LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 11
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 21964 11-16-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 11 'Katya'." This release brings improvements to software manager's user interface, new artwork, various system changes, and usability improvements to the update manager: "One of the biggest improvements made to the Update Manager is how it now handles dependencies. It only shows updates, not their dependencies. If the upgrade of a package requires additional changes to your system a dialog pops up with a summary to show you which packages will be installed or removed. This brings a permanent fix to the notorious 'Broken packages' message that used to appear before."
Keywords: Ubuntu-based GNOME Broken-packages-FIXED


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-29-2011, 11:15 AM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 2,971

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: It just works
Cons:



It's difficult to review Mint: you just start up the live DVD, click on the install button, and 20 minutes later you have a Linux installation that does everything you need!

The main programs LibreOffice, Gimp, Firefox, Thunderbird, Pidgin, Xchat, Banshee, and Gnome-Mplayer were all stable. All media codecs were installed, and files played well. My "mp4 from hell" was a bit choppy, but most distros can't play it at all. Mint had no problems with my admittedly simple hardware. Very wisely, they have stuck with Gnome 2 and avoided the chaos that is troubling users of version 3. The software manager is particularly nice, with its user ratings and screen shots.

This is a bulky distro: running Firefox and LibreOffice took over 700GB including buffers and caches. Smaller computers should use the LXDE version. Also, if your computer can only use CDs, get the version without media codecs and install them later.

Rather strangely, as well as Gnome-Mplayer you get Totem and VLC. Equally strangely, they were the only things that weren't working properly.

Final quote from the installer: "for best results, please ensure the computer is plugged in".
 
Old 07-26-2011, 01:01 PM   #2
gleneagles49
 
Registered: Jun 2011
Distribution: Mint 11
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install & Use
Cons: non so far


Excellent distro for a newby like me, guess a lot more windows users would use this if they were aware how good and quick it is.
 
Old 07-28-2011, 09:30 PM   #3
merinpat
 
Registered: Jun 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: everything I need in a system
Cons: still trying to navigate interface


I was concerned when installing as due to disk errors from the burned image. I tried another host and it worked great. I have my wife trying the system now so we may begin the journey together.

Starting last night we started a 30 day test to use only Linux but so far so good. My wife is tickled that there is so much available in software and help on line is getting friendlier all the time. We are navigating the the man pages and learning.

So far no major glitch and the computer seems faster and more responsive. I will repost in 30 days!!!!
 
Old 07-31-2011, 12:03 AM   #4
brpy1
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Beats Fedora by a mile.
Cons: None, yet, though learning the desktop is taking longer than expected.


It works - has two things going for it - (1) it allows me to experiment (2) I can do my normal work without problems. it's won me.
 
Old 08-01-2011, 06:37 PM   #5
nar321
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Xandros3.0(OCE), Linspire, SUSE10.0
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: It just works
Cons: None, so far


It builds on Ubuntu and delivers a great OS. Now if my bank would support Linux and if I could a couple of compatible apps I would no longer be using MS
 
Old 10-18-2011, 09:38 AM   #6
kayakman
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Nearly everything works as needed.
Cons: Some videos loose sound from You Tube. Cut/paste photos in Evolution does not work.


Overall it was easy to install and use. The availability of so much software is staggering. Just wish I was smart enough to make the most use of the operating system and software. Educating self is a major objective. Strongly recommend.
 
Old 11-16-2011, 04:48 PM   #7
xdunlapx
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: Xubuntu 11.10
Posts: 67

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: easy to use, easy to set up
Cons: HPLIP doesn't work as intended, have to reinstall a new version of it


I always end up coming back to Mint. I've tried over 50 distros and found this one to be the easiest to set up and get rolling. With Ubuntu using Unity now, which I've tried and hated, I am a full-time Mint user now. I'm not a fan of gnome 3 but I'll be switching to Mint 12 or later sometime down the road when updates are no longer sent out for Mint 11 which I currently use.

Everything other than getting my HP laser printer up and running works great and is easy as pie to set up. But I'm not new to linux in general, I've been using it pretty much straight since 2002. I'm glad I found Mint. Mint is my #1 distro now. Arch being #2 even though it's much more difficult to set up initially but that is offset by them having such a superb wiki. Hats off to Mint and it's team! Great distro.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration