LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mageia
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mageia 1
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 18923 06-05-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
67% of reviewers None indicated 8.3



Description: "We are the Mageia community, and today we are happy to tell everyone that our first release, Mageia 1, is out and available for download. Mageia began in September 2010 as a fork of Mandriva Linux. It is supported by a not-for-profit organisation, governed by a body of recognized and elected contributors, and made by 100+ people around the world. Our work adds to the excellent work of the wider Linux and free software community. We aim to bring one of the best, most stable, reliable and enjoyable experience and platform we can make; for a regular user, a developer, or a business."
Keywords: Mandriva-based


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-02-2011, 03:31 PM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,958

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Will install Dansguardian
Cons: No media codecs



I installed from the Gnome live CD version and found the process easy and fast (15 minutes).

There was a generous amount of software for a CD, and all the programs were stable. The repository also has plenty of choice available. It is split into 3 sections: free, non-free, and tainted. The latter is for material patented in the USA, and it is not enabled by default. But why should the rest of the world care about US law? Enabling it is not obvious: the option in the Control Centre is "Configure Media"!

None of my media files played and the software installer was of no use: I was only able to install the gstreamer plugins from the command line. Even then, only mp3 was enabled. One could probably get Mandriva versions from easyurpmi, but that would have to be set up manually. It is difficult to recommend any distro that has no obvious way of playing an mp4 video!

Otherwise, this is a good effort. I was very impressed that it will install and set up Dansguardian, a task that can be a nightmare. If you particularly need a distro where you can protect children without endless struggles in the CLI, then Mageia and Doudou seem the only choices. Otherwise, those who like Mandriva would be better off ignoring this fork.
 
Old 09-16-2011, 01:46 AM   #2
briandc
 
Registered: Sep 2011
Distribution: KXStudio, Bodhi Linux, AntiX, Mint
Posts: 79

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Elegant, all apps work just FINE! ;) AND, friendly forum! :)
Cons: At the moment, none worth mentioning


I installed Mageia 1.0 this summer on vacation. At first I couldn't get skype to work, and I also needed a photo resizer that Dolphin didn't seem to have.

I was wrong on both counts! Skype works fine, just go to the site and install the "static" version. And for working photos nicely, get "Kim" from the KDE website, which works wonderfully!!

Mageia is my current OS on my business laptop, and I'm thrilled with it. I think I'll be sticking with this one for a good while. I've tried Xubuntu, DreamLinux, Swift Linux, PCLOS... but Mageia is really a nice platform.

Good work guys!

Brian
 
Old 06-05-2012, 09:14 AM   #3
Garthhh
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia 3 [RPM based]
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Mageia Control Center
Cons: support for version one ends in december


When Ubuntu went towards their own desk top environment, unity
I started taking a closer look at the entire organization
as a result of the pissing contest between Mark Shuttleworth & Gnome
I started shopping for a new community run distro

Mageia certainly has all the user friendly bits, though finding them can be tricky. As with any linux distro the greybeards on the user forum will tend to default to terminal based solutions. The further degradation of Mandriva has further strengthened community.
The decision to postpone the release of version 2, shows a certain maturity of leadership

I've been running Mageia 1 for over a year

YAUR [yet another ubuntu refugee]
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration