LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

FreeBSD 5.2.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 32686 12-20-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers None indicated 8.9



Description: This is FreeBSD version 5.2.1.

FreeBSD is an advanced operating system for x86 compatible, AMD64, Alpha, IA-64, PC-98 and UltraSPARC® architectures. It is derived from BSD, the version of UNIX® developed at the University of California, Berkeley. It is developed and maintained by a large team of individuals. Additional platforms are in various stages of development.

www.freebsd.org
Keywords: FreeBSD, BSD, Unix, 5.2.1


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-26-2004, 11:59 PM   #1
Dirty_Ink
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 243

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Great and Stable OS, Quick and Responsive
Cons: Using Diff. Comands get some getting used too.



I'm pretty new to Linux and Unix in general, so when I came accross a LiveCD for FreeBSD 5.x I had to try it out. The Desktop uses the most current KDE 3.2. The commads take a little getting used to, but I would recomend this to anyone that has a firm grip on Linux.

http://www.livebsd.com/
 
Old 06-10-2004, 10:24 AM   #2
frob23
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu, FreeBSD, NetBSD
Posts: 1,449

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent system almost flawless.
Cons: B+W xdm login, new boot process.


I have been using FreeBSD for a long time. I was content with my STABLE box so I didn't consider downloading the 5.x series right away. But I suddenly found myself with a spare computer and decided to throw 5.2.1 on it.

I had very few problems. One I expected. Because of something with gcc, the xdm login screen is black and white. It looks a little drab but it isn't like I stare at that all day anyway. Once you log in everything is color. I think there is a fix for this but I have never been bothered enough to look.

The new computer I got had problems when ACPI is enabled. One thing I didn't like was the new bootloader would load ACPI on the default boot. I had to be there to disable it. I eventually found the switch to turn it off.

Those were my only problems with this system. After a few weeks playing with it on that computer I decided to upgrade my main box. That went flawlessly (this box has no problems with ACPI). It still have the b+w login screen but I don't think I am motivated enough to fix it.

Once I installed the nvidia drivers for my card, X came up and ran wonderfully.

I can't wait till 5.3 comes out and they create the STABLE branch for this series.
 
Old 06-10-2004, 03:51 PM   #3
KneeLess
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux 3.0 Sid, OpenBSD 3.5
Posts: 190

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 5

Pros: BSD, lots of ports, large community, nice install
Cons: Many many problems


I tried. I first downloaded the cd, which didn't boot on my old pentium. That's okay, I'll try the mini-inst. Also a failure. I then dded the floppies needed and installed it via ftp. Got it installed. Then I had _numerous_ and unique problems which could not be explained by people. I must have installed it five times just trying to get it to work right, to no avail. The install was nice though.

I shouldn't really say this is a bad product, because it obviously works for many people. The only reason I could see someone using this over another BSD would be KDE (which I think you should be using linux for anyway). I've never had any problems with openbsd.
 
Old 09-01-2004, 01:59 AM   #4
sether
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 695

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: extremely stable, fun to play around with
Cons: not for newbies


This is one of the greatest operating systems I've ever tried. I did, however, have problems setting up an internet connection, and numerous other problems with hardware (that are fixable, but you sure as hell've gotta know what you're doing). *BSD is used on servers because it pretty much never crashes, so why not run it for your own personal use? If you're not extremely comfortable with UNIX/Linux, then you might not want to mess around with FreeBSD. But other than that, it's great.

I am a Linux user at heart, and I still haven't managed to convert completely to FreeBSD, but non-newbie Linux users should definitely give FreeBSD a try.
 
Old 10-04-2004, 06:59 PM   #5
TomCollins
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Slackware 10
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Super Fast (stable for me never crashed) Nice Ports system!!!
Cons: Start x issues, Takes just a little getting used too.


I defenently give this one a 10.. I enjoyed FreeBSD so much.. After you get threw the minor hassles of installing it its wonderfull!
I still do not have any problem with this os, it is one of my favorites.

I did have issues installing it at first cuz i was attempting to do it on a spair drive of mine, that i found out was going dead.. But once I tryed the install on a good hard drive it worked great.. My only real greif i got was with X, I had to do a few re installs befor i got x to work corectly.. That and it would be nice to have some eye candy during install but im not gonna complain about that because i just click install and walk away for a while any way..

I suggest this to any one at all... Newb threw Pro, for the newbie out there you get to use a stable os and get the ports system that will install pritty much anything for you! for the Pro u get the stable os youve allways dreamed of building and you get to keep the custimizations that most pros love from slackware.. Pritty much full and total control of how your system looks feels and works!
 
Old 11-14-2004, 06:44 PM   #6
green_squirrel
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: fc3
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: fast, flexable, lots of support. Installs and runs from anything.
Cons: Not mobile


Of the UNIX type systems that I have tried, FreeBSD v5.2.1 is my favorite. I like it better then v5.3, which has recently come out. I installed this from a SCSI CD-ROM onto my laptop connected by a USB2 PCMCIA card. Something that none of the Linux distros seem to be able to do.

This system requires lots of study to be able to use. It is a hobbiest dream system, as well as a very good corporate or industrial system. It is also a highly secure system.

You can download the documentation and print it out. The main document is over 900 pages long. There are additinal documents of almost equal length. This system is well documented. (Get version 5.2.1)

It normally runs as a line command system. But one of several graphical desktop systems can be installed. Most of the problems that people run into while setting up the system are related to setting up these graphical desktop envirnments. Gnome and KDE are amoung several of them which are available on the CDs. After the system is setup, it runs well and the graphical desktops have a FreeBSD flavor.

This system has one flaw. It is not mobile!
I travel all of the time and hook into lots of ISPs by WiFi card. One of the requirements of the FreeBSD systems is a stable Internet address. Mine is constantly changing. FreeBSD simply does not work for me. If I was using my computer from a single location, or with a single ISP, this system would work great!

It would work for 99% of the users out there who wants to learn about it.
 
Old 12-20-2004, 02:08 PM   #7
fasmaie
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10.0, ArchLinux, FreeBSD 5.3
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: hardware support, ease of interface, stability
Cons: none that I can find


I've been in search of a stable, light OS for a while now. I have an IBM ThinkPad 600X, and have used Linux as my main operating system.
Slackware linux was perhaps the best linux flavour I had used, then I tried Arch and liked that too, especially the package handling.
I'd used the FreeBSD 4.x series on and off, and liked it, but never found it all that comfortable, and so changed back over to Linux.
Then they released 5.2.1, and I tried it.
I have no problems with command line installation and setup, so this version of FreeBSD was comfortable for me.
What I have been really impressed with is the hardware support here...everything in my ThinkPad worked out of the box. It even had no problems with my wireless internet card.
Compiling Firefox with Java capabilities took a while, but was well documented.
Package management is easy, as has been described by other reviewers.
Anyway, for anyone wanting to give FreeBSD a shot, my advice is to try it.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration