LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 2011.6
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 18993 07-03-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
50% of reviewers None indicated 7.5



Description: "PCLinuxOS KDE 2011.6 for 32-bit and 64-bit computers is now available for download. The Linux kernel was updated to version 2.6.38.8. Additional kernels are available from our repositories such as a PAE kernel for computers with more than 4 GB of memory. A BFS kernel for maximum desktop performance and a standard kernel with group scheduling enabled. X.Org Server was updated to version 1.10.2. Mesa updated to 7.10.3 and libdrm to version 2.4.26. These updates bring enhancements to the PCLinuxOS desktop including speed, 3D desktop support for most Intel, NVIDIA and AMD/ATI video cards, better font rendering, black screen fixes for most NVIDIA cards, better Flash playback and more."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.38.8 PAE-kernel


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-29-2011, 04:39 PM   #1
XenaneX
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: PClinuxOS
Posts: 109

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, works well, good support, many apps, KDE
Cons: Sometimes the responders in the forums tend to be a bit blunt :)



Downloaded and installed it today. I am amazed at the ease of installation, the speed, the fit and finish and polish of this well done distro. It has exceeded my expectations.

I have some work to do to learn the ins and outs of KDE, but I'll just have to bite the bullet and do it. I use the file manager a lot and Konqueror under PCLinuxOS 2009 is what sold me on the distro in the first place.

Firefox works well in this distro and PCLinuxOS has so much else to offer.
 
Old 07-03-2011, 03:14 PM   #2
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,957

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros:
Cons: Odd selection of software, some buggy


The live CD gives a pleasantly fast experience, and the installer did its job simply in 15 minutes.

The usual programs are joined by KMyMoney, TVTime, and dial-up support. On the other hand, there is no office software on the disk. If this is due to lack of space, there are other things that could have been dropped: there are 2 browsers (Konqueror & Firefox) and 3 file managers (Dolphin, Konqueror, and Midnight Commander). Also included are bleachbit, dupeclean, & gconfcleaner: largely useless imitations of Windows stuff.

Codecs and flash are included and work well. Unfortunately, launching programs from the CLI generated too many warnings like "this should not happen" and "may cause a crash". The help files for KDE and its applications are all missing, and I couldn't find a working repository when I tried to find them.

This is not a bad distro, but it's not a brilliant one either. If some-one asked me to recommend a KDE distro, PCLinuxOS would not be my first choice.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration