LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Red Hat
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Red Hat WS 3 Update 1
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 59313 07-15-2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $89.00 7.8



Description: Red Hat Enterprise Linux, Version 3 Introduced in September 2003, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, version 3, includes a broad range of new features:

* Support for seven architectures: Intel X86, Intel Itanium, AMD AMD64 and IBM zSeries, iSeries, pSeries, and S/390.

* 4-4 memory split: Increased kernel & user address space for X86 systems, allowing support for 64GB of main memory and larger user applications.

* Native Posix Thread Library: A new high-performance multi-threading capability provides improved performance for multi-threaded applications.

* Based on Linux 2.4.21 kernel: Red Hat Enterprise Linux uses the latest stable Linux kernel with numerous additions from the Linux 2.5/2.6 kernels.

* Improved scalability: Support for larger SMP, memory and I/O systems allows version 3 to support servers approximately twice the size of version 2.1.

* Forward compatibility: Version 3 includes compatibility libraries so it can run version 2.1 applications without modification.

* Improved desktop: Includes Red Hat's Bluecurve graphical user interface, and a comprehensive set of personal productivity applications.

* Enhanced security: Includes several new security features, including support for file system ACLs.

* Bundled Stronghold: Red Hat's secure web server solution, previously available as a separate layered product for Enterprise Linux AS, has been updated to Apache version 2 and included as part of the base Red Hat Enterprise Linux product set.

* Improved compiler/tools: Includes GCC 3.2 and debugging/profiling tools.

* Logical Volume Manager: Provides enterprise-strength storage management.

* Diskless systems: Supports deployment of diskless clients.

* Enhanced Java: Java implementations from BEA and IBM.

* Enhanced networking: Includes numerous features to improve stability & performance.
Keywords: Red Hat Linux Workstation Update 1


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-19-2004, 03:40 PM   #1
refields
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Red Hat 9, WS 3
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, very similar to Red Hat 9
Cons: None yet - but I'm a noob and not stressing it much yet



I d/l'ed this distro from Red Hat since I had an entitlement that allowed the free upgrade and access to the Up2Date library until this summer. I was looking for an OS that took the best of RH9 but gave me more built-ins and had a stronger support path for the future. Obviously RH has to watch their resources, but I felt a little cheated by them EOL'ing RH9 so fast. And I am no fan of the cost to stay on the subscription once my original one expires. Way too pricey IMHO. Anyway, so far I am very pleased with the OS, install, and the supplied goodies. I'm mo-deadly a Linux fan and RHEL WS3 U1 has done nothing to dampen that for now. I may feel different when I get closer to having to pony up for the RHN subscription for this distro.
 
Old 03-25-2004, 02:38 PM   #2
sgtbob
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: Windows 7, iMAC Lion 8.5, Ubuntu
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $89.00 | Rating: 9

Pros: Ease of installation
Cons: Sound Card and Partitioning problems


I bought this pacakge when I discovered that Redhat was not going to support RH 9 past April, 2004. I have not wrung the system out, but hope to replace my Win XP at some point. Right now still learning the OS - very extensive package with lots of items to study. Going back to DOS type commands is a bit daunting, but the GUI is somewhat familair to those of us weaned on Windows. All in all a good OS with lots of potential. Price not unreasonable, even if it is similar to a lease option with anual renewals. So far tech support has been through the web site, which takes 2-3 days on turnaround. Telephone support is not unlike all others - cobwebs grow which holding on lne after dialing into 4-6 different queues. Guess that is the wave of the future if you aren't knowledgeable about the system. Still- it is a great package.
 
Old 03-20-2005, 06:17 PM   #3
trickykid
 
Registered: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,133

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Stable Support
Cons: Pricey


Rising costs and slow updates, we've already starting making the switch to CentOS 4.0 for all of our developers who use Linux on the desktop.
 
Old 07-15-2007, 10:33 AM   #4
arif_moin
 
Registered: Jun 2007
Distribution: Ubuntu 7
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Ease of install, good networking platform
Cons: DEPENDENCY ERROR nightmare!


I would like to start off by saying I'm a noob (just so not to piss off seasoned users).

Instillation was easy enough. The default packages were decent enough- the auto detect got my modem working and I generally had no issues building progs from source & making executables w/ binaries for new software (ex: mplayer).

However, trying to update existing libs like glib is a B#$CH w/ the "dependency error" nightmare. Especially when you try installing through RPMs. The only sane way of upgrading the system seems to be through RHN. That reeks too much of M$.

Now that I've ported to a true free Linux platform (Ubuntu), I kind of feel cheated, now that I think of my experience with RHEL. Don't get me wrong, I had some fond memories w/ RHEL.

Such as the video output quality. With 3dfx support, the video quality in mplayer using the xv codec totally rocked- MUCH better than "The playa" or "Windows Media Player" with the latest DivX/ M$ video codecs installed.

But the dependency errors were way too much for me. (I tried to get my updates w/o connecting to RHN). To install application X, it will say you need A, B, C. If you get A, it will tell you it needs D, E, F. If you get D, you get pointed towards G, H, I. It went on and on and on. To a point I'd forget what it is I was actually installing.

Also, softwares like XCDRoast wouldn't work with DVD support enabled (even if I followed the incorporations instructions by the book).

However, if I was building from source and I was installing a new piece of software, it was perfect.

But whatever said or done, I'll always cherish my memories of RHEL because it was my first escape away from the clutches of the crashsoft (microsoft) series.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration