LinuxQuestions.org
View the Most Wanted LQ Wiki articles.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Magazines
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Format
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 77768 08-01-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $14.00 8.7
spacer


Description: This magazine has been going for 51 months (at the time of writing). This is a magazine primarily aimed at new users, but has of late expanded to take in the gurus and business users.

What do you get for your money?, well:
the cd edition has at least 2 cds crammed full of software, normally a distro of some description is included (whether a larger one like mandrake or something like Damn Small Linux), latest versions of KDE and Gnome, the Linux Documentation Project docs, Games, Apps, Graphics programs, Office programs. Admittedly, all of this can be downloaded from the web and are more likely to be more recent, but the distro inclusion saves hours of downloading and the programs, etc mean that those on dial up don't have to wait days to download. The DVD edition has the same programs as the cd edition, just more of them - distros included.

The magazine includes tutorials on things as diverse as the GIMP, PHP, CSS and writing a compiler. They also endeavour to explain about Linux with their "What on Earth..." section - issues have explained the Kernel, the GPL and clustered computing.

They have a lively Letters page and a very good Answers page. The magazine features LUGs in the UK and around the world.

A fairly recent edition has been the LinuxPro magazine which comes with the main magazine. This is aimed at professionals and discusses the legal ramifications of the SCO case, the future of Linux and anything which comes broadly under the business/professional umbrella.

So, for your money you get 2-3 cds/1 DVD, a magazine (a pretty thick one) and the slimmer LinuxPro mag.

Although published and aimed at the UK, this magazine has readers all around the world.
Keywords: linux format uk magazine newbie cd dvd
Publisher: Future Publishing
ISBN: B00007B9I3


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 04-11-2004, 02:24 PM   #1
or1onas
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Debian,Ubuntu
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $14.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Very interesting articles and product reviews, excellent 'Answers' FAQ, tutorials
Cons: price?



I bought the March issue of Linux Format after a friend of mine recommended it to me and i must say it's great!
Even though i'm a newbie, it's articles are very easy to understand. The product reviews (on firewalls) are also very good, as well as the tutorials (gimp,etc).
The accompanied CD's have a Mandrake boot CD distro and a lot of apps (latest kernels 2.4.24 and 2.6.1)
I paid 14$ (which i think is a bit expensive), but i think that this won't stop me from becoming a regular reader.
In general, i think it's a great magazine and you should give it a try! :-)
 
Old 04-26-2004, 10:49 PM   #2
aus9
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,060

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: the cds
Cons: not enough files in the essentials section of cd


its the best linux mag available in Australia.

A caution for us newbies, their cds are great for us on dial as expressed in the review. Try downloading all of the kernel sources by dial up with download limits with cheap ISP companies and watch your bill go up.

However, they rarely have the full set of distro cds if the set is 3 or more such as mdk etc.

Now I am not suggesting you need the third cd or you should stay away from such a distro ok?

I love the hot picks which tells me that others also use Mozilla Firebird etc.

Its cheaper for me to buy this from the UK and I get it 3 weeks b4 the newsagents.

Gives me a warm glow inside.
 
Old 07-22-2004, 06:12 PM   #3
Ghost_runner
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: openSUSE 10.2/64bit
Posts: 276

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: great detail, good reviews
Cons: hard to find in the states


Came with slackware 9.1, and suse (pre-iso, ran from cd only) The articles were well written, and advice was clear and easy to follow. Reviews were honest and on the spot. Not just informative, but a good read as well.
 
Old 10-04-2004, 08:42 PM   #4
Kristijan
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: NetBSD 3.0.1, Slackware 10.1
Posts: 394

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excelent read, easy to follow
Cons: None


My library at UNI used to get this mag in every month, but now have stoped. Love to read it, not to many newsagents around my area that stock it though.
 
Old 12-01-2004, 10:09 AM   #5
davecs
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 485

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Loads of tutorials, distros, live distros, letters, answers
Cons: Some bits go over my head! Web site is terribly slow!


Price is for DVD edition. CD edition a little cheaper.

Linux Format is the most accessible of the Linux Magazines available in the UK. I have read others, and they belong in the domain of Unix Pros and Geeks, loads of theory, etc, but only LXF as we call it, seems to be about using and enjoying your computer. For example the recent issue with Mandrake 10.1CE on the cover DVD had a 6-page tutorial to help a complete beginner get it installed, which included setting up Easy Urpmi, what programs they may find useful, disk partitioning, the lot.

Although a lot of the stuff on the DVD can be got more up to date on the net, it's great for those with Dial-Up. For me with Broadband, its reviews tell me what programs to try out, OK I may get a later version from the net, but had I not seen it in LXF I may not have known about it!

In the UK it is 1/3 cheaper on subscription. From what I see here, many of you around the world get the mag, which is a recommendation in itself. For those who cannot find it in their shops, you can order it from their web site www.linuxformat.co.uk if you have the patience, their site is like wading through treacle!

Without Linux Format I would not be on this site today. Having completely failed to install Debian, then tried an old version of Mandrake, I thought that Linux was a joke, and vowed never again, but then LXF had Mandy 9.0 on their coverdisks and I tried it again, this time it proved to be worth sticking with.

Every Mandrake download release appears on their coverdisks, often with extras like "contrib" stuff on their DVD. Also Gentoo, SuSE9.1, Fedora, etc have all been featured. I keep a spare partition just to try out new distros!

You can read about the future, too, the next big thing in making Linux a better system. I could not do without my 4-weekly fix (yup it's 13 times a year, Jan to Dec and Xmas). Keep up the good work, LXF!
 
Old 12-20-2004, 03:53 AM   #6
floppywhopper
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: Mageia 4.1, SME Server 8
Posts: 627

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Plenty of good linux gossip
Cons: Expensive, like most UK Magazines.


I try to get in early at the newsagent and buy the DVD version.

I ditched two australian mags ( PC Authority and PC World ) in favour of this mag, although I still buy them if I see some thing I want. Its a great magazine.

One drawback of buying a foreign mag is not having local ads

floppy
 
Old 01-03-2005, 05:25 PM   #7
unholy
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Ubuntu 7.10
Posts: 344

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Great layout, diverse content, uptodate news
Cons: Rediculously expensive and has the slowest website I have ever visited.


I've been reading this magazine for nearly two years now. Initially I tried a couple like 'Linux Journal' and 'Linux User & Developer'.

I think this is the best for beginners. Following the other "Format" magazines, it is the least overwhelming magazine to the new user, providing the 'bottom rung' to help you on the ladder while scaling well too.

However as you progress with GNU/Linux, it becomes a little less relevant - and although the remaining content is still unique, the simple fact is that it is not worth the money. Even the CD / DVD content is trivial if you have broadband.

However I have found that even with various RSS and newsletter subscriptions, this magazine still manages to fill a void.
 
Old 06-01-2006, 08:34 AM   #8
Chuck Strut
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Great mag DVD versoin works for me
Cons: Price in South Africa


I enjoy the mag and always try get it. However the price I pay for it here is R140 = 14 pound's London.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 08:09 PM   #9
cgtueno
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 356

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Cover DVD
Cons: Cost, website


2007/08/02

This is a great magazine.
I look forward each month to its arrival on the
newsagent's stands.

Pro's

The accompanying cover DVD is a treat for all users
who don't have easy access to a broadband connection,
or are simply looking for a source of distros, tools, or
applications to play with.

The articles in the magazine are well written but of late
have been concentrating on personal interviews, and
Europe centric issues (fair enough it is a UK based
magazine).

The technical columns and articles on the other hand
contain pearls of wisdom, and an excellent starting
point for investigation of a range of issues and
products.

I judge most magazines I acquire on a "page rip rate".
I read magazines with a red pen in hand, and I tear out
all irrelevant, out of date, or uninteresting material
from magazines. Leaving me with useful distilled
reference materials, etc.

This magazine scores a very low rip rate from me!

Con's

In Australia this magazine is expensive, and arrives
months after it's publication date. So it pays to have
a good look at the cover DVD and article index, since
other publications may have already released key items
on the LFX DVD.

That said, however, I am often able to collect a number
of Distros from a single LFX DVD rather than buying a
number of alternative publications to achieve the same
result.


The website appears to have recently been altered to
address it's very slow performance. I have a look at
it from time to time. Sadly it seems to be the least
useful part of the publication.


Conclusion

If you are looking for a source of Distros to play with,
and a solid starting point to explore various linux
applications, tools, and issues then LXF is an ideal
source. Albeit cost and availability are a factors.


Good reading :)
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration