LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 2010.12
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 32046 07-03-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers None indicated 7.6



Description: "PCLinuxOS 2010.12 holiday CDs are now available for KDE, GNOME, LXDE, Xfce and Enlightenment desktops featuring the latest updates from the PCLinuxOS software repository. All CDs feature Linux kernel 2.6.33.7bfs for maximum desktop performance, NVIDIA and ATI fglrx driver support, multimedia playback support for many popular formats, wireless support for many network devices, and printer support for many local and networked printer devices. 'Addlocale' allows you to convert PCLinuxOS into over 60 languages. 'GetOpenOffice' can install OpenOffice.org supporting over 100 languages. 'MyLiveCD' allows you to take a snapshot of your installation and burn it to a live CD or DVD. PCLinuxOS 'liveusb' allows you to install PCLinuxOS on a USB key disk."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.33.7-bfs Addlocale GetOpenOffice MyLiveCD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 02-16-2011, 01:19 AM   #1
hilly
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu, PCLinuxOS & Debian (KDE)
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Usually very stable, excellent Forums, It Just Works
Cons: No 64 bit version as yet



I have used PCLinuxOS on and off since 2007 and really like the OS but since upgrading my PC hardware when the old one bit the dust I went to 64 bit with 6gb of memory. Now I see it as ridiculous not being able to make good use of that memory by being unable to run a 64 bit system and that is my only reason for not continuously running PCLinuxOS.
Tex (Distro main man) is brilliant and generally sticks to his guns and only delivers something when it is ready and not before.

If and when any user runs into problems with their setup I have seen that the help on offer is usually first class. The repositories have a very good selection of software for users. The latest variant of the OS (2010.12) also now offers scripts to run certain setups for the user and it is something a few of the other main distros should seriously consider copying - well done Tex and other maintainers.

One thing I would impress on any new users of PCLinuxOS is that they do take the time to read the forum notes for newcomers as it offers very sound advice for updates and the like and if the users follow that advice they usually won't have need to come back for other help. it is when they don't follow correct procedures (as with any OS) that they will run into trouble - PCLOS has taken the time to give them the heads up - they just need to follow it.

As has been said by many reviewers of PCLOS, it is a good one for people who have become very Windows orientatet as it is an easy OS to switch to from Windows.

Just one further thing, PCLinux also has several forks now such as Gnome and Enlightenment versions to name two. I have used Enlightenment recently and it also is a beautiful OS to use and is a well pulled together distro for anyone interested who is itching to try e17.
 
Old 02-17-2011, 08:50 PM   #2
raycleve
 
Registered: Dec 2006
Distribution: PCLinuxOS e17
Posts: 14

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


It works right from installation. I did have to identify my monitor as the installer did not correctly identify it.
 
Old 04-11-2011, 09:01 AM   #3
tuxandpucks
 
Registered: Mar 2011
Distribution: Ubuntu, Arch
Posts: 24

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


I agree about the lack of 64bit. I have recently been looking for a replacement for my Ubuntu installs and I would love to use PCLOS but I won't without a 64bit install - for the very reason you stated.
 
Old 05-10-2011, 11:35 PM   #4
Trio3b
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: MDV 2008.1, PCLinuxOS,
Posts: 315

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Polished distro, right blend of apps for home office, great hdwr support
Cons: KDE4 still needs tweaking but finally very usable


PCLOS 2012.12 on Compaq CQ50 2.4ghz CPU / 2gb RAM

Was very dissapointed in KDE4 a while back but now with this new release, Texstar has done another bangup job providing just the right blend of stability and cutting edge.KDE4 is now seeing the backlash and I believe has folded some of the maturity of KDE3 functionality back into its desktop.

Installation was a breeze, taking its cue (I believe)from Mandrivas second to none installer. Mobile 4 graphics,82801 HD audio,RTL8101E ethernet, Atheros 5001 wireless all found and configured (Wifi indicator light even works).

Texstar doesn't choke the menus with doubles and triples of everything. LibreOffice, xsane,DigiKam, Gwenview, Dolphin, (Konqueror or Krusader available), grsync,ksnapshot, FireFox, Okular, K3b, KmPlayer, VLC and others round out a perfect home office software selection.

Synaptic is a huge improvement over Mandrivas urpmi for package management. I have NEVER, EVER run into dependency issues.Synaptic is just more intuitive. Flash, AdobeReader and other non-free stuff is readily available in the PCLOS repos without having to hunt down obscure repos like some other distros.

PCLOS management takes it's cue from the Mandriva Control Center which is simply the best all round GUI admin center compared to other distros where these tools are spread out all over their menus.

As mentioned, forums are full of a very knowledgable user base. Properly updating the system is plainly illustrated in the forums. PCLOS also comes with other desktop environments. Texstar himself cruises the forums answering questions.And as a sole proprieter he is not beholden to any pressure to RBR (release before ready).

Still using PCLOS 2009.1 and MDV 2008.1 on my production machines but this release is in line to take over my Small business needs.

Having used, *buntu, Fedora, Puppy, Vector, SAM, Slack, Mint and others, this is The distro for those seeking relief from Windows or Linux distros that just don't cut it.

Go Texstar !
 
Old 06-21-2011, 04:54 PM   #5
XenaneX
 
Registered: Jan 2009
Distribution: PClinuxOS
Posts: 112

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: I have yet to find anything better than PCLinuxOS
Cons: KDE 4 and above


I've stuck with the 2009 version for the most part due to the fact I can't live without Konqueror file manager in that version.

64 bit would be nice but not totally necessary. I realize it might take a lot of work to upgrade the OS to 64 bit.

PCLinuxOS now has a fist full of versions and the XFCE one is emerging as one of my favorites. I'm waiting for a newer version before installing it permanently.

As an alternative, I'm looking at ArchBang which is 64 bit and looks sharp. Other than that, I can't find anything else to compare with PCLinuxOS.
 
Old 07-03-2011, 03:27 PM   #6
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,060

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros:
Cons: Missing configuration files in the Xfce version


This is a review of the Xfce version: the satisfied users above are presumably all KDE users.

Unlike in the KDE one, all software seemed stable, but there is even less of it. As well as having no office software, there is no pdf viewer, and not even a picture viewer. This is explained on the website as due to lack of space, yet other distros seem to fit it all in.

The worst thing is that the keyboard shortcuts are missing, even things like Alt-F4; there are no entries in the user's configuration file and the /etc/xfce/ directory is completely missing. It’s easy enough to create shortcuts to launch programs, but who knows the command for ‘go to the next workspace’? There are much better Xfce distros than this.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration