LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Magazines
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
  · Next Product »

Linux Magazine
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 24332 08-01-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 7.0
spacer


Description: Linux Magazine
Keywords: Linux Magazine
Publisher: Infostrada
ISBN: B00006KM5S


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-16-2004, 04:37 AM   #1
krisealv
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 111

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Dvd, aimed at linux intermediate, not to expensive
Cons: Linux format is more fun



when I first got the magazine it looked good, the dvd had yoper on it, knoppix and videos from the aKademy conference

This is the UK version based on the german counterpart, so you'll find taht the tourturials are often SuSE specific and covers the entire world but with focus on european topics.

the magazine consists of news (software, kernel, insecurity,world, business and reader responses) the cover story, reviews, tutorials (know-how, sysadmin, programming, linux-user) Some stories from british communitys, community software (gnu and others)

The worst thing i find when reading a magazine is when one page out of two are ads, this is not the case with linux magazine. Sure they're there, but not to frequent, they are linux oriented and not ads as i've seen in linux format which promote windows and photoshop (not that this is too much of a problem for me). All in all this gives the magazine a credible feel to it, as you get the feeling that you are paying for a magazine and not a flyer.

Some of the mags strong points is the "brave gnu world", "kernel news", "projects on the move" and "insecurity news". This is something most other mags lack, in every linux mag you'll find reviews, news and tutorials, some cover technologys and other cover commercial linux apps and distros but you lack any real connection to the community other than the odd interview. I think these articles reflects the "linux way" more, since it primarily is community based.

The cover story is in depth, consists of several articles on a related topic, in this issue it covers printing; 5 pages of cups, a page of muttprint, 3 pages of virtual fax driver and 5 pages on ghostscript. In other words, when the cover story seems interesting, you can rest assured that it'll be properly coverd inside.

The reviews are standard; books, and distros in this issue, some software in other issues, community software is covered in more tutorial-like stories than a plain review, where it informs on features and use off the chosen app. The distro review this month is SuSE OpenExchange 4.1, a in depth review on 5 pages highlighting relevant issues in the distro (or so I belive since that distro is not aimed at me:))

The know how articles covers software, and how to use them; a nice set of articles.

i'm not a sysadmin so I'll skip that also here laong with the programming section there are about 20 pages of these together

The LinuxUser section is much like the know how articles, but I think they cover the software more in-depth and ocus more on community software that you might actually need in your day to day linux fiddling.

My conclusion is, Linux magazine is a very good mag for the intermidiate linux user and programmer (this is only a guess from my part) I've been using Linux since 2001 regularly and as my only os, therefore I would no longer call myself a newbie. My point is, this magazine appeals to me, the us version of linux magazine does not, along with linux journal. I would reccomend these to advanced linux users or programmers / sysadmins. The UK version on the other hand I would recomend to any linux user with moderate linux skills. All in all a great mag.
 
Old 12-15-2004, 12:11 AM   #2
Capt_Caveman
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 3,658

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: nice "project" articles
Cons: little small


Been reading this for awhile. Has a good mix of articles on production-grade stuff (MySQL clustering, BerkleyDB, Grid computing) and things the average home user will find usefull (stream mp3s, use yum, iptables GUIs). The Tech Support section is surprisingly well written and the author is clearly genius.
 
Old 07-11-2005, 05:57 PM   #3
eBopBob
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Windows XP, openSuse 10.1
Posts: 215

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Occasionally there are some VERY good articles and reviews.
Cons: Often spelling mistakes. Didn't find writing style very appealing.


Although there are some good points to the magazine, I believe there are too many downsides to actually subscribe. Often there would be spelling mistakes, which put me off, and I also found the style of writing very unappealing.

It did from time to time have some very good articles, or some decent reviews, but more often than not I didn't find the content very interesting, and found it too vague and didn't go into enough detail.

Often there were articles which had the potential to be great and very interesting, but so not to leave the newbie / intermediate reading level they wouldn't delve any deeper, and you were left with something which left you unfulfilled.

I definitely wouldn't recommend it.
 
Old 01-23-2006, 04:05 AM   #4
linmix
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: FC5
Posts: 1,993

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: dvd, articles
Cons: a lot of KDE, no Gnome


I get the Spanish edition of the magazine. I first bought it because it had the FC4 dvd, but have since got almost every issue. The dvds are good (often better t5han what can be easily downloaded), the articles range from absolute beginner to advanced and cover a wide range of aspects. The linux User section concentrates mainly on KDE and since I prefer Gnome... Translation isn't always perfect, but good enough not to distract from the main interest.
 
Old 08-01-2007, 09:31 PM   #5
cgtueno
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Posts: 356

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Cover CDs
Cons: Coffee table type magazine


2007/08/02

Linux Magazine is an interesting publication.

I buy it occasionally based on the content of the
cover DVD, and articles.

Sadly, however, I often find myself somewhat disappointed
with this magazine when I leaf through it on the
News Agent's stands and move on to purchase something
else.

It often sits in close proximity to Linux Format magazine
and pales by comparison.

Occasionally there are very well written technical
articles, offering a good depth of knowledge on a useful
current topic.

I can recommend this magazine for an occasional read,
for specific article of interest, or to obtain a copy
of a desired distro (SUSE and Yoper being good examples
from past issues).
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration