LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > MEPIS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

SimplyMEPIS 11.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
2 25950 09-17-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.5



Description: "Warren Woodford is pleased to announce the release of SimplyMEPIS 11, the latest version of the renowned SimplyMEPIS Linux operating system that is designed to be easy to install, easy to use, and easy to make your own. SimplyMEPIS 11.0.00 is released for i386 and amd64 platforms. It's configured with a 2.6.36.4 kernel, the KDE 4.5.1 desktop, and many applications, including LibreOffice 3.3.2, Firefox 4.0.1, VLC 1.1.3, Amarok 2.4.0, Kdenlive 0.7.9, Digikam 1.9.0, GIMP 2.6.10, and Inkscape 0.48.1. Additional applications are available for easy installation from the MEPIS and Debian package pools including Dropbox, Skype, Scribus, Eclipse, Evolution, WINE and thousands more."
Keywords: Debian-based kernel-2.6.36.4 KDE LibreOffice


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-08-2011, 10:50 AM   #1
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,008

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very easy to install, good documentation
Cons: Some may find KDE a confusing to configure



Mepis 11 comes on a live DVD which includes a guide you can view with your browser. Installation is done once the live system is running, using what is probably the best installer there is.

In reviewing Mepis 8.5, I said it would run in 256MB. That is no longer true: KDE must have grown. As well as the usual KDE things, you get LibreOffice, Gimp, Inkscape, Firefox, Amorak, and VLC. The two latter have all the codecs pre-installed. Everything I tested worked.

The documentation is excellent. As a test, I followed the instructions for installing a new desktop and removing KDE. I didn't understand all of the commands I entered, but they worked perfectly to give me an Xfce system. So often alternative GUIs are inferior (Xfce in Fedora, Gnome in OpenSuse) but everything still worked.
 
Old 09-17-2011, 01:33 AM   #2
Knightron
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: Slackware.
Posts: 1,325

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Stable, Debian based, Easy to use
Cons: No gnome, xfce, ect versions, only kde


Simply Mepis is based off of Debian stable, and is a true Debian based distro, unlike some other distros, most notably, Ubuntu. It focuses on ease of use, and stability, and does a damn good job. It is very focused on Kde, and although i prefer kde, i think it's still important to acknowledge that Mepis does not have a gnome edition ect. Gnome and other desktop environments can be installed with apt, but many people may find the noninclusive a put off. (gnome used to be equally supported, but people whom liked gnome weren't drawn to Mepis, so it got dropped). Simply Mepis is very stable, and it gets this feature from Debian stable. With this pro, comes the sacrifice of having slightly outdated packages, if this becomes a problem (such as older kernel not supporting newer hardware) this can be overcome, by using Debian backports, which although will reduce your stableness, you won't be dropping all the way down to say Debian Testing/sid.
I highly recommend Simply Mepis, and can honestly say that it is perhaps my third favorite distro; only behind Slackware and Debian.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration