while, which had no ACPI support. That caused my laptop to run *red hot*.)

In general this distribution is easy to install and handle. Not too much low-level messing up is required to have it running on my laptop. The original kernel 2.6.3 works fine for me (except that I had to disable APIC and local APIC, since they historically caused the laptop to lockup at the end of the shutdown process [this was with Mdk 9.1 with kernel 2.4.21, not yet tested with 10.0]). The GNOME desktop is nice. Mandrake configuration tool (drakconf) is easy to use, without requiring us to deal with details such as iptable's firewall rules, and so on. For the most part, it is really a great experience to use Mandrake!

Mandrake is a Red Hat-based distro, so my previous experience with Red Hat helps a lot when dealing with this distro. Everything is really similar to Red Hat. For example, the `/sbin/service' service starter/stopper is there; and /etc/sysconfig/* stuff are almost identical to Red Hat.

Compared to Red Hat line, one of the excellence of Mandrake is that it has a lot more of multimedia support. It plays .MP3 and even .WMA files! (The .wma files are playable via mplayer. This software, BTW, also plays some .WMV--although not without problem.) It can play DivX files (xine handles this; I think mplayer may also do--but I'm not 100% sure). Mandrake also natively supports read-only access to NTFS partitions, which is also disabled on Red Hat/Fedora distros. Certainly if you are a casual user who demands multimedia experience under Linux, this is a nice choice for you!

All those brilliant things being said, I have to mention a few quirks that I observed during the use of this distribution.

First of all, since Mandrakesoft tried hard to gear the distribution toward non-traditional Linux users, many automations and nifty features can sometimes be a nuisance. For example, /etc/fstab and /mnt contents can change dynamically when I insert a memory card reader. While this is good, I'm not used to this. The `supermount' meta-filesystem that comes with the automounter is also not that good. It caused extremely slow file transfer. I had to work it around by disabling the supermount options, and setting up traditional Linux mountpoints in /etc/fstab (remember to remove the `kudzu' keyword from the mount option or else your entry will be deleted mysteriously one time or the other.

The permissions of certain system files are automatically enforced using `msec' facility of Mandrake. If you use a non-traditional file locations, you may be surprised, since file permissions may change "without reason". But you can work around this by configuring msec in Mandrake configuration tool.

Mandrake is quite daring to put new software on a public distribution. It was even bolder than Red Hat (when it was still Red Hat Linux). Now, I think, it's comparable to Fedora Core in terms of the use of novelties. The versions of the compilers, libraries, etc, are generally very close, or identical to the "most up to date" versions you can find out there. This may be good if you're adventurous, or demanding the new features. But it can sometimes bite you for its undiscovered bugs.

I have some complaints against the hardware (notably USB-related things) that sometimes locks up. (I wasn't sure what happened there.) This rarely happens, however, and I wasn't interested in finding out exactly what happened. But when this happened, the program that access that hardware could be locked out and there was no way to kill it except by restarting the computer. :-( Other problem is that sometimes Mozilla (version 1.6) can lock up. Not quite sure what causes this either.

Last, Mandrakes only gives 3 out of the 4 CDs in the free distribution. I don't know why they do this. The files in this CD do not seem to be the commercial/proprietary nature either (i.e., they are also open source stuff, like those in CDs 1-3). Are they following some distro builders' habit by NOT giving the complete buildable system? Not a good move, IMO. The 4th CD contains (mostly) "-devel" and legacy libraries needed for building programs. So, if you are developing stuff like me, you may end up having some trouble finding the libraries. You may be able to get the missing stuff from the source RPMS, or even the original source code (.tar.gz or .tar.bz2), but again it's just a lot of hassle. You can search for the 4th CD on the web. Some people are kind enough to put them out on the web, although I'm not sure what Mandrake's position about that. :-)

In summary, both newbie and veterans should find this distro quite agreeable and enjoyable. Lots of improvement are due, though.

Wirawan
 
Old 09-24-2004, 05:54 PM   #21
h4x0r
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Mandrake / FreeBSD
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: urpmi is awsome, excellent hardware compatibility, easy to use, stable even on old equipment, works great with NTFS, easy to remove software you install, quick response times on vulnerabilities
Cons: AMD64 products are lacking (or maybe just expensive, I haven't purchased ANY linux software)


I run Mandrake 10 official on my workstation at work, on my email/web/FTP/Samba/MySQL and they both run great. Rebooted the the server 3 times in 3 months, and it is running a 450MHz Celeron w/ 192MB RAM and two 8.4GB hard drives. Default installs for most things work seemlessly straight off urpmi. I set up a cron job with a script I made from urpmi called webupdate which is

/usr/sbin/urpmi.update --wget -a
/usr/sbin/urpmi --wget --auto --auto-select

and it updates the server every night and emails me the output. Never a problem. I've tried Fedora Core 2, and it looks pretty, but it doesn't even see NTFS partitions, didn't work with my RAID controller, and ran slow. I started to install Gentoo, but I didn't want to wait 1 1/2 for it to finish compiling from source. I've tried slackware 10, and really they just seem to make it harder to use and update. FreeBSD and its ports just seem like too much work for the same result, a stable system. Only mandrake worked fast and well right out of the box. Production quality server running with 50 active user in about 5 hours! (and I'm not THAT great with *nix)
I've been a fan of Mandrake since 8, and they surprise me every release. I dual-boot my workstation with XP just incase I ever need windows XP, but I honestly have never booted it since the install. I can't wait till the 10.0 Official AMD64 is available for FREE.

Pros:
* urpmi is awsome (especially urpme)
* excellent hardware compatibility
* easy to install and use
* stable, even on old equipment
* works great with reading off NTFS partitions by default
* huge amount of RPMs, especially with plf and contrib sources
* easily installs, even without windows manager
* Quick response time for updates
* You can fix the bootloader from the installation CD

Cons:
* A bit behind in AMD64 support
* default GUI is KDE, which is a bit bloaded
 
Old 10-11-2004, 11:36 AM   #22
pbibb1657
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 official
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Installation was a breeze,KDE Is great
Cons: none that i can see,but Im a newb


Well
Heres my story :I have been a windows user since 1990 and my computer skills are at best low level newbie. I own a sony pcg-k13 and the hard drive died for some reason unknown to me.(Im still wondering what those very complicated blue error screens)After considering my options and how utterly unhappy I was with how windows xp handled the main task I had bought this computer for n(recording live music) and the amount of money I was spending on software to combat viruses and a multitude of other bad things that can happen to a windows machine. I decided to give LInux a try.
I bought a replacemnet hd and installed a copy of Mandrake 10.0 offical that I downloaded via a bit torrent,I cant really say to much about the intallation it took about 20 minutes and went perfectly when I was done I had a computer that worked as it should( Im not sure if Ive ever had a computer that worked as it should).
So with all this being said I would recomend Mandrake.
Now I begin the journey of leaarning as much as possible to make this machine even better. Im a happy guy with every thing Ive seen or learned about Linux.
Soon I will get windows off my desk top and I plan to make the trip to Redmond and throw all my windows related discs,floppies and books over the gate as I now believe that these things are not worth the space they would take up in a landfill.


Phillip
 
Old 10-17-2004, 03:54 AM   #23
60s TV Batman
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 60

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Worked out of the box (except for Internet)
Cons: Speedtouch USB + Mandrake = no Internet


I'd read that Linux installers like to munch Windows partitions, so I used Partition Expert (under Win XP) to partition my hard disk first. It created a Linux partition, preserved all my Windows data, and Mandrake then picked up and used the partition.

I'm running an Athlon 2800XP with 1GB RAM, 120 GB parallel ATA drive, Radeon 9200SE, Pioneer DVR-108 (dual DVD writer), and a 19" ADI P150. All these things worked on install.

Mandrake also picked up my Windows partitian, and I am able to copy files across from that to Mandrake (useful given problem below).

I've noticed no speed difference between Windows and Linux. The boot-up time is acceptable, especially after I disabled my on-board ethernet (which is unused).

Unfortunately, my Internet access is via a Speedtouch USB 330 ADSL modem (silver). If you have one of these and you're new to Linux, forget Mandrake 10.0 official. It will never work for you.

Yes, there are plenty of places to get support out there. And loads of "helpful" instructions on getting this modem up and running.

No, none of that support was any use at all. I've downloaded firmware, drivers, scripts, and instructions. I've implemented them on clean installs. I've wasted a lot of time.

The famed Linux support is no use to you in this patricular situation, because the required steps to get the modem up and running (assuming it's even possible) are too technical for someone new to the operating system.

What is needed, and what I can't find, is for some charitable soul to take on the project, explain each step in detail (including the Linux concepts such an expert takes for granted), and to diagnose any problems along the way.

It has to be this way, because the various downloads required to get all the software you need, mean you'll be switching back and forth between Windows and Linux. And its not going to work first time around. You'll be checking log files and .conf files, and whizzing around your system wondering why the heck you left Windows in the first place.

What you'll need is a Guru on call, and this level of commitment isn't forthcoming. I'm not attempting to criticize the Linux community here. I'm not surprized, because it's a big ask for some poor person to provide this level of support to a stranger.

If you need Internet access, and you have this modem, forget Mandrake.
 
Old 12-06-2004, 06:04 AM   #24
webgovernor
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04 LTS, Gentoo (various)
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: outta-box hardware support, user-friendly, stable.
Cons: doesn't allow login as root.


I love this distro, although I am a newb, and I've only tried,
RH9, Linspire4, SuSE 8.2...

Its the best version I've used so far, I was most impressed with the hard-ware support...

I wish firefox was in the install, and I'd like to login with root once in awhile (instead of su root kwrite ./)...

I'm still looking to try Mandrake 10.1 and FC3, but without the nvidia with FC3, i'd be lost!

Mandrake 10 kicks ass!
 
Old 12-21-2004, 03:56 PM   #25
yellowjelly
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: Great desktop
Cons: Hardware compatability


The install was intuitive and very easy.

I could not get 3 network cards working though witht the official downloaded distribution.

When it did work, I had no complaints.
 
Old 01-06-2005, 10:52 AM   #26
EdR
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: RHEL AS3, AS4 / Vector
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Safe for newbies,easy to install and configure
Cons: features that make it safe for newbies also make it hassle for experienced users


Good distro for beginners. 10.0 Official installed very clean. Nice red screen when you log in as root. In graphical mode it warns you that you can do bad things in graphical mode. In Failsafe, the screen is still red but I guess they figure no one would do a rm -rf * from a command line. (No, I did not do this:) ) The features that make it safe for newbies are more of a hassle for me. In the secure mode as a user I couldn't ls the directories without switching to root or changing my user group access. I have only had it installed for a day but If I was a newbie to *nix I would feel very comfortable with this distro.
 
Old 04-05-2005, 04:22 AM   #27
manhinli
 
Registered: Mar 2005
Distribution: What's the point of this? I keep on trying new distros...
Posts: 80

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Great installation, installation supports NTFS, great user interface.
Cons: Sometimes unstable, buggy.


This distro is one of the most user-friendly i've tried.

Although it's very easy, it is sometimes unstable. That's the only offset i've found.
 
Old 10-03-2005, 01:25 AM   #28
Trio3b
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: MDV 2008.1, PCLinuxOS,
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $10.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Installation, good package selection, good support, great hdwr detection
Cons: mediocre documentation, , Kfind, GUI network squirrelly


New to linux from years of Windows. Briefly setup FC2, but did not feel right. Slack feels very good but that will have to wait. Have not used earlier MDK versions.
Therefore, my experience with MDK 10 is relative to these products.

First the pro's

Installation was way easier than I expected and most of it is automated. User is asked very simple questions, which is good in a new situation. For new users, be aware that most distibutions do NOT load ALL of the software that they are packaged with.
For the new user, too many choices is not good. MDK loads a good selection of software and all the necessary service modules you might need.

OpenOffice
Web Browser and related web Services
Games
Networking services
CUPS and USB modules and services
KDE, Gnome, and other desktops ( too many in my opinion)
PDF readers
zip and unzip utilities
Multimedia software
Development packages

For me personally, I would load Koffice, K3B, and Mozilla, which is what I did AFTER the default installation.

Once loaded, most configuration can be done via GUI, and because Mandrake is a mainstream distibution, support is readily available either thru Mandrivaclub payed membership or free on many help forums such as LQ.

The menu layout is fairly recognizeable to anyone who is computer literate.

I loaded MDK 10.0 onto 5 different PC's all with differing hdwr, and MDK 10.0 located, and had drivers FOR EVERYTHING except for a Canon C555 multifunction printer and the PCI winmodem on one machine, but I knew this going in, having checked the HCL. The following is a list of varied hdwr that this distro supported right 'out of the box'.
Cmedia onboard (ob) sound
Intel (ob) video
SiS 325 (ob) video
Matrox G400 (ob) video
Samsung 2151 laser printer
Epson C82, CS 640, 880, printers
Microtek USB scanner
Jetway and Lexar USB pendrives
Canon C3000 multipass printer


Wxp, W2000, and Wme DID NOT have the drivers for HALF of this stuff


con's

Documentation has always been weak in the computer industry and Mandriva doesn't do much to change that problem. I found some of the Khelp documents not installed or missing completely even tho I checked the 'install docs' checkbox during install.


Networking thru the GUI seems squirrely and this is confirmed by other users' posts in help forums. Several of the networking utilities in the Mandrake Control Center seem to be laid out in such a way as to be either redundant or conflicting. For new users they are certainly not intuitive. I did have some problems with networking in that configuring things in the GUI sometimes would not accomplish a task, so you would have to intervene thru the command line. This can really screw up the network configuration and would be difficult for a newbie to figure out.

One other pet peeve of mine is the Kfind feature. There are myriad ways to find files and docs thru the CL, but I am more of a GUI person. I have never been able to get Kfind to work properly.

There are a few glitches here and there, but overall this is the perfect distro to be like a 'life-bouy' to keep you safe in a GUI environment while you check out configurability in the CL.

Kudos
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration