LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > KNOPPIX
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Knoppix 3.4
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 30140 10-25-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.1



Description: The new KNOPPIX with the 2.6.6 kernel.
Keywords: knoppix CD portable operating system


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-27-2004, 02:57 PM   #1
donni
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux Sid
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: uses Linux 2.6, portable
Cons: too big for 650MB CDs, 2.6 kernel unstable



Good, as usual, but the 2.6 kernel wouldn't use my ImPS/2 mouse (I use a USB > PS/2 adaptor, but I don't think it should affect it). I think this is a problem with all 2.6 kernels, but I don't know, I might be misguided.
 
Old 06-04-2004, 05:29 PM   #2
oxidized
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 21

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: live cd, lots of software available, great hardware detection
Cons: initial desktop picture, initial display problem


I've downloaded a copy of Knoppix 3.4 and as a linux n00b, I was very impressed with it.

Upon booting, I'm greeted with a nice boot screen which gives me boot options. Default boots into Linux Kernal 2.4 kernal. Using switches at the boot screen, you can boot into the "Experimental" 2.6.6 kernal.

At first, just pressing enter at the boot screen. Knoppix detected all my hardware without a hitch (even my AWE64 sound card which Mandrake cannot detect). However, when KDE is supposed to load, my CRT monitor goes blank. I've heard a logon sound.

Second try, I've inserted a "framebuffer" switch (for laptops). I've took a chance since my display didn't show when KDE was supposed to load. Nice, same procedure as above and this time, I can even see KDE! It loaded, but with this kinda ugly desktop picture. I can only read English and Korean language and have no clue on reading the German language. With all that text, I switched to a different picture

I was amazed at the software selection. I've tried out most of the programs featured. More than enough programs for me.

Knoppix is a great live-cd distro. I wish it can start KDE using a display method that will run on most computers (e.g.: framebuffer mode) by default. My test computer is not the best computer with the latest hardware.
-
Athlon 700mhz/Ati Xpert 2000/Sound Blaster Live/USB optical scroll mouse/Generic Keyboard and a Realtek chip network card.
 
Old 06-29-2004, 02:28 PM   #3
ionmich
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: SUSE 10.3, Microware OS-9, Caldera 2.4
Posts: 223

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Worked perfectly first time
Cons: Hard to save to hard drive


Booted on two different friends' machines. Recognized all hardware. Connected to ADSL in two different countries. If you travel take it with you.
 
Old 07-01-2004, 02:29 PM   #4
Flying2Eagles
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: Red hat 9.0/Knoppix
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very well designed
Cons: no choice to turn on/off voice intro. after KDE starts


I have used Knoppix from versions 3.2 to 3.4.
Since I have a slow system, (Amd k62-550Mhz)
Knoppix seems to work very well with it.
I don't know of any linux distros that work if you have a sound chip only.

Knoppix recognizes most devices flawlessly.

One suggestion: if you don't like the loud intro, start Knoppix in runlevel 2, IE, knoppix 2.
Now, type aumix to adjust the volume. It will be at app ~97%. Use the left cursor arrow to
bring the volume down to your liking.

Finally issue the start command to launch into the KDE screen:
./etc/init.d/xsession start.
Now when Knoppix starts, you won't be blasted out of your seat :))

Overall, there are more programs than I know what to do with! -- Almost 2 Gigs of progs.
That's more than what I have seen on other 1 CD distros.
 
Old 07-14-2004, 07:55 AM   #5
aiiiq
 
Registered: May 2004
Distribution: Knoppix
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Good luck to Knoppix!
Cons:


In knoppix3.4 KWrite seemed more powerful.

I us the following command install it on my hd:
sudo knx2hd

Knoppix give a visual install way on KDE, so it's very easy. You can setup you partiation there. It looks like pqmagic:)

To backup knoppix type this:
partimage
It works like ghost.

 
Old 08-01-2004, 04:50 PM   #6
vladuna
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: RESCUE CD
Cons: Saving configuration


Very good distribution. I use KNOPPIX as a rescue CD. I have 8 OS on a single hard. And sometimes MBR "gone bad". The only problem is saving configuration. I made a new ext2 partition for saving configuration and I did not suscceed to force the KNOPPIX to load this configuration and to save data in this partition. Otherwise, I can recommand this distribution to everybody, especially as a RESCUE CD!
 
Old 10-25-2004, 05:22 AM   #7
insainiac
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Great Hardware detections etc..., Faster than XP even though it is a live CD
Cons: Doesn't accept USB wireless cards, I have to skip SCSI detection on startup


It is a great piece of kit. I have got several live CDs and I like none better than Knoppix. It is surprisingly fast, Faster than my M$ XP starup even though it is a live CD!
Only two faults - it won't dectect my Linksys Wireless USB network adaptor and to make it work i have to do an expert setup and skip scsi detection to make it work.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration