LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Pardus Linux 2011
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 20650 05-23-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
67% of reviewers None indicated 7.7



Description: "Pardus Linux 2011 is now available. Major features in this release are: the latest Linux kernel 2.6.37 provides an up-to-date hardware support; the bootsplash technology used in Pardus 2009.2 is replaced by the new Plymouth engine; YALI, the installer of Pardus, gained LVM/RAID and UUID support; Pardus 2011 comes with the latest KDE 4.5.5; Kaptan, the desktop customization tool, now optionally captures your picture and sets it as your avatar in KDE; GNOME NetworkManager 0.8.2 is now the default networking back-end; all GTK+ applications are rendered with Oxygen style; LibreOffice is the default office suite; Mozilla Firefox 4.0 beta 9 is the default web browser."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.37 Plymouth Kaptan LibreOffice


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-16-2011, 08:54 PM   #1
silvyus_06
 
Registered: Oct 2010
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.04 , Linux Mint Debian Edition , Microsoft Windows 7
Posts: 386

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: It's nice, has the necessary codecs for mp3 play, nice first startup setup menu.
Cons: i can't get my wireless to work through it, but that happens with all KDE distros



i got this pardus live dvd , and i love it! it's awesme.. but i just can't get my wireless to work.

that always happens with KDE for me.

anyways, it;'s awesome i can recommend it.
 
Old 05-03-2011, 12:54 AM   #2
Freebird
 
Registered: Apr 2011
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: As a new Linux convert I am very impressed with the "out of box" experience!
Cons: A bit better support environment would be useful. It's coming soon.


As a new linux convert I am very impressed with Pardus 2011.
Don't underestimate me when I say that this is the very first Linux install that has "hooked" me. There are sound reasons for this. The main reason is that all my stuff works right out of the box.
The learning curve for Linux distros is usually too intensive due to the fact that one needs to be able to at least get the basics up and running quick enough to actually "use" their computer for actual work while they are learning the basics.
Pardus is the first one to accomplish this for me. If someone runs into an insurmountable obstacle up front it will send them back to Windows and they usually will not return despite their intention to return.
Very easy install and setup.
Pardus offered enough running programs in a polished presentation to make me feel like it's ready for prime-time and that I would be able to survive the learning curve in the meanwhile.
LibreOffice will meet my needs well enough to easily replace MS Office.
Firefox and Opera were there.
Flash plays out of the box.
I "accidently" discovered that my HDTV card was recognized by Kaffeine. What a joy that was!
Lots of personal note tracking progs.
Thunderbird sucked up my email addys and had them running in a blink.
On and on goes the wonderful experience I am having with Pardus!
The little problems that I will eventually iron out are nothing compared to the liberating experience I enjoy from dumping Windows.
I'm enjoying the fresh air of Linux and I am here to stay thanks to Pardus!
 
Old 05-23-2011, 01:07 PM   #3
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,221

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Good, stable software
Cons: Erratic networking, missing help


Firstly, beware of the live DVD: you can't install from it! The installer is simple and effective, similar to Fedora's Anaconda. When you reboot, it runs the configuration tool Kaptan, which is a very good idea. It could be better: it asks which wallpaper and icons you prefer, but not about more vital things like font hinting.

A good selection of software is installed, and the programs seem stable. All media codecs and flash are pre-installed.

This is not a distro for older computers. My first start-up was very slow until the message "desktop effects were too slow and have been suspended" appeared. It's bloated even by KDE standards: running Firefox and Writer, it used 800MB, compared with 350MB in Fedora.

At first, the graphical package manager did not work. It turned out to have no means of downloading repository data: I had to use the command line to do that. Testing the CLI tool, "pisi search opera" found opera, but also wesnoth and a dozen other things! Package management obviously needs some work.

On a couple of occasions, Pardus started with no ethernet connection. There is no tool to activate it, so I was reduced to doing things in the CLI, and finally to rebooting. A previous poster has also had problems with a wireless connection.

Another problem I discovered at that point was that I had no help. The KDE help tool complained that it had no manuals, and I couldn't find any to install.

KDE lovers will be better off with PCLinuxOS or Mepis.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration