LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > openSUSE
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

openSUSE 12.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 16000 05-16-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.5



Description: "OpenSUSE 12.1 improvements include the latest GNOME 3.2 desktop as well as the newest from KDE, XFCE and LXDE; your ownCloud made easy with mirall; Snapper-shots of your file system; and much, much more. The boot procedure is now handled by systemd. Linux 3.1 kernel brings a number of performance improvements to memory management and data handling."
Keywords: kernel-3.1 KDE


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-24-2011, 11:05 AM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,945

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Not a bad distro
Cons: but only if you like KDE



With two previous versions, Iíd tried the live CD only to find the installer broken. This time I got the DVD (which is not live), to give Suse a fair trial.

The installer looks good. It gives you the chance to run a media check, has pop-up help, and is very clear. You have a choice of GUIs (or none) and you can also edit the list of programs to be installed. If you forget something, itís very easy to use the DVD as a repository later. There are no media codecs provided, but persistant searching leads to a web page with a one-click installer.

Iíd chosen Xfce, and it quickly became clear that little attention has been given to things outside the KDE default. The repository lacks any file searcher other than that for KDE. The video player installed, Totem, was completely broken, so I downloaded Parole only to find that it couldnít play wmv files. Finally, I tried Gnome-mplayer, and that worked. Even in the KDE version, there were some broken programs installed, like Tetris.

If youíre looking for a KDE distro, then this deserves consideration, but Mint and Mepis are more reliable.
 
Old 11-26-2011, 05:01 AM   #2
Knightron
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: Slackware.
Posts: 1,324

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Nice software and so far, quite stable
Cons: Screwed with my boot partition, and other small niggles


Before i begin the review, i'd like to describe my setup ect and choice of installation.
Partition:
My partitions are set up with a seperate boot partition which chainloads any distro i install, so any distro i install i always install it's bootloader to it's '/'. I have two primary partitions occupied and two logical; one for the opensuse install, and the other is a data partition i mount in my home folder of each distro.
Software:
I chose the kde desktop environment. and set a root user up instead of sudo, along with autologin. This Opensuse install is my first rpm based distro to seriously try out.

OK and now to the review.
I had tried opensuse once before in early last year when i was first experimenting with Linux; i installed it and didn't do much with it. I found the install overly complicated and could be made easier. I donít think the install has changed much since, and i still feel the same about it. I did the advance setup when it got to the partition setup as i do with all distros, and set my mount points for all my partitions, as detailed earlier, i mount a data partition in my home folder. Once the install was done, i found i could not log in, as my user and had to resort to root. I figured out the issue and it was something to do with the data partition in my home folder. I fixed it so i could login, but autologin was not enabled; trying to enable it the way i normally do in system settings didn't work either. For other reasons i did a reinstall deliberately not mounting the data partition and everything worked perfectly the way it should have, even auto login. After editing fstab to mount my data partition, it still worked great so yeah..
After the initial install was done, it rebooted, and bang, there was the opensuse grub splash screen; WTF, i told the bootloader to go to '/'. My bootloader has been overwritten and i honestly don't know why and haven't gotten around to fixing it yet. Either way i'm sure it won't be to hard, but that's something i really don't like to see. Kde 4.7 loaded up and it was very nice. I have used Yast and it seems very nice. It seems snappy and stable; the only bug i've found so far is in dolphin, the menubar is disabled by default and trying to enable it with the spanner icon in the top right corner crashes it, but it can be enabled with the key shortcut. Opensuse feels stable, unlike some other distros where i feel i have to tip toe around the stupid thing. despite all the initial screw ups, once everything is fixed, it seems like a nice release that i think i will be keeping on here for a fare bit longer.
 
Old 01-19-2012, 05:44 AM   #3
Helvidius
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: OpenSuse
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything just "works"
Cons: resource intensive


Now that Ubuntu has gone to Unity, and the Gnome team decided to do what they did to Gnome 3, OpenSuse & KDE is the only choice for me. I have always liked KDE, having never gotten into the religion wars between Gnome & KDE. They only drawback of OpenSuse is that one has to go out and install the proprietary codecs for multimedia. LinuxMint spoils one in that way. OpenSuse feels like one is driving a luxury car. Which is great for those who like luxury cars. That is what is so great about Linux. For those who like sports cars, and monkeying under the hood, they have Gentoo. If you really like getting your hands dirty, there is Slackware, or one can roll ones own. And the best thing about Linux? How can one pick just one best? Free is probably the best thing.
 
Old 05-16-2012, 01:08 PM   #4
tanglin
 
Registered: Mar 2011
Distribution: Suse 11.3/4
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: We use as business machine suse 12.1 best yet, quick and since first use in 2005 version 9.? have never had blue screen, only down time installing new versions, about half and hour.
Cons: There are still a couple of business programs that do not work on Linux yet, Tax Calc, and PAYE Basic is a bit poor.


We have used Suse Linux since version 9.10ish in the early years mostly ran it with Gnome but from v 11 have used KDE. We are in the construction business and use Q Cad for plans, Konqueror for browser which now has add block makes it worth while, and it seems to work OK every where we need to be, even online banking. Libra office which replaced Open Office Org for all paper work, and the excellent Accountz cross platform for the banking stuff. We found for mail that Thunderbird was unreliable and changed to the KDE email package Kontact K Organise, and would not be without them now. Firefox has also been given the elbow as they keep changing it to much, and Google is to intrusive, all these developers seem to think they know what is best for us, the last straw was changing g mail display, change just for the sake of it is not always a good thing.
A word of warning you see a lot written about the system being free from hackers and little need for AV software, this is not strictly true we run the Klam/AVKD3 and have found virus and phishing emails, and would recommend anyone using the OS to run the AV in boot at least once a week.
So all in all a good business OS and we do not use a duel boot just Suse there is no MS Win anything on our desktops. As soon as TaxCalc get a cross platform version for Linux then the old lap top with Win 7 on it will be out the window Bill.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration