LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 17
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 17457 12-29-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers None indicated 7.4



Description: "The 'Beefy Miracle' hath arrived. We believe this is the beefiest release ever - chock full of features to customize your experience to your tastes. On the desktop, GNOME 3.4 introduces new search capabilities in the activities overview, improved themes, and enhancements to the Documents and Contacts applications. A new application, GNOME-boxes, provides easy access to virtual machines. Additionally, GIMP 2.8 brings new improvements, such as single-window mode, layer groups, and on-canvas editing."
Keywords: Redhat-based Beefy-Miracle GNOME KDE


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-02-2012, 04:00 AM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,132

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros:
Cons: Poor multi-media support



The standard DVD installer (which is not live) offers lots of options and will upgrade version 16. Its 64-bit version is suitable for UEFI as well as BIOS. There are also CDs for Gnome, Xfce, LXDE, and KDE. The web-site has a detailed installation guide, with advice on topics like partitioning or installing from alternative media.

I decided to try both the Gnome and Xfce CDs. I couldn’t find a checksum for the Xfce one, but Fedora disks will validate themselves (choose the “troubleshooting” option at bootup). Encryption is only available installation if /home is on a separate partition. The filing system must be ext4, as installation is by copying the live image: if you want anything fancy, you need the DVD. As usual, user creation was after re-booting. Unfortunately, when I clicked on “advanced” to see if that gave me the chance of encryption (it didn’t), closing the advanced options window crashed first-boot. I had to go to a virtual terminal, log in as root, and manually create a user account.

In the Xfce version, only a few programs are provided — Abiword, Gnumeric, both Firefox and Midori, Pidgin, Claws mail, and Parole — but all ran from the CLI without bug reports. Surprisingly, the Gnome version had even less — Firefox, Evolution, Empathy, Totem, Rhythmbox, and Shotwell — and I got warnings from Firefox, Evolution, and Empathy. The Gnome version had a tool to select my USB speakers, but with Xfce I couldn’t find any way to enable them.

With Fedora, one has to install media codecs from the RPM Fusion repository, a fact not mentioned on the Fedora web-site. The results were disappointing for both versions. In Xfce, Parole failed with “could not initialise Xv output”. In Gnome, Totem was jumpy. I tried installing Gnome-mplayer, only to find that it ran in slow motion. I then tried Gxine, which uses a different backend, and that worked. At least Pragha and Rhythmbox played mp3s and the Gnash plug-in worked with YouTube.

Fedora’s not as good as it was, but it’s still a reliable distro (if you ignore the video problems). It’s still the best choice if you like Gnome. But it’s best to take the time and get the DVD version with its extra software.
 
Old 07-31-2012, 03:44 PM   #2
Lsatenstein
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Fedora Core 6 XEN
Posts: 196

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Use Gnome for Software updating then revert to xfce
Cons: Not Gnome2, too many mouse clicks to switch desktops


The frustration in having to slide from the left side of the monitor screen to the right, to choose a software as and is stupid design decision.

Gnome3 will have troubles in Fedora18 when the Linux Mint Mate interface arrives. The panel below and ability to switch desktops with one mouseclick defeats getting carpal tunnel problems from excessive mouse button use.

I prefer Fedora over Ubuntu. My ration is 55 to 45.
 
Old 09-18-2012, 09:34 AM   #3
CustomDesigned
 
Registered: Sep 2011
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Uptodate software from upstream
Cons: video drivers broken for some machines (that worked in F16)


@Lsatenstein, there is no need to use the mouse to toggle overview mode (to launch applications). By default, the left Windows key toggles overview. Customize keyboard shortcuts to choose another key (or enable that one if a leftover config is overriding the default).

Also, F17 offers cinnamon, which gives you traditional panel based application selection, but is otherwise based on the same window management libraries (including the overview - although it is no longer used to launch apps). Just install cinnamon and select as your desktop at login.
 
Old 10-16-2012, 08:40 AM   #4
tnandy
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Fedora 14, CentOS 5
Posts: 125

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: ummm....
Cons: can't move taskbar, can't edit grub.conf, don't like "activities"


I've been a Red Hat and Fedora user since Red Hat 9. I can't begin to tell you how much I hate the changes in Fedora since and including Fedora 15. I just loaded Fedora 17 yesterday, but I've already decided to either backtrack to Fedora 14 or pick another distro entirely.

1) I like my taskbar to be at the bottom. In earlier versions, it was a simple matter to move and customize it. From what I've read, Gnome 3 has destroyed any and all user-friendly customization. WHY?!?

2) I set up my computers to dual-boot Linux and Windows. I'd love nothing better than to dump Windows entirely, but there are several commercial games I want to install, and it's either boot to Windows or don't play them. In Fedora 14, it was a simple matter to edit /etc/grub.conf so the menu gave me exactly what I wanted. Grub2 prevents direct editing, and substitutes a needlessly complicated configuration generator program. If there were a GUI for the grub config file, that would be great, but I'm stuck with this command-line junk that's going to take me a week to figure out. WHY?!?

3) What was so wrong with "Applications, Places, System" on the task bar? When I click "Activities", now I get a screen full of huge icons instead of a neat list of options. I suspect this is another Gnome 3 user-unfriendly "feature".

My initial impression of Fedora 17 is: "FAIL!"
 
Old 12-04-2012, 07:54 PM   #5
westzilla
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: solid community support many apps and 100 percent free software
Cons: buggy installer


yes media codecs are not free hence why they need to be installed. With proper configuration after installation fedora is a well maintained distribution with a wide range of community based support options.
 
Old 12-08-2012, 06:58 AM   #6
Air-Global
 
Registered: Dec 2012
Distribution: Fedora 18 & CentOS 6.3
Posts: 59

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Perfect Gnome 3.x implementation
Cons: RPM Fusion needed for normal use


Now, ive been with Fedora since Fedora Core 4. Have tried many other distro's since then but always popped back to Fedora.

Hardware support is great and security updates dont take 2 weeks to arive.
Only Graphics Drivers (and then esp for AMD/ATI) take ages to work correctly.

Note on Gnome 3.
lots of people think its not as customizeable as Gnome 2, KDE or any other for that matter. Look into the extensions, easy to install and they give the possibility to hide the 'favorites' bar for example. (or write some extensions yourself)
And do install gnome-tweak. Lets you customize that extra bit.
 
Old 12-18-2012, 05:31 PM   #7
frankzen
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Debian - Fedora -
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Bleeding edge
Cons: Breaks every once in a while


I'd compare Fedora with Debian Unstable. I suspect unstable has a few more apps available...but by and large they are like the two sides of a coin.
 
Old 12-19-2012, 07:23 PM   #8
moises
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 36

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use, lots of software available,
Cons: not all needed software available out of box


I have used F17 for a while. I liked Gnome back when it was 2.0. Installed KDE, and ran it for a while, but never really liked it. It looks so much like Windows and kind of bloated to me. Was looking at replacing Fedora with Linux Mint, but was affraid it would not run in my box. Looked up how to install Cinnamon and could have not been easier. It is my new desktop/windows manager, is Gnome 2 updated to today. Until this morning I was dual booting F17 with Windows 7, but since I kept getting BSOD more often than none (#1 reason I started dual booting) when I booted into Windows I began researching how to do the things I kept Windows for. And honestly I don't need windows. My droid is rooted and set up how I like. I found out I can connect my iPod without using Wine. And since LinuxQuestions and Google are around for the long haul, I'll be researching anything else I might need.
 
Old 12-29-2012, 01:07 AM   #9
Ztcoracat
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware, CentOS & Android
Posts: 3,200

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Cutting edge XFCE Desktop Environment
Cons: Re-installation every 3 to 6 months


Fedora 17 is exceptionally stable and very cutting edge.

This distribution did not come with Flash nor Adobe so it will have to be obtained and installed. It also did not come with VLC 2.0.4 and rpmfusion is needed for VLC to work properly.

The current version of the kernel is 3.6.10-2.

This operating system runs amazingly well on a laptop of this architecture (Intel dual core AMD64 bit system) and the graphics are as clear as crystal.

The Fedora Documentation is comprehensive and reasonably understandable.
Support is at www.fedoraproject.org
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration