LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 12.04.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 9606 07-16-2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
60% of reviewers $50.00 7.3



Description: "The Ubuntu team is very pleased to announce the release of Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS (Long-Term Support) for desktop, server, cloud and core products. The Ubuntu LTS flavors are also being released today. In the 12.04.1 release, we've added support for the Calxeda ECX-1000 SoC family, so businesses can prepare for a data centre dominated by low-energy, hyperscale servers by testing their workloads on the new hardware now. The Ubuntu Cloud archive also makes its début."
Keywords: Debian-based LTS Calxeda Cloud-archive-debut


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-16-2012, 05:35 PM   #1
r37u2a49ci
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: Kubunto-Ubunto 64
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Gets the job done!
Cons:



No problems with the distro!
 
Old 09-18-2012, 12:55 PM   #2
fkremer
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Fast
Cons: USB problems


No reconoce algunos dispositivos USB
 
Old 11-04-2012, 09:11 PM   #3
hlb244
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: It's faster than win7
Cons: it will not dual boot on some amd64 systems and the unity desktop,


on boot: bios screen shows, then goes blank and display does not return until after ubuntu has booted. By contrast, 10.4 installed easily with no problems at all. I hate to see it go as it ran well with little trouble. Canonical might have left the desktop distro alone and made a special version for tablets and their unique requirements. Personally I do not care for the unity desktop at all,
 
Old 12-02-2012, 08:21 AM   #4
addux
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04, Debian Squeeze, Windows 7
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Bleeding Edge, debian based
Cons: needs some refinement, those that are related to all *nix distros


I think this is a great release from Ubuntu. Like Unity or not, if you let it be and just use it, it's not bad. Purists may laugh at that notion, and debian feels snappier when I use it, but that doesn't mean this is a complete miss.
Some things that stand out that I like:
-indexed file searching from the start menu! It's fast and reliable as it should be..
-all the actions/programs seem very refined and uniform(visually), which is actually a big step forward for *nix distros if you ask me
-ease of use, my wife uses fairly painlessly and seems to like it
-bleeding edge of linux as always from debian/ubuntu
-personally unity has grown on me, so I'll say it's a plus here
- better support for 32 bit software on a 64 bit system

that I don't like:
-Most fall into the category of problems with linux as a whole
-in favor of 32 bit binaries, they seem to be shying away from the other platforms that debian has infamously been ported to(read not enough time/resources).
-there is some serious lag for full industry standard hardware support such as usb 3.0, mtpfs (newer android phones use this protocol) and others. USB 3.0 tranfer speeds using Ubuntu can be freakishly slow, when compared to windows and even it's debian counterpart.
-the lack of choice that Ubuntu has. They obfuscate the visual choices and even the security choices more with each new release (see: Unitiy, sudo). This is good and bad in reality, good for end user ease of use, bad for choice.

Over all I would recommened this to a person that wants to move to linux, or just try it. It is the easiest and best all around distro to date. Linux purists probably will stay away.
 
Old 07-16-2013, 09:24 AM   #5
gizzenbriggs
 
Registered: May 2013
Distribution: opensuse, debian, ubuntu
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Faster to start up and faster to execute than Win7
Cons: Problems with sound and scanner drivers


Ubuntu 12.04 has been my best introduction to Linux. I have tried others including Suse and Mint, but as an inexperienced Linux user, I have had problems with establishing wireless connection to my hub. Ubuntu wireless worked immediately. Even connecting to a wireless printer was easy. I am having some problems connecting to a scanner, and sound does not work at present but I look on these as interesting challenges. The Unity interface looks a bit "Mickey Mouse" but may look more professional with a hi-res monitor. However, the more I use it, the more I approve of Unity, it is fast and efficient.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration