LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandrake 10.0 Official Download
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 86167 10-03-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers $8.00 8.4



Description: The Mandrake 10.0 "Official Download" version available as of May 25, 2004 from Mandrakelinux.com
Keywords: MDK 10


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-07-2004, 05:58 AM   #1
claudius753
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Mac OS X 10.6.4 "Snow Leopard", Win 7, Ubuntu 10.04
Posts: 322

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use, clean interface, more hardware supported out-of-box
Cons: Maybe too 'newbie-ized' for some, few quirks



Let me start out as stating that I have tried many distrobutions before Mandrake 10, including Mandrake 9.2, Slackware 9.1, Red Hat 8 & 9, and Fedora Core 1.

While I had nothing against these distrobutions, I still found myself returning to Windows for some things, and would end up staying in Windows so I didn't have to constantly reboot.

With Mandrake 10, I finally feel comfortable enough with it already to have not relied on windows at all for over a week now.

I find that Mandrake 10 is easier to use than any other distro I have tried so far, including Mandrake 9.2. The interface such as control center and the pakage managers are nice looking and everything seems tied together instead of everything looking disjointed and cobbled together.

More hardware is supported from the install, such as my ATI Radeon 8500 which was automatically setup with 3D acceleration. glxgears gives an average of 1475 fps.

While nice to anyone looking to get away from other OSes and get into Linux, for people well versed it may seem to give that helping hand more than they would like.

There are a few quirks, such as xmms not being installed by default. Also a few programs seem buggy on my machine such as the 'Find Files' program. Even though a few progams freeze, Mandrake handles it like a champ and allows you to close the program without the system halting.

I would reccomend Mandrake 10.0 to anyone who wants to start learning Linux, or any newbie who is getting frustrated with a different distrobution
 
Old 06-23-2004, 12:35 AM   #2
LinuxMyK
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Very Simple Installation, Stable, EVERYTHING WORKS!
Cons: feels a bit slower but not much


mandrake 10.0 official is a great distrobution free of download at the mandrake website, i would reccomend this distro to any newbie to linux and expirenced users its the first distro that my schroll works! ( no XF86config to edit!) nvidia drivers work great and its stable so i reccomed downloading it
 
Old 06-25-2004, 04:12 AM   #3
webwolf70
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Distribution: Windows XP. I gave up with Linux & I left LQ.
Posts: 502

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install. A good distro for both the experienced and inexperienced user. Recognizes a lot of hardware and has a lot of extras, not to mention, needed packages. And this is the free, download version.
Cons: They need to have XFce and Mozilla Firefox added.


I have been trying a lot of distros lately. Some have limited features for the free downloaded version. Not Mandrake. All you need is there and then some. It was easy to install, came with the stuff I needed for source, binary and RPM's. I had no problem with installing other software except for the normal dependicy problems, but even that seemed easier to deal with in Mandrake 10.0 Official then with other distros. It installs quickly, and caters to the advanced user and newbie alike. And again, this is what they give you in the free version. I can't wait to see what I get when I buy it next month.

I have a few favorite distros but Mandrake is my all time favorite.


Webwolf

 
Old 06-26-2004, 07:03 AM   #4
LinuxOnEarth
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: SuSE 9.2 & Windows 2000
Posts: 33

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easiest distro I've used, lots of Cool software
Cons: not enough installed at installation


in my life, ive used red hat 6.2,7,9 slackware 9.1 and mulinux and mandrake 10. im happy to say that mandrake is the easiest and most reliable of them all. Based on red hat, it gives you the easy package system of rpm. The only problem is that not enough is installed unless you pick practically everything. Still, I think its my perfect one. This is my 4th distro and I am very impressed. I still havent debian or suse but I aim to sometime
 
Old 06-30-2004, 01:18 AM   #5
Shantesh
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 5.10 | Windows XP Professional
Posts: 82

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: best distro for a newbie
Cons: they should add opera browser


Mandrake Linux is very easy to install and very much user-friendly amongst all linux systems
The best distro for a newbie i feel
Automounts drives and also the interface rocks
 
Old 07-02-2004, 07:38 AM   #6
Kadett
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Started on Red Hat 5.1 now on Mandrake 10.0
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Absolutely awesome, installation is flawless, great hardware support and manuals
Cons: None I can think of


I've dabbled with Linux on and off since RedHat 5.0 a long time ago. My first try of Mandrake 9.0 was good, but it still had some problems, but solutions were workable.

Mandrake 10.0 which I've spent the last week using is absolutely great, the installer is easily the best in the industry for the newbie. I think I can finally say bye-bye to Windows. Using Codeweavers Crossover for MS Office XP, I haven't needed to boot into Window$ all week , which has never happened before.

All in all this is great, both for relative Newbies like me and more experienced users. I think I'll definately be joining Mandrake Club.
 
Old 07-04-2004, 01:20 AM   #7
zarathustra674
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Mint KDE w/ a ton of PPA's and Repo's., Might be switching back to Mageia or PCLOS.
Posts: 98

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: Up to date apps, Easy to use, Quick Installation, MDK tools helpful for total newbs..
Cons: Things don't work as well as in say 9.2 or 9.1, or even 9.0


I'm downloading Nvidia's driver so I figured I'd do a review of mdk official. I'm really disappointed in this latest release from Mandrake. I've been a Mandrake fan for a few years(starting with 8.0), and this one disappoints me.

First off, some of the things I'm nitpicking are not necessarily mandrake's fault in one sense, but in another, they are.

1. For example, xmms doesn't work right out of the box. I know this has been beat into the ground, and I knew what to do immediately to fix it, but for a newb, this could be frustrating. This may be due to this particular release of xmms, or that it defaults to the oss driver, I don't know, but it could be frustrating for a new user. Either way mandrake could either use an older release or simply set it up so it works.

2. Since the release of 10.0, my logitech ps/2 mouse has been incorrectly detected and whenever i try to scroll pages, or use scroll bars, the page wiggles every which way. Again, this was solved by editing the XF86Config-4 file. No problem, but for a newb??

3. Still no 2.4 kernel source, self-explanatory.

4. I liked the mandrake tools better before they changed them from 9.1 to 9.2. I prefer LPRng and the tools make it hard to set this up as opposed to cups. I haven't even been able to select LPRng from printerdrake now. This SUCKS. WHEN SOMETHING WORKS, DON'T SCREW WITH IT.

Well people, my Nvidia drivers have finished downloading, I can't think of any more negatives to add. So on to the positive.

This version is somewhat up to date and Mandrake has taken the initative(sp?) to provide updates for kde 3.2.3 this is cool. Guess since texstar has is doing pclos now, they've decided to do it. Who knows. Most everything else i've tried works, my rear speakers are turned on by default now which is cool. And even, with the quirks I have this distro is still easier to set up than say slackware where I have to edit the XF86Config anyway. However, I have yet to try slack 10, and probably will as soon as I can get to my local community college to download it(There's 56k in these here hills). I haven't tried Fedora Core 2, or the newest SUSE, and I'm not hardcore enough to try Gentoo.

Two other things that are huge pluses for MDK are the Penguin Liberation Front and Contrib. With these two sources and Urpmi, you are almost guaranteed to find anything you need package wise. This is probably the single most reason I use mandrake the most. There exists repositories for other distro's however.

Well people, I have rambled enough, and I hope this has been an objective review. For a total newb who wants a taste Id suggest 9.1 or 9.2. For somewhat experienced desktop users like myself this distro may suit you fine.

I wish there was a rating scale instead of yes or no for the "Would you recommend this product?" question. If so Id say maybe or it depends, and give it a 7 out of 10.
 
Old 07-11-2004, 06:53 PM   #8
marcusfallon
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: mandrake
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: great graphics, stability, versatility
Cons: a few bugs


Well I have to admit that I am a complete and utter Mandrake fan. I have tried Redhat, Debian and Suse as well but have always stuck with Mandrake (over 3 years now). My wife hasn't used M$ for over two years now and I have only installed Mandrake on my new laptop. In fact of the four computers at home one is a Mac and the others run on Mandrake. I recently built a Usb external DVD burner and works perfectly both on data DVD and copying DVD. In other words you can do all you want with this distro and wave goodbye to Redmond. Also have two servers running in office without a reboot in months. Give it a spin you won't be disappointed.
 
Old 07-21-2004, 12:06 PM   #9
furfurdemon666
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 171

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy for newbies
Cons: Issues with Hauppauge Win-TV Go PCI cards (configuration) and Nvidia drivers - which can frustrate newbies


I did a hard drive install of Mandrake 10 Official from the official mirrors listed on Mandrake's official homepage about a month or so before the ISOs were available, so I've been using it a little longer than most who downloaded this distro/version for free.

For the most part, I've had a lot of fun using Mandrake 10 Official with kernel 2.6.3 and would recommend this distro/version to anyone looking for a fun and easy to use distro. I would especially recommend it to those looking to switch from Windows to Linux.

However, that said, here are some of the issues I've experienced:

Doesn't easily auto-config Hauppauge Win-TV Go PCI cards in default install. I tried installing several different programs and trying several different configurations and there would always be a problem. In the Mandrake Control Center I managed to get the tv tuner card working but of course when I rebooted my nvidia drivers gave me an error and I couldn't get back into KDE.

If you have another type of tv tuner card you may be fine, I don't know, but if you have what I have please know what you're getting into before you install Mandrake 10 Official and find a solution to this especially if you're using the tv tuner card with an nvidia graphics card. Others have encountered this same problem. It's strange because my tv tuner and nvidia card worked flawlessly together in Mandrake 9.2 but I was using kernel 2.4 so that's probably why.. I would guess.

My nvidia card works great when I don't go messing with the tv tuner card to get it to work, so there's no issues there.

USB thumb drives/key chain drives/pen drives/whatever you wish to call them work great but I've only tried one plugged in at a time.

For some odd reason I've noticed KDE hogging the cpu and accessing the disk quite often in Mandrake 10 Official when no other programs were running. This seems to be a KDE issue though as I've found others using other distros saying the same thing now and then on different websites. I recommend using Fluxbox anyway with Mandrake 10 Official as I don't see these run away cpu disk access issues when running Fluxbox (or other window managers for that matter)

Newbies should get to know Easy Urpmi and using urpmi from the command line to maximize use/fun.

Other than the issues above, I've found Mandrake 10 Official fun for both work and play. Check it out today! :)

Edit: I gave Mandrake 10 Official an 8 out of 10 rating because I feel there is a lot of room for improvement. :)
 
Old 07-26-2004, 06:23 PM   #10
Boffy
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 8.04
Posts: 419

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, Quicker than 9.2, looks nicer than 9.2, URPMI has more packages
Cons: Upgrade install takes a long time (1 hr)


Where to begin.

I initially installed mandrake 10 as an upgrade to 9.2. The install took about an hour with seemed quite a long time given 9.2 was installed in around 20 minutes. Anyway I installed it but immediately started having problems. So I decided a fresh install was needed, so I backed up my files and re-installed. Man am I glad I did.

The clean install only took 15 minutes and everything worked fine first time. All the minor niggles could be solved quickly using the package install software which I a great feature. It has been well refined since 9.2 and now works quickly and smoothly. Installing programs that were tricky before is now a seamless process. This is helped in no small part to a greater selection of RPM's accessible.

KDE 3.2 looks nicer and is easier to configure than ever. I don't use gnome but I installed it anyway and it too looks very nice.

I was disappointed that the gnome display manager was not installed by default as it looks nicer and loads quicker but a simple install was all it took to add it.

The boot time of the new version has been reduced. I'm not sure how the people at Mandrakesoft did it, but they have made a better and bigger system load faster than ever. When running the OS is very stable and quick.

Overall I must congratulate Mandrakesoft on creating such a great system. I recommend any newbie or expert Linux user to try it, I defy them not to like it.
 
Old 08-02-2004, 08:33 PM   #11
Dreamcast
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 51

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $6.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install, plenty of applications (3CDs), easy to add/remove software
Cons: some other distributions have more applications


Mandrake 10.0 has nearly every software application that a typical user would ever need. Installing new software is as easy as placing a check mark in the box next to the application in the software package list.

Overall, Mandrake 10.0 is less complicated than Windows 98. The distribution is very intuitive. An experienced Microsoft windows user will immediately feel comfortable with Mandrake.

My only gripe is that it does not have as many applications as Suse Professional (5CDs). The extra software applications are not necessary. Still, having a few extra applications would be cool.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

On 09-20-04, I purchased Mandrake Discovery for $35. This was an excellent investment. Discovery is even easier to install and use than the Download version. In addition, Discovery includes proprietary video drivers, flash and Java.

I was not impressed with Mandrake Club, and Mandrake Expert. These services are available for free elsewhere on the internet. Most notably, LinuxQuestions is far superior to Mandrake Expert.

Finally, I feel much better now that I have "purchased" a copy of Linux.
 
Old 08-03-2004, 08:17 PM   #12
Inexactitude
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Slackware 12.2, Ubuntu 9.04
Posts: 477

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: None, I haven't been able to run the OS for more than 5 minutes due to freezing
Cons: Audigy 2 doesn't work upon installation, couldn't get via-rhine nic working, Constant freezing, install program Freezes


Mandrake 10 community download went absolutely horribly for me. I will start off by saying that I am a long time Mandrake user, and use still use other versions of Mandrake.

The first thing that went wrong for me with Mandrake 10 was the install. When I attempted to configure my ethernet card during the install, the installation program froze. It was at the end of the install, so I figured the machine was usable and that I could fix the nic later.

I boot up and sure enough it fails to initialize eth0. I also see that my audio card isn't working. Well, no big deal, I could fix that right? No.

As soon as I open up Harddrake2, the computer freezes. It is totally unresponsive. This takes me a little by suprise (this was the first time a linux machine fully froze on me). At this point there wasn't much I could do, so I was forced to give up on Mandrake.

I use Mandrake 10 RC1 without a problem, so I'm a little suprised that I had so many troubles with this release.
 
Old 08-12-2004, 12:36 AM   #13
PDR60
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian, Kubuntu
Posts: 257

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to use, Very complete, versitile for server loads
Cons: Really can't think of any


What can I say, I have a site dedicated to the use of Mandrake. www.linuxloader.com is running on it and is very stable. I also use it for my desktop and daily use. I am Windows free as of 2 years ago.
I tried many Distro's but Mandrake is My distro. I hear allot of users say it's for newb's but I beg to differ. It makes a very good server. Just check out the site. Mandrake has had their growing pains but those are all history and the Distro is getting better with each release.

The Install process is very simple and the hardware support is excellent. Speed is comparable to other distros and its completeness pushes it out ahead of the others. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in a very good Linux product.

PDR60
 
Old 08-20-2004, 04:45 AM   #14
yuar
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mandrake 10
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install and also fast
Cons: Hard to configure games to run full screen


It's easy to install and doesn't quack about your hardware but what it does is something more useful to the end-user: actually makes you productive.
I can't play tuxracer in full screen though without having my screen split into 4 to 5 stripes and I have to log back out and in to set things right and I can't still play games in full screen mode.
 
Old 08-25-2004, 03:54 PM   #15
ADS
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Easy
Cons: Somewhat unstable, slow


Good for beginners looking to learn about Linux, but isn't stable or bugfree enough for longterm use.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration