LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 12
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 15773 04-23-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.2



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 12 'Lisa'. Linux Mint 12 comes with a brand new desktop, built with GNOME 3 and MGSE (Mint GNOME Shell Extensions), a desktop layer on top of GNOME 3 that makes it possible for you to use GNOME 3 in a traditional way. You can disable all components within MGSE to get a pure GNOME 3 experience, or you can enable all of them to get a GNOME 3 desktop that is similar to what you've been using before. Of course you can also pick and only enable the components you like to design your own desktop. The main features in MGSE are: the bottom panel, the application menu, the window list, a task-centric desktop (i.e. you switch between windows, not applications), visible system tray icons. MGSE also includes additional extensions such as a media player indicator, and multiple enhancements to GNOME 3."
Keywords: Ubuntu-based Lisa MGSE


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-28-2011, 12:41 PM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,942

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, high quality, choice of Gnome or Mate
Cons: None



As usual, Mint installed from the live session with no complications or problems. One oddity was the absence of a splash screen during the boot: looking at a black screen, I was wondering what was wrong. It’s not much different if you configure Grub to give messages, since Upstart doesn’t have much to say for itself. All the programs worked well. You get 3 video players, with pre-installed codecs, and 2 actually gave perfect results with my ‘mp4 from hell’, specially kept to tax players to the limit.

The big changes are Gnome 3 and Mate (the Gnome 2 fork). The Gnome Shell has been provided with a compatibility layer developed by Mint (MGSE) to make it more like Gnome 2. I couldn’t test that, as I only get the fall-back version of Gnome 3.

I did test Mate: to select your GUI, click on the little gearwheel on the log-in screeen. Mate is still very much beta software, and the configuration tools are a little temperamental, but it is usable. Nautilus is renamed Caja and Metacity, Marco. CPU usage was 100% but there is a fix for that: switch the theme to carbon or mint-z-mate; log out and use Gnome to delete all of ~/mate* and ~/.config/mate-session; log out and return to Mate.

Another change is that the default search engine is Duck Duck Go. That doesn’t track its users (and so doesn’t show different results for different people) and is built on, and contributes to, FLOSS.
 
Old 01-18-2012, 04:59 AM   #2
iyervenki
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: intutive, easy to install, configurable, stable and fast
Cons: external monitors / Dual monitors not properly detected


I am using Mint release 12 64 bit with no problems whatsoever, everything worked out of the box.

Cheers
 
Old 03-22-2012, 08:29 AM   #3
Master_CAPS
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Distribution: Yes.
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Sexy, easy, detects almost everything, use laptop as a hotspot......
Cons: becuase of new gnome3 some old apps dont work (compiz)... and the occasional freeze with the gui (have ssh ready to turn it off)


using it on 64bit, I deleted ubuntu 11 as soon as mint12 came out, and glad I did.
 
Old 03-23-2012, 12:58 PM   #4
gael33
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit
Posts: 223

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable and dependable ... Does exactly what it should.
Cons: I haven't found any!


I use Mint 12 (Lisa) 32 bit.
I moved from Ubuntu after it moved from Gnome. Don't misunderstand, I think Ubuntu is still a great operating system and I have only good to say about it. Having said that, Mint 12 has Gnome 3, is reliable and user friendly. I will be sticking with Mint for the foreseeable future.
 
Old 04-23-2012, 03:16 AM   #5
phildistro
 
Registered: Jan 2012
Posts: 20

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Ease of Installation, excellent selection of bundled applications
Cons: none


Was using Ubuntu on a dual boot system with Windows 7 64 bit - then tried Linux Mint Lisa. Now both my laptop and desktop are single boot with Lisa and I have waved goodbye to Windows once and for all. My brother has a dual core (pre the "i" intel series of cpu's) laptop and was using Windows xp pro - he was having various problems with it such as it not recognising his onboard wireless card - I put on Linux Mint Lisa 32bit and installed with all his kit fully recognised and working fine. I just spent a few minutes with him showing him around and pointing out how updates worked etc and he has been totally blown away how fast and easy to use it is. He says his laptop is no longer sluggish, buggy and frustrating to use at times but now more like a new machine with lots of zip. I think therefore Mint is far more of a Windows killer than Ubuntu (if Ubuntu ever was!).
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration