LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

ArchBang Linux 2011.02
Reviews Views Date of last review
1 13216 07-07-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.0



Description: "ArchBang 2011.02 is out in the wild! New Linux kernel 2.6.37; Thunar properly configured; look changed a bit; base-devel added; documentation updated; from now on there will be no code name, the format will simply be ArchBang-YYYY.MM. If you have Symbiosis fully updated with everything working perfectly, you donít need to get this release. Future releases of ArchBang will pretty much have the same set of applications (unless there is a new breathtaking application available). Note: Some people experienced random kernel panic with the new 2.6.37 because they forgot to blacklist some modules that normally had to be disabled for their Broadcom wireless card."
Keywords: Arch-based kernel-2.6.37 base-devel


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-07-2011, 04:41 PM   #1
kazuya1977
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: crunchbang (debian squeeze), ubuntu 11.04, archbang (archlinux), salix 64, chakra, mepis
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, minilisticly gorgeous, much easier approach to installing archlinux, rolling-release, everything just works, speedy all-round system
Cons: Lacking of gui interface front-end for pacman (e.g synaptic for Debian); not



This distro is simply awesome. The bad part about this distro is that it ruined my distro-hopping tendencies. Itís installation process although very easy for an intermediate linux user might be slightly challenging for a totally beginning user.

Current Kernel is the 2.6.37 which is free of that power regression bug currently existent in 2.6.38.

This distro is like what vectorlinux did for slackware.

It is the easiest or fastest means of getting archlinux goodness. It comes with packer which is a cli front-end for pacman and AUR (community packages)

Of all the distros I have used recently {Crunchbang(Debian-based), Ubuntu, Salix(slack-based, none comes as fast in performance.

Even after adding and using gnome 3 in my archbang post install, my cpu & RAM usage is way less. This is on a 4 gig RAM acer laptop with core 2 duo processor.

I also find the community in archbang one of the most friendly and competent one.

Thanks to this distro I can see myself installing and easily administering this arch-based distro on a beginner's PC.

It is advisable to actually install archlinux core to better appreciate the effort made in this distro.

Archbang is my new distro of choice for performance, functionality, bleeding-edge, and customizability.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration