LinuxQuestions.org
LinuxAnswers - the LQ Linux tutorial section.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandriva Linux 2010.2 Mandriva Linux 2010.2
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 33434 12-18-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers None indicated 6.9



Description: "Welcome the Mandriva 2010.2 release which is coming to a mirror nearby you right now. As announced previously, Mandriva 2010.2 is an incremental update on top of Mandriva 2010.1, incorporating all the security and bug-fix updates since its release. Just to give you some statistics about what changes in 2010.2 when comparing to 2010.1, these are some of the numbers. Since the 2010.1 release, the security team has released a total of 5,055 RPMs via official updates, counting both security and bug-fix advisories, across 272 different packages. With such a big number of updated packages, we decided to release an updated version incorporating these packages."
Keywords: Security-updates bug-fixes


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 01-05-2011, 07:27 PM   #1
Olle Gladso
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.1 powerpack
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very good hardware detection. Good software selection. Polished interface.
Cons: Latest kernel does not run well on my Toshiba laptop.



Excellent distribution. For me it works better than any other OS, including Windows and Apple. I can do most anything, write presentations, edit, process, and embed videos.
I heartily recommend Mandriva 2010.2
 
Old 01-12-2011, 07:36 PM   #2
rjcooks
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Distribution: Fedora & openSUSE ...Mandriva-2010.1.
Posts: 81

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Very large software selection.
Cons: Same as 2010.1, only worse. Buggy.


Stick with 2010.1 if you have it. If not then get 2010.1 and perform the updates. When done you will have 2010.2 only it will work properly. (...well it does here.)

I am very disappointed in this release. It is the worst I have tried to use since 7.0(the good ol' Mandrake Linux days) and except for the gcc-2.96 based stuff I have used them all.

It is hard to understand how they could make a release that is no more than the updates applied to 2010.1. It is even harder to understand how they could screw it up. Perhaps because there was no normal public Alpha-Beta-RC cycle?

I wish them luck but 2010.1 is probably going to be the last one I use. ...
 
Old 01-13-2011, 01:01 PM   #3
ichase
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, worked great multibooting,
Cons: Wireless was still a pain to set up, but that is a linux thing,


I cut me linux teeth on Mandriva and have continued to be impressed. I loaded 2010.1 and performed the updates that brought it to 2010.2.
I agree with rjcooks when a simple update was put out as a new release. It's 2010.1 with updates??
With the recent fork and potential end of Mandriva, it was nice to see it continue.
Updating was easy, and installing on a multi-boot system in which Grub-2 is hosting, being Mandriva uses Legacy grub I was pleasantly surprised that it ran with out a hick-up. Ok, slight hickup but was easily fixed by editing the grub file in the hosting OS.

I highly recommend Mandriva, it's a great, easy to use OS.
 
Old 01-27-2011, 07:42 PM   #4
Cornholio007
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Ease of obtaining software.
Cons: Nvidia driver implementation horribly broken.


I like mandriva 2010 because it is one of few distros that support raid 0 on install, and can boot from the array. For the most part software is easy to obtain and install. Just don't allow the hardware manager to install your Nvidia video drivers because they don't work as of 10-2010. Tried several methods to install them but to no avail. Ubuntu 10.10 installed them correctly from hardware manager. It seemed as though Mandriva was trying to install drivers partially from one version, and partially from another.
 
Old 02-05-2011, 02:35 PM   #5
stefragre
 
Registered: May 2005
Distribution: fedora 3, suse, mandrake
Posts: 10

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Typically MANDRIVA
Cons: missing most proprietary codecs


No real surprises, as good as always. That said, one can see where this once great distro went wrong. After all; PCLinuxOS
was no fluke, it picked up where Mandriva fell short. And of course those darn proprietary codecs helped too.
 
Old 02-08-2011, 04:27 PM   #6
gadiy
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros:
Cons:


Привет... хочу скачать себе данный дистрибутив!!!
 
Old 02-24-2011, 01:20 PM   #7
mandrivian
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Distribution: Mandriva
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: almost flawless linux distro
Cons: much hardware resource needed


it is really excellent linux distro, out of the box.
i use it for my notebook pavilion dv2, my pc with amd athlon64 X2, also my web, mail and dns server.
everything is working fine, the configuration trough konsole became more handy
 
Old 03-15-2011, 12:55 AM   #8
QBall2U
 
Registered: Apr 2007
Distribution: The latest one is Mint Linux but I'm still looking into others.
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


@ichase: Mandriva forked? I guess it shows that I've not been following Mandriva lately...I've installed it off & on since the Mandrake days but I'm pretty hard on Operating Systems, they just never seem to last long for me before I do something to 'break' them! Or else, I'll see some other distro that looks cool and install it (and 'break' it or see yet another distro...).

So...where & what did Mandriva fork to (in case I cannot find it on my own...which is likely)?

Thanks,
QBall

EDIT: oops! It'd helped if I had scrolled down to read other comments! ;) stefragre answered my ? on what Mandriva forked to ... I'd forgotten about that! :o
 
Old 04-28-2011, 11:04 AM   #9
coboltblue75
 
Registered: Apr 2011
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: excellent hardware detection particularly with invida video cards
Cons: a bit fiddly wit hATI stuff


excellent

low resource usage

2gig single core pc 512meg video card 1gig ram

had 5 video consoles open was capturing 3 streams and only using 80% of the CPU and 50% ram

tried same thing on a windows box it soiled its self as soon as I opened the second video console
BTW the windows box had 2gig of ram and a 1 gig video card this is one of the many reasons I say go with Linux

now have
3gig quad core 64bit 2gig Video card 8gig of ram I have not been able to tax it out
 
Old 12-18-2011, 09:46 PM   #10
zeebra
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia 3, Debian Wheezy, Maemo, Linux Mint 14.
Posts: 170

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: hardware detection, package selection, philosophy
Cons: difficult to forge new kernel with ati due to DKMS


best distro I have tried by a large margin.

I also have tried:
Ubuntu
SuSE
Fedora
Debian
Slackware
PcLinuxOS
Kubuntu
FreeBSD
Knoppix
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration