LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian SID
Reviews Views Date of last review
32 100912 04-01-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $15.00 9.7



Description: SID (still in development) 'unstable' release from Debian.
Meant to be for the debian developpers but a lot of people use it.
Keywords: debian sid apt dpkg deb


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-16-2003, 04:38 AM   #1
iceman47
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Debian, Free/OpenBSD
Posts: 1,123

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:



pressed the return button by accident :/
 
Old 06-16-2003, 04:56 AM   #2
iceman47
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Debian, Free/OpenBSD
Posts: 1,123

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: apt as it should be, great community, new software
Cons: sometimes programs can be broken


Debian has always been my favorite distro, mainly because of it's apt system and the social contract (see www.debian.org).

Debian can be as easy or as hard as you want.
Most configuration can be done by the dpkg-reconfigure system, but you don't need to use that if you want to configure your system the hard way.

SID offers lots of new software that Woody & Sarge don't, which is an extra plus for me.
Apt is simply brilliant, most people know apt now, since the main distro's are using it too now.
I started with potato and dist-upgraded to SID
(meaning all packages are being replaced by newer ones giving a new and updated system).
It's not that bloated as some other distro's as you're really in control what gets installed.

The dark side of SID has to be that packages can be broken at any given time you update as it's the developpers' version.
Most of the time it gets fixed in a matter of days though.

SID does the trick for me but I won't recommend it to someone who's just starting with GNU/Linux, but you have to try it at least once in your life :)
 
Old 06-25-2003, 07:51 PM   #3
masinick
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Debian, sidux, antiX, SimplyMEPIS, Kubuntu, Mandriva, Fedora, Xandros, Arch, and many others
Posts: 560

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: The ultimate in new and flexible software
Cons: Occasional broken packages


Software from the Unstable (SID) binary software tree of the Debian project is about as up to date and flexible as you can get. It is prone to occasional failures, particularly packaging failures, but I've often found that if something is really badly broken, it's usually fixed within a week or two. On the rare occasion that something gets really badly broken, it's usually possible to back off the things that have been changed and install a more stable version.

I use a combination of stable, testing, and unstable Debian software, but most of the time I use the unstable tree as my base, though I installed my core system from a commercial distribution, Libranet, which I also highly recommend.
 
Old 06-26-2003, 09:29 AM   #4
Nigel_Tufnel
 
Registered: Jul 2002
Distribution: Debian, Kubuntu, Arch
Posts: 116

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Apt-Get is simply the best package management tool avialable for linux today. The documentation is pretty extensive and users are very willing to help you if needed.
Cons: The install can be a little scary for newbies but not as daunting as Gentoo! But you only have to install once!!


I've tried Red Hat, Mandrake, Slackware and Gentoo. I would of stayed with Slackware if it had the package system of Gentoo. Well, the closest thing to that is Debian. Apt-Get is simply the best package system in linux right now. There's a huge catalogue of applications that you can install very effortlessly. I don't want to wait 8 hours for my applications to compile! The user base is very large and people are very willing to help you. Also, the distro offers 3 flavors depending on how 'fresh' you want your system to be. I use 'unstable' and have had very few issues with it. It has become my de-facto distro since January of this year. I love it!
 
Old 07-24-2003, 03:08 PM   #5
KneeLess
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux 3.0 Sid, OpenBSD 3.5
Posts: 190

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Apt-get, Lot's of Apt Sources (HTTP, FTP, CDROM, etc.)
Cons: Not a lot of hardware support


A lot of people don't like the Debian install, but I like it a lot. It's not pretty, at all, but it automatically boots into a menu driven interface, and has step by step install, with little tid bits of information just incase.

Apt-get is by far the best part of Debian. You are able to upgrade all of your packages with a command as simple as "apt-get update".

Gotta love ease of use. But SID crashed on me twice, for unknown reasons. It's fun, but stick to Woody or Sarge for now.
 
Old 08-06-2003, 03:26 PM   #6
lowkick
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: apt-get, community
Cons: setting up might be difficult without Linux experience



I started with Redhat7.3 and then moved on to Debian. The install system is not as bad as they say, but I had problems with getting X up. Would have been impossible without any Linux experience. Yet, when everything is configured, Debian rocks. Apt-get is awesome, dselect is awesome, everything just works. Maintaining is easy.

 
Old 10-03-2003, 05:21 AM   #7
praveenk
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux SID, FreeBSD
Posts: 59

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: 'apt' and 'dpkg' tools - The most powerful package management tools. **Stability & Security**
Cons: Not suitable for newbies. (This cons is slowly fading away...) Timespan between releases (Stable releases)


I started my GNU/Linux life with Redhat GNU/Linux 6.2 and then started using Debian GNU/Linux 2.2. There is a lot of improvements now in the Debian distribution and is becoming more and more user-friendly. If Debian finishes the GUI installer module, a lot of newbies can also start to get their hands dirt on Debian. Hats off to Debian community.
 
Old 11-07-2003, 09:37 AM   #8
evil_Tak
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian/unstable
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Upgradability, social contract
Cons:


Debian is my favorite distribution of those I've used, including RedHat, Mandrake, SuSE, Slackware, Caldera (eww), and LFS. I also prefer it over NetBSD, OpenBSD, and FreeBSD.

As so many other people have mentioned, Debian's package management really shines, and the unstable distribution gives users cutting edge software easily installed, easily configured, and easily removed.

I've been running Debian/unstable on all my desktop machines since roughly 1998. There are several reasons for my initial switch to Debian: with other distributions, I found that I had to do almost a complete reinstall to upgrade my software; I hated the nightmare of software dependency tracking; I hated how commercial some distributions were becoming. Debian was the answer to all my problems.
 
Old 11-17-2003, 07:38 PM   #9
leonscape
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian SID / KDE 3.5
Posts: 2,313

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Upgrading with apt
Cons: Installation (But you only ever do it once!)


Debian is my current distro, after using quite a few others, and its the one I'm sticking with. There are many reasons for this and I'll go through a few of them.

1. Upgrading ( or apt-get is my Hero).
The one thing most of the people I know, who've tried Linux complain about upgrading and installing software. I did as well. Dependancies wrong versions etc.
This area is almost completley taken care of by apt-get. It isn't simply the tool its self that makes it work. The Debian community constantly update, check, and sort out many of these problems for you, packaging and re-packging costantly to make sure everthing works.
There are currently over 13000 packages in the repositry, and its a rare piece of software that isn't in there. The impression I got was Debian packages where rare because most of the software sites offer RPM's. The fact that the Debian community does the packaging themselves sailed me by for a while.
There is also one more thing tats very important. Version upgrades. Debian does these without complaint. The fact that other people are surprised when their distro upgrades without breaking something, is the opposite of a Debian users expectations, nuff' said.

2. Standards.
Debian follows more closely the standard way that software designers expected their software to work. The most obvious example of this that springs to mind is GRUB. the grub manual says that the way to set up the menu is to look under the /boot/grub/ directory for a file called menu.lst. In debian their it is, in Redhat they tell you to edit a file /etc/grub.conf.
X set up for Mice and keyboards is standard, Redhat use a file in /etc/sysconfig/mouse.
This means when something needs fixing and sorting out, the standard approach works in Debian, for others you need a Distro specific approach.

3. Kernel Compiling.
This is the easiest distro to compile a kernel in. Handling all the messy work for you. make-kpkg is a very powerful tool. and once finished a simple dpkg -i. and your sorted. Removing a kernel is also a breeze. simply apt-get remove.
Even third party modules (Like the Nvidia Drivers) are all taken care of, and no need to mess about with the .run file from Nvidia.

Their are many more, but simply I have more control over my system than in any other Distro. I can try things out remove things without worrying what will break (apt-get tells you what else would have to be removed). Control is in the users hands. I like having control.
 
Old 11-26-2003, 07:05 PM   #10
Drago
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: Arch linux
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: up to date, stable, runs quick
Cons: broken packages (sometimes)


Most would be scared of the "unstable" name for this release of debian, but come on, it's actually one of the most stable distros i have ever used! With the apt system and the up to date packages you get the best of both worlds. The only thing that sort of pissed me off was the fact that sometimes there is the odd broken package, this was usually fixed in a matter of days though.
 
Old 12-14-2003, 03:27 AM   #11
wartstew
 
Registered: Apr 2002
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu, Debian, Maemo
Posts: 464

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Largest software base, easy to keep current, very customizable
Cons: No sane installer exists, steep learning curve.


The term "Unstable" unfairly drives people away from this version of Debian. Unless you are very new to GNU/Linux products and are running a mission critical machine, I would not fear the "Unstable". Sid has these advantages of other Linux distros:

1) Largest software base: At the time of this writing my package manager reports over 13,000 software. No more do I have to do kludge installs of packages meant for other distros into mine and struggle to make it work right, or compile them from scratch. With Debian Sid, the very latest software I want is just an "apt-get install" away.

2) Superior Package Management: Although I think Linux package managers are still far from perfect, the Debian set of tools from the primitive "dpkg" all the way up to the point and shoot GUI "synaptic" seem to handle the tangled web of the inter-dependencies of the GNU software tree better than anything else I've tried. Except for a few cases where Apt threatened to un-install most of my system just to install a single new app that conflicted with it, I've had very good luck installing, upgrading, and removing packages from my systems as they evolve while keeping them quite stable most of the time.

3) Easy to build a customized system: The base install is fairly small, well under 100 megs if I remember. From there it is easy to just install the apps you want and the package manager will automatically install dependant packages then proceed to configure things accordingly. Again, it's not perfect, but I've been able to easily construct nice "tight" installs where everything works the way I want and yet can be easily kept up to date using Debian. When I've tried this with other distros (like Slackware), I ended up with a very unstable system with lots of broken apps and services.

4) Debian has many nice touches: Once you know about them, (which isn't easy or obvious), there are nice structures and tools to do things like keep the menus in all your window managers up to date while allowing customizations, and tools to select preferred apps from a list of installed "alternatives". I haven't seen these things working this well in other distros.

5) Debian really is free: Debian is not a child of some commercial company that is wishing to turn a profit with it someday. Debian is likely to be around long after many of those others have become financial failures. Also commercial distros tend to discourage downloadable updates because they would rather sell you a nice shiny new shrink-wrapped box set distro every year. Some also tend to do sometimes frivolous customizations just to set them apart from others and to "lock" you in to their company. You won't find these games played with Debian.

6) Finally, Sid is actually quite stable: Some of the worst problems are that things just don't install right. Just wait a day or so and try an upgrade on that app again and chances are everything will be magically fixed. With most OS's, it seems that the more you install software and do updates on them, the more unstable the system becomes. Not so with Debian: My first Sid install runs much better now than when I first installed. It has seen many sessions of "apt-get" initiated software updates.

The biggest downside of Sid is for the most part, there exists no installer for it that I know about. It seems that in the Debian development process the installer to a distro is typically the last thing that gets done before it becomes the "testing" or "stable" distro. Unless I am missing something (which is likely because I still consider myself a Debian newbie), you generally have to install the base system some other distribution (like Debian's "testing" or "stable", or run a live CD version of Debian and go through a fairly convoluted (to newbies anyway) procedure to get the thing installed. As previously pointed out by others however, you really only have to do this once, from then on it's just updates.

Because of the above problem and all the special Debian structures that support some of the nice Debian specific utilities (like the "update-menus" and "alternatives" system), I found Debian to have a rather steep learning curve as compared to other Linux distros such as the much simpler Slackware. Although the documentation is always improving, it is not always obvious where it is or what you should really be looking for in the first place. For this reason, I wouldn't recommend Sid for newbies. Instead I would recommend it to seasoned Linux users that have gripes with poor package upgrade handling from their distro or its smaller software base. I would also recommend it to those wishing to build smaller customized versions of GNU/Linux while still being able to keep it up to date easily. I would certainly recommend it for desktop use because of it's large software base and ease of updates.
 
Old 02-10-2004, 01:41 PM   #12
rmanocha
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian SID-->fully content-->Love APT,kernel 2.6.4
Posts: 327

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: apt-get,layout,social contract and more
Cons: not for newbies(my opinion)


I think debian is better than any distro out there...better than slackware,Red Hat,Mandrake,etc....
The apt pacakge manager makes life so simple that i think installing software in linux is even more painless than installing stuff on windows.
the layou of the directory tree,the config files...the default packages...etc. work great and really help you learn a lot about the system and how it is running.
the thorough testing packages go through before making it into stable or even unstable makes me feel even better.
the only con of this distribution lien in its install process....the text install process can be intimidating and nerve shatering.also to get SID you have to use apt-get dist-upgrade etc....which makes life evn more complicated..but i can say this...once you get it...you start loving it within the first day of you using it.
knoppix comes close to debian sid...but i personally did not like it much..mainly 'cause of it tons of apps and a not so clean and professional look given by a clean debian install...i think MEPIS scores higher here.
 
Old 02-11-2004, 08:47 AM   #13
sirphoenix
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid/Sarge
Posts: 37

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: apt-get; stable; free;
Cons: slow updates


I am quite new to linux. It was very difficult for me to find my prefered distro and i will stay at debian.

apt-get is a great and powerful tool to update your system and install packages. as well tasksel for new users and dselect (i am using kpackage)

as soon debian is running it seems very stable for me.
i got problems installing the woody distro because its using a very old kernel and the via-rhine module wasnt working correctly, so i had to update to sid/sarge (its more work without network).

the only contra is the slow update process for packages. if you dont need up to date modules it doesnt matter much. i am still missing some drivers for wavecards and isdn interfaces (maybe i have to search more for an solution).

even compiling and installing a new kernel works great with make-kpkg which will create your own kernel.deb package for install.

another thing which scared me off other distros: debian seems to stay at standards. gentoo and suse have different ways for configuring your system so i dont like it. suse seems too much like windows... as i am lazy guy i wont learn much in suse, just click and work with it.
 
Old 03-01-2004, 07:36 PM   #14
basket_case
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: ubuntu (Dapper Drake)
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: scaleable, contained, highly flexible, high standards for included items, the first (and still, imho best) proper package management system
Cons: currently not as flashy to install, debian is aimed more at people who actually care what is under the hood than your average slacker who just wants a free OS on his / her box, without even knowing what speed chip they have


There are distributions that try to address one or another aspect of linux deployment on the desktop and / or server. Some of them even succeed at doing so. Then there is debian, which is a one-stop solution for whatever needs you have for your machine, be it server-based, with SQL/web/php/whatever needs or desktop-based, with user-friendly applications and much prettiness.

An obvious pointer at the integrity of the underlying system afforded by the package management tools dpkg, and the wrapper apt is the number of distributions that have spawned off of debian. You don't warrant children from other companies and sources if your product doesn't have a leading edge.

The high standards set by the debian maintainers mean that even subscribing to the "unstable" branch of debian pretty-much guarantees the latest of the best of the best. In fact, the term "unstable" refers more to the stability of package versions than their contents: expect regular updates to the cream of the linux community's coding crop with simple commands like "apt-get dist-upgrade". If typing at a console seems like too much effort, then invest some time into a package management manager like Synaptic. If the flux of new packages seems a little unsettling (and hey, let's face it: for a person migrating from "the other side", regular system improvement is not a concept that has been founded in the normal order of things: instead, a subscription to chaos seems to be the order of the day. Debian tends, on the other hand, towards a state of order, completely oblivious of any presiding laws of thermodynamics), then stick with the "stable" release (currently named Woody) and be 100% sure that you have a rock-solid system that is close enough to the cutting edge of linux technology without being at the bleeding point.

My vote will always be with a system that allows for the flexibility, power and sheer solidarity offered by debian. I have tried other distros (Red Hat, Mandrake, Corel; though unfortunately i haven't had exposure to suse or personal experience with gentoo (but 4 days for an install seems a little over-th-top ;p)), and have not found what i wanted in them.

In the same breath I would want to warn the new user: be prepared for a learning experience. And be prepared to read. The linux ethos of making the system decisions yours and thus placing ownership of the system firmly into your hands is prevailent in the debian architecture. But if you read, even from the messages displayed by apt and installer scripts, you will always be steered in the right direction. Just take some time to read the information given to you.
If you don't feel you have the time or energy for this endeavour, go try Mandrak linux. The installer is really friendly, and quite powerful. When you want a sleek, meaner machine, switch to debian.

My only restraint from marking debian with a perfect 10 is the intimidation factor imposed by the installer. Not that I have a problem with it, but your average person would benefit greatly from an installer like that of Mandrake's, granting a powerful, gui-based partition editor; asking if auto-resizing on existing windows partitions can be done to minimise the pain of a windows--to--dual-boot--to--linux transition that naturally flows for most people who are exposed to the power and functionality of the free operating system and the collection of fantastic tools and productivity-enhancing programs that are to be found in most distributions.
Still, if there were intermediate points in the scale, debian would have rated a 9.9: the friendly interface is really the only thing stopping debian from taking over the world.
 
Old 03-03-2004, 08:18 AM   #15
albertfuller
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Knoppix Debian
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: all-encompassing, net-centric, package management, effortless to upgrade, software generally installs properly configured, it is really free
Cons: can't think of any


I came to Debian through Knoppix. Yes, Knoppix is one beautiful Debian installer. It autodetects hardware fantantically. And with just few clicks (and a clear partition strategy) I had Knoppix riding on reiserfs partitions - sweet.

-------------------------
Steps For Newbies
-------------------------

Know that the classic Debian distro, although it is the front door is not the only door into the building. I suggest Knoppix install

Secure your box - a firewall, or as is my preference a router with built in dhcp support (instant network)

Search Google and leant how to setup apt so you can take control of /etc/apt/apt.conf

Search Google and learn how to build a (nice large) /etc/apt/sources.list

Make an indepth study of all package management software: apt-get, apt-cache, aptitude, wajig, feta, (I suggest you avoid Synaptic)

Now how difficult is that.
 
Old 03-10-2004, 10:10 AM   #16
adz
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Debian, FreeBSD
Posts: 1,713

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Runs lean and fast. Apt is inconceivably convenient.
Cons: First time you install can be a little confusing. Benefits from having done it a few times.



The biggest gripe I hear about debian is the installation program. It's really not that difficult. If you don't know what you want then the defaults are quite sensible. Just keep pressing enter - the defaults are usually pretty sensible. Things like soundcards, video cards (anything requiring a specific driver) is not autodetected. I consider this a good thing because you're forced to learn how to do it. Once you know how it's remarkably simple.

One other thing is that if you want a 2.4 kernel when you install you have to select the "bf24" flavour. The Debian handbook says that this flavour is experimental but this can be misleading. Debian's idea of experimiental is something that hasn't been tested to within an inch of its life. Hence every other kernel flavour is 2.2 and the stable distribution is quite ancient.
 
Old 05-27-2004, 11:18 AM   #17
donni
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Debian GNU/Linux Sid
Posts: 49

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Truly free, easy installer, secure
Cons: Some packages conflict or fail to install properly


Debian GNU/Linux follows the real core values of the Free Software Foundation. It is freely downloadable and the Sid installer is better than ever, though admittedly the hardware detection leaves something to be desired, since many devices are difficult to set up due to the high security policy.
Debian allows you access to over 8710 free software packages through its apt package system, which is on the whole very simple and easy to use and generally unbreakable, though not so much in the unstable branch.
As another reviewer, Debian can be as hard or as difficult as you want it to be. Setting up hardware needn't be difficult if you do it properly.
 
Old 06-04-2004, 08:58 AM   #18
koencalliauw
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: apt
Cons: updated too often


I tried the unstable branch for a while on one of our servers, but it simply updates too often.
Stability:
the unstable branch of debian is as stable or even more stable than any of the other distro's I've tried. The debian crew has some of the best linux developers out there and alot of them give reverse feedback to the specific projects they support.
Social Contract:
As a company, we need certainty. In our opninion, debian will never die. It would be crazy to pay up for, say RHEL if you can have the same kind of support from the debian mailing lists (and google).

Conclusion
practically everything positive!
If you need to run a bleeding edge desktop and have all the latest packages, us this branch, for _everything_ else, use sarge
 
Old 06-04-2004, 11:31 AM   #19
sk545
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 312

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Apt, upgrading.
Cons: Installing it, but its gotten better.


Best Linux, bar none for all the reasons given by people above.
 
Old 12-06-2004, 02:55 PM   #20
michux
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 76

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: easy way of installing software and upgrade the system, package management, largest software repository, knoppix and other debian based distros
Cons: occacional dependency errors, installation may be tricky for a newbie


Debian has been my favorite operating system for almost 2 years now and it's not going to change from one day to another. But I'm still searching and checking out other distros just to be up-to-date with everything that's happening in the Linux world.
Right now, I'm using debian on 3 of my home machines - debian sarge on the firewall/server machine (Celeron 455Mhz, 128MB), and 2 debian sids on mine and my wife's standalone computer and my private laptop.

Debian basically develops in 3 main lines:
- a stable line, which is now called woody - which is really very stable but a little outdated now, suitable for server computers
- a testing line, now called sarge - this is a fairly up-to-dat line, packages in which there were no errors detected for over 2 weeks go in here automagically
- an unstable line, always called sid (still in development) - here there are always the latest packages and the biggest chance something screws up :)

I chose the UNSTABLE branch, called SID (still in development, or cartoon character's name) because it's the most up to date branch and offers the largest number of packages, and I really like to screw my system up once in a while :)

So why did I choose Debian Linux?, and not gentoo, slack, redhat, mandrake or PLD?
There's lots of reasons why, of course. But the main is that Debian helps me use my computer without any problems (leisure is the key word here) but still gives me the stability, ease of configuration and appropriate security when needed.
A little more detailed list of pros and cons below...

Pros:
- Very easy way of installing software. Any program can be installed by typing in a command line the magical words: apt-get install [program] (or if someone likes graphical tools, choose it in the package list using a program called synaptic). The rest, including downloading, installation and configuration is fully automatic
- Totally easy way to upgrade the system. The magical command: apt-get dist-upgrade does it all! you can only go and drink some coffee in the meantime and go back within an hour to see a fresh and clean new system on your desktop!
- Good package management. For example, uninstalling package kdm (graphical session manager) triggers a question for the substitute manager to use (wdm,gdm or maybe xdm?). Logical way of autoconfiguring the packages, with proper quiestions asked sometimes by the configuration took (ie. debconf)
- The largest software repository of all Linux dristributions provided. I'm not sure how many packages there are exactly, but the fact that I only had to install 3 or 4 packages manually during my whole experience with Debian is quite descriptive.
- Intuitive and traditional way of installing the system (I'm talking about the new sarge installer which is reall a nice job)
- Configuration management is easy - everything configurable is located in /etc directory, and usually is called by the program, i.e. for hdparm it's hdparm.conf, etc.
- Lots of lots of others :)

Cons:
- Some dependency errors that sometimes occur when upgrading the whole system - this happens only in sid version, which is understandable, but even those errors are usually fixed within a few hours or at most 1-2 days by the package developer.
- Installation may be tricky for a newbie. You have to be aware of some basic things like: what is an MBR sector of the disk, what are the partitions and how to divide them, or how is your system hardware configured? If one does nothing and doesn't want to know anything about such things, Mandrake is a better choice, I guess.
 
Old 06-19-2005, 10:17 PM   #21
stefan_nicolau
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Debian Etch/Sid, Ubuntu
Posts: 529

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: apt, software packages, up to date
Cons: broken packages (sometimes), steep learning curve


Debian is the distribution that has by far the most software packages (over 15,000 official packages). Apt automatically checks and resolves dependencies, builds lists of updatable packages and gets them from debian mirrors. The unstable release has the latest software, but the packages and dependencies are sometimes broken. See http://www.debian.org/releases/unstable/ .

Packages work however a lot better than rpms, as all debian packages are intended to integrate in debian systems, and you don't get rpm-style dependency nightmares, as all the packages are packaged by debian.

The only problem for newbies is the somewhat steep learning curve, but it is well worth it. (And, the learning curve is not as steep as Gentoo) The installer is harder to use than the almost automatic fedora or suse installers, but it gives you more control over the system. On the other hand, it is easyer to install than Gentoo.

The system provides many automatic configuration utilities, but it does not rely on them so much as to make it impossible to do without them, or control the configuration files manually.

It is also good that Debian comes in three releases ( http://www.debian.org/releases/ ), as you can chose the one that suits you most:
Stable: old but tested software
Testing: newer, but still tested software
Unstable: new and untested software

Overall, Debian is a good intermediate distribution, half-way between SUSE and Gentoo. A good choice for those wanting to really start learning Linux.
 
Old 10-02-2005, 01:57 AM   #22
tejing
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: apt, apt, apt, apt, and did I mention apt? oh, and the fact that it's 100% GPL, and not the newbie-friendliest of distros (pro or con, depending on whether you are a newbie)
Cons: not the newbie-friendliest of distros (pro or con, depending on whether you are a newbie)


apt is, quite simply, superb. In SID, things are on the bleeding edge, so sometimes updates will cause something to not quite work, but if it's at all bad, it's usually fixed in only a few days. However if you're not terribly linux-savvy or you mind having your computer just not being usable for a day every once in a while (edit:I felt I should clarify that "once in a while" is between 6 months and several years, depending on how good you are at working around problems (compare that to windows... 3 weeks or so for me)) when you update at a bad moment, go with testing (in debian, "stable" means "old, probably won't run on your hardware").
 
Old 03-04-2006, 10:29 AM   #23
baldy1324
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Distribution: debian unstable/SID
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: apt and dpkg, very stable environment, TONS of packages, plain linux no Ubuntu Updater, EXTEREMLY up to date
Cons: broken packages


debian sid (unstable) is (in my opinion) the best distro out there. i like any kind of debian b/c you get what linux IS, not gnome with Mandrivia control center and Redhat up2date. i think it is one of the more non-newbie distros but hey it was my first distro (stable). if someone is worried about non-gpl (non-free packages) not being available, just add non-free in your sources.list and thats done. despite the distro being "unstable" it is actually more stable than arch linux, suse, feodora, and many other distros in my opinion. the reason it is unstable, is that it has broken packages. this means every once in a while when you try to install a package-there will be some kind of dependency, non-existing.... error. however since the packages have not been tested, this is normal--and in a couple of days this will be corrected. so if you get errors, wait a couple of days and the developers will have fixed it. the reason i use sid, is b/c the packages are almost always up-to-date. the only distros that are as up-to-date are source distros and arch linux. i came from ubuntu and tried it and hated it, b/c they said it was based off of debian sid, but they freeze sids packages every 6 months. so you must wait 6 months for the new packages. if the broken packages scare you (which they shouldn't) then try debian testing (it's the most stable distro ive every tried besides debian stable).

try debian sid!!!
 
Old 03-07-2006, 09:47 PM   #24
lavluda
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Debian sid, Suse 9.3 pro, Mandrake 10.0, Redhat 7-9, FC-2,3, Gentoo 2006,2006.1
Posts: 89

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: apt, software packages, up to date
Cons: not got yet


I tried so many destro last 1 years, At last i stop the journey with Debian Sid. Really good. I never need to think to delete my partation to install the new virsion. I am always getting the newest packages using simple apt . I really like. Generally i am a web developer. I use this, as my main os (Also test others os, in other partation).
 
Old 10-22-2006, 08:49 AM   #25
introuble
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Debian -unstable
Posts: 700

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: apt
Cons: broken dependencies from time to time [not as problematic as it may seem]


I find Debian "unstable" as stable as they get. Minor dependency issues appear from time to time but they (usually) get fixed in a timely manner.

A very nice distribution.
 
Old 11-16-2006, 02:00 AM   #26
esters
 
Registered: Oct 2006
Distribution: Slackware 12.2
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Apt-get <- the name tells it all | Easy to configure / use
Cons: No single configuration file for modules,daemons, locales and networkin ( aka Arch Linux)


The simplicity of apt is simply great, also the huge amount of packages is great , but after trying Arch linux i was a bit dissapointed, because it had rc.conf and there is no alternative(if there is tell me) to configure locale,timezone,kernel modules and daemons to load on boot-up, but despite that Debian is simply great.
 
Old 05-27-2007, 04:05 PM   #27
angryfirelord
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 498

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: up-to-date without too much instability
Cons: some things do get broken once in a while


Debian Sid isn't really a distribution like Ubuntu or Fedora. Rather, it's created when someone points their sources.list to either unstable or sid (both mean the same thing).

What happens is new packages are consistantly uploaded to the sid branch, resulting in a very up-to-date system. However, these packages aren't as well tested as those in Stable. Despite this, many users (including myself) have had very little problems with Sid.

If you happen to have some free space, dist-upgrade a Debian install to Sid and try it yourself.
 
Old 09-30-2007, 06:56 AM   #28
txHarleyMan
 
Registered: Aug 2007
Distribution: Debian Testing/Sid
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: The /real/ power of Debian
Cons: Gotta be careful


I recently moved off Etch onto testing/sid managing a mixed release. Actually, the only pkg I have pulled from sid so far is VLC...

But this is where the true power of Debian lies, unlike any other distribution ( I have seen anyway ). Pinning is /almost/ non-essential anymore with an apt.conf file setup.

I am extremely pleased so far that I did this. But one must be careful.
 
Old 06-05-2008, 11:33 PM   #29
Raynus
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Distribution: Gentoo 10.1
Posts: 112

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: updated , stable than some other released dist,
Cons: somes of package broken ,unresolve dependency


Many people were feared by Sid , as its going to broke down

that take me much of time before make a decision, and find out that Sid isnt as my though.

it has more statility than some other dist i've faced before.

i'm very pleased now, as being Sid user
 
Old 06-17-2008, 08:33 AM   #30
justaguynpc
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Debian Sid
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very cutting edge / Debian is outstanding
Cons: What cons?


Initially installed testing on desktop, dual booting with another linux distro. I then installed sidux, on both desktop and laptop. Am keeping sidux on laptop while desktop has both sid and sidux, couldn't be more satisfied.

You simply can't go wrong with debian,regardless of which version you install. I would recommend starting with stable until you are comfortable then decide how far you want to go with it. My distro-hopping days are over............debian has it all.

You will always be supported with debian's knowledgeable community, be warned they have their dyed-in-the-wool "curmudgeons."
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration