LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Puppy
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Puppy Linux 5.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 19346 10-17-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.5



Description: "To create Lucid Puppy 5.2 we began with the popular Lucid Puppy 5.1.1. We then upgraded, updated, and/or improved all of the main programs as well as many of the other programs in the menu and system. We have incorporated numerous improvements from the latest version of Barry Kauler's Puppy builder, Woof. We have refined operation throughout. The first thing up is a very tidy Quickset dialog to accept or change video resolution, time zone, language, locale and keyboard. Next up could be the browser installer with browser default allowing you to change which one you use as the default. And then there's Quickpet with as much good stuff as a Swiss army knife."
Keywords: Woof Quickset Quickpet


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-21-2011, 11:33 PM   #1
oldsweatyguy
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Distribution: Lucid Puppy 5.2.5, Slackware 12.2
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Small, light, fast. Excellent Bash scripting. Genuine effort shown by developers to improve and meet the real needs of users.
Cons: Repositories small and slow, documentation and dependency resolution just as bad as most linux distros (and Windows 9x)



Why yes? Because it is a great learning experience and will teach you the limits of your hardware. And your patience. Linux isn't wonderful, but it's worth the trip. I have to say, though, I'm glad there's no limit on the amount of times you can reinstall this - the learning curve here should be measured in dog years. Its shell is... siiigh... non-standard. The documentation made me want my Mommy. As a whole, it is as inconsistent as everything else humans build. In other words, it's the perfect introduction to the world of Linux. I love it. I don't care how many times it messes the carpet, I love it.

Two things:

This is a T2 distro. Not Ubuntu, or Debian, or Slackware.

Barry Kauler caught the recent kernel problem and fixed it. Puppy 5.2 works because he rolled back the kernel. I've been distro hopping and he's one of the few who caught this. And yes, I can burn a CD and verify downloads. Yes, I'm sweaty and cranky.

Oh, yes, and something that may seem small to many but is a major irritant to me: Puppy Linux treats me like an adult. PERMANENT ROOT. It should tickle me that my irony collection grows every time I read a linux booster call Windows a Legacy Operating system and try to tell me the desktop system I built with my own two hands from spare parts - gasp, wheeze, where's my blood pressure meds - needs to be protected from me, its only user, by signing in and out as root to do some simple system modification. Man, you can tell I'm happily married and don't have any real problems if I have to complain about that, but really!! I left Windows bacause I found it too restrictive. Therefore...

Thank you, Mr. Kauler et al, for your wonderful little gem. It is cute and cuddly and it uses (gasp!) proprietary drivers too!! Though my kernel be tainted, yea, I shall rejoice, for my computer loveth thy Puppy.
 
Old 02-02-2011, 10:31 PM   #2
tincan2
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: small, fast, stable
Cons: some learning curve


Coming from windows this made the pc fun.
 
Old 03-28-2011, 02:05 PM   #3
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,229

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Handy for what it was intended for
Cons: Tricky to adapt to your own purposes


Puppy is intended for specific purposes: running on a small computer (128MB+), running off a USB stick or CD without installing, installing on a Windows box without creating a new partition, etc.

Normally, it runs from the CD and achieves responsiveness by copying itself onto a RAM disk. If you want to install, it offers a choice of
1. frugal install: the 3 files on the CD are copied onto the HD (not necessarily in their own partition) and it still copies itself onto a RAM disk when it's booted. You might call this a "live HD option"
2. full install: a conventional system, with the usual Linux filing system in a partition. Unfortunately, whatever I try, I can't get this version to work: kernel panics, invalid executable, etc.

On my home-built desktop Puppy ran fine, but it will not run on my old Thinkpad: kernel panic!

The default software is unfortunate. Version 5.0 included Seamonkey, but this has Sylpheed for mail and Dillo for browsing. Dillo just doesn't have enough functionality for most people's needs. Puppy as good as admits this: Dillo is in the menu, but if you click on the desktop icon, it asks you which browser you want to install!

Media codecs are there by default and, if you install Firefox, you have Flash.
 
Old 10-17-2012, 03:07 PM   #4
REDPOPE
 
Registered: Oct 2012
Distribution: Slako Puppy
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: It is compatible with older laptops
Cons: feels like a linux windows J.K


I hate that sea monkey, it did not felt right, I end up using The real firefox,and drowning that crazy monkey.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration