LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware 9.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
27 82603 07-09-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers $28.70 9.4



Description: Slackware 9.0 the latest stable release from Patrick Volkerding, one of the original Linux distributions, still going strong.
Keywords: Slackware user-friendly Unix-like


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-16-2003, 04:00 AM   #1
tireseas
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10 & 10.1
Posts: 149

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy installation, great system for learning *Nix, high 'feelgood' factor
Cons: Because it is a great system for learning, it does require effort on the part of the user to learn it to derive full benefit from it.



My rating would be 'Excellent', except that I am nowhere near experienced nor sufficiently adept at using the Slack distro to its full capacities. But certainly, it is a great system.

The installation process uses a text-mode approach which is pretty straightforward, although - as with any other distro - be sure to do some preliminary reading about the distro first. The best source of info is http://www.slackware.com and also the site of the Slackware book available for on-line reading at http://slackware.com/book/ . There is also another site that is not Slack specific but one that I would certainly recommend because of the discussion on Slackware (and other distros) and especially configuring a *secure* Slack system - http://jetblackz.freeservers.com .

I installed Slackware onto a Mitac 7321 laptop and was very pleasantly surprised when all the various components were auto-detected (makes life a lot easier). However, LILO didn't install successfully and so I boot with a stiffy but that's not really a problem once a boot routine is developed. Once the set-up/installation process had completed I rebooted and was faced with the familiar white text of the terminal, and did a couple of basic configuration changes with JOE - e.g. changing the /etc/hosts.deny config file, shutting down some unnecessary services, the init level so that when the machine boots it boots into init level 4 (X Windows system), etc., and then typed in the magic phrase 'startx' and held my breath (I had loaded Slack 8.1 previously and this required me to hack the X Config file). Lo! and behold - X started up and from there it was into KDE3.1 and the rest is as with any other distro.

A couple of things though:
1. The CD-RW and the printer are still giving me some difficulty to configure, but the luxury of the laptop is that it is a learning machine for me and I don't have anything mission critical on it yet until I can get these two items figured out. I don't know if I am the only one experiencing these config problems but if you are thinking about using Slack just shop around for input and feedback from others and get a sense of whether my experience is a rarity.
2. Slackware has a long tradition of purporting to be one of the most Unix-like systems of the Linux family. It also tends to stay out of the way of the user, meaning that the user had better be prepared to read widely, tinker with configuration files, and to learn, learn, learn. This, far from being a negative, is a positive aspect - that is, it is not a bug but a feature ;-) - if one has come to Linux Land to not only draw from the pool of great software developed with a community ethic in mind, but also to learn about computers and computing. If you have come to Linux as a cheaper alternative to MS or Mac and aren't really interested in what's under the hood, you might want to either get someone else to do the basic set up and configuration for you, which then will give you a rock-solid, secure and resource-friendly distribution, or go to another distro that does everything for a general user (which means it comes with a lot of bloat and without your own specific needs in mind).

All-in-all, Slackware 9.0 is easy to install, straight forward to use, responsive and a resource-friendly system. Yes, you will have to play around with it to make it your own and to configure some peripherals, so it would probably appeal more to the person who *does* want to see what lies beneath the hood of the machine and its OS rather than the home-user who just wants to get on with using the machine without thinking about how it works. Either way ... it is a great system, and I'd strongly encourage people to give it a try.
 
Old 06-17-2003, 05:31 AM   #2
v3rb0
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 44

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: fast to learn
Cons: n/a


I whould like to encourage newbies to choose this distro, because this is a good (maybe the best) way to learn linux in short time.
 
Old 06-17-2003, 07:05 PM   #3
miguetoo
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: lfs server.. slackware workstation..
Posts: 58

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: this and that..
Cons: you got me..


auto detected everything in my machine.. slackware 9.0 roxors my soxors..
 
Old 06-26-2003, 07:49 PM   #4
jlangelier
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 94

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install. Uses standard Unix paths. Full featured. Gives you the feel of running a 'Real OS'
Cons:


I was looking for a distro which was as close to Unix as possible (i.e. one which adhered to directory paths and file naming conventions as much as possible) so I picked Slackware, and I'm glad I did.

The install went easily. It helped that I had a spare hard disk which was already partitioned for Linux. Partitioning under Slackware should not be a problem as long as you understand the concepts of partitions, but it will not be as easy as other distros (e.g. Redhat).

The slackware install recognized my video card and set up all modes automatically and never asked any questions about my video capabilities. I was able to launch KDE right after the install with no problems.

Modem installation was more problematic for me, but I can't blame Slackware for that... I'm using an ancient PCI modem card... and I can't say if it would have been easier on other distros.

Printer installation was not as easy as Red Hat, but it was still not a problem. After about a hour of fiddling, I had my printer (a Canon BJC-3000 bubblejet) up and running. Downside to this was that the documentation on the CD gives no clue on how to install a printer, but through Google and "Slackware for Dummies" I was soon up and printing.

A pleasant inclusion on the 4 CD distro was a bootable Slackware disk. No need for a boot diskette for this distro, as long as you can boot CD's. Using the CD, you can boot to Slackware as installed on the CD, and even run X without any configuration (in my experience) I used this boot CD to make a copy of my installation to another hard disc once I had it pretty much the way I liked.

The only real problem I've had was when I was not using the graphical log-in to KDE, and instead typed "startx" to launch KDE. Upon exiting KDE, the system went to the console, whereupon the console font was unusable and I could not see what I was doing on the command line. I am sure I could solve this problem, but I changed the system to use the graphical log-in and the problem became moot.

One other problem I encountered: I tried to use KWord to print a memo, but any printouts had the top of the page truncated. Rather than monkey with KWord, I downloaded Open Office, installed it with no problem, and the KWord problem "went away" ;)

I was expecting a bare-bones experience with this distro, but after a week of using it, I am very happy with it. It is full-featured, comes with Gnome and KDE, and feels very complete. It does everything I want, and I'm a slackware convert for life.



 
Old 06-27-2003, 07:43 PM   #5
terminator
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: .tgz is always the best! not to mention the others!
Cons: none


Personally I hate any packages that are not tgz format. RPM/DEB add nothing but headache. ;-)

Slack is always simple, fast, stable, easy to use and change. Needn't to repeat this
again and again. Use it, and you will know it.

If you do want to learn Linux, Slack is the best choice even for newbies. If you like the way M$ tells you through Windows, you should never try Linux - with RedHat/Mandrake/SuSE you study little about Linux, but Windows.
 
Old 07-05-2003, 08:52 AM   #6
snocked
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: Slackware 9.1
Posts: 482

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.95 | Rating: 10

Pros: appears to be closest linux distribution to unix, more updated and less automated than debian
Cons:


After using SuSE 8.1 and Red Hat 8 for a few months, I wanted more control and less automatic configuring. I started using System V Unix (AIX) and wanted the closest thing to it, but Linux. In Slackware, I compiled my first kernel, learned how to configure X, set up startup files to my liking, and installed nVidia drivers. All of which I ran into problems in SuSE and Red Hat in some form or another.
 
Old 07-07-2003, 11:11 PM   #7
tmorton
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 198

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $0.99 | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy install, fast, easy to use
Cons: Missing a few nice utils and some software


I currently have Slackware running on 4 computers, 3 of which are laptops. They all are running Slackware great--except for one that has a Winmodem, but you can't blame Slackware for that!
My first distro and my favorite. I've tried RH, SuSE, Debian, Mandrake, and others, but Slackware is still my favorite.

The setup is very nice, compared to that of Red Hat or SuSE. Settings up the GUI is no pain--and it teaches you how to use the keyboard! Believe me, it doesn't bite! It is useable for both a server (much more than RH) and also for the Linux desktop. My parents use 100% Open Source software in their business. OpenOffice, Mozilla/Galeon, and GnuCash.

The only thing that I dislike about it is how it doesn't come with some nice software, such as Open Office--which I had to download myself.
 
Old 07-09-2003, 12:55 PM   #8
german
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Debian etch, Gentoo
Posts: 312

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Packaging system, installation, bundled software
Cons: XF86 Configuration


I think Slack 9 is a wonderful OS as well. I have been using it on the desktop for about... umm... two months I suppose (the day the ISO's came out) and have loved it since then. Many distros such as RedHat make it hard to select which packages you wish to install, and even harder to uninstall (RH8 is a nightmare regarding this, there is no graphical or menu-based way to remove RPM software from what I could find). Slack's pkg_tool provides an extremely fast, clever way to add and remove software.

The things I thought could be improved in it are:

1) Automount should be enabled by default. This may be a security issue, but not much of one, and anyone looking to lock down a linux box should certainly know enough about the system to turn this off.

2) Graphical X configuration would be very nice. I have to say the RedHat people did a stellar job of this.

3) I hate having to recompile my kernel to support command-based iptables rules. I think every distro should have this compiled in the default install kernel, since it provides the ability to lock down a box very, very tightly (IE, only mozilla can make outbound port 80 connections, only XChat can make IRC connections, etc. etc.).

Other than those three things, the Slack team have done it again. A great OS, and a wonderful learning platform. If you want to learn Linux, or C / C++ / Java / any programming language besides C Flat or VB, get Slack.
 
Old 07-24-2003, 05:07 PM   #9
mipia
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Debian, Mint, Slackware
Posts: 457

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: makes you learn fast, makes linux addicting fast
Cons: could use a update utility for the newbies....?


I messed with mandrake 8.1 and Redhat 8 before downloading Slack 9.

My first imperssion was how great it was to have such a simple and fast installation....on just one CD!
I also learned quickly how to move around the terminal and really learn how linux worked.
Anyone who really wants to lean linux and is up for a challenge needs to cancel their Redhat downloads and head over to slackware.com.
I was tempeted to check out Mandrake 9.1 recently because of the scanner and printer support, but I figure I can figure it out on my own.

All I can say is that Slackware 9 has totally changed my views of linux itself.

Its simple, basic and fast. If you dont mind customizing an operating system yourself to do what you want, this is for you. Its gonna be a learning experience for sure.
 
Old 07-25-2003, 01:14 PM   #10
misfit_br
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Slackware Linux
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10

Pros: Slackware's simplicity is divine
Cons: Steep learning curve for the uninitiated


There is a saying:

"If you know Slackware you know Linux. If you know [insert distribution-name here] all you know is [insert distribution-name here]".

I think it sums it up what Slackware means to me. It was my first Linux distribution for real, and it will be my last.

In Slackware you don't depend on distribution specific tools, only on GNU tools. You DIY, the distro is yours completely. There are no strings attached. The programs are mostly original. It's the purest form of GNU/Linux you can get.

And yet, it is so easy! For beginners and advanced users alike. It is so simple, it is the easiest distro in the end.

The difference is that it won't "hold your hand" and do stuff for you. If you want to do something, you go on and do it yourself. It requires that the user *learn* Linux that way. But it doesn't make it hard for the beginner at all, just takes a while to get used to it. The only thing the user needs is a slight comprehension of english, as it is all well documented.

After all, it is much easier to work on something you understand than to use something that is obscure for you.

And for that matter, Slackware is "crystal clear".
 
Old 07-31-2003, 06:55 AM   #11
killi
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Diff
Posts: 440

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything is great
Cons: except blackbox isnt in the install


I love slack because its nice
and clean. And very stable
;-)
 
Old 08-01-2003, 10:11 PM   #12
lappen
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.1 / Gentoo
Posts: 83

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, Easy to configure
Cons: none


After trying out RedHat for a week i tried out this distro and to my surprise it wasn't very hard to configure or install... Everything went nice and smooth..

I would recommend this to anyone willing to learn linux
 
Old 08-03-2003, 03:47 PM   #13
stephenh
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9.0
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: straightforward installation, easy to customise, not bloated (like distros such as Red Hat and Mandrake), good documentation
Cons: new users will need to read-up in order to tweak and configure (users not prepared to spend a bit of time reading should opt for a 'newbie' distro such as Red Hat or Mandrake)


Slackware is usually considered best suited to "experienced" or "advanced" Linux users - and a basic understanding of Linux is very helpful when configuring and tweaking the system and will certainly speed up the process but the documentation available, such as the Slackware online book (http://www.slackware.com/) does an excellent job of familiarising readers with Linux basics and Slackware installation and system maintenance (although some parts of 'the book' are slightly outdated). Slackware is easy to migrate to from a 'newbie' distro for someone who is eager to learn and has become familiar with a few Linux basics.

Slackware's installation procedure is the best I have seen of any major distribution. The distro itself comes on a single bootable CD (available for download as an ISO of around 650-700MB) and includes all the essentials of a modern desktop system - advanced GUIs such as KDE 3.1 and GNOME 2.2, the Mozilla 1.3 browser (Netscape is available too, if you prefer) and KOffice plus standard Linux components, the latest and greatest libraries and shared components and a whole host of networking and development tools. The 'setup' program allows the user to select from a series of sets of packages to install (including everything from D (development) to Y (games)) and allows the user to closely control which non-essential bits and pieces are installed via the 'newbie' option (which is a significant step towards reducing bloat). Individual package selection would probably be a bit daunting for a complete Linux newbie as some of the packages have somewhat cryptic names and the accompanying descriptions aren't always as helpful as they could be but there's always the option of a 'full' install for those who don't fear bloat (or would like to use the excellent removepkg tool to uninstall unnecessary software once they have a working install and have more idea of what they actually need). A 'full' install will use around 2GB of disk space whilst a carefully-controlled 'newbie' install could fit everything a desktop system needs into around 1GB of disk space (including X, KDE, KOffice, CD writing tools, image manipulation software etc). It's worth bearing in mind that a basic understanding of disk partitioning and Linux partitions is essential before beginning installation because Slackware won't suggest a partitioning scheme like 'newbie' distros tend to (so the user must have some idea of how much space to assign to /, how much swap space they're likely to need, whether or not they need a separate partition for /usr/local and what terms such as hda1 and hdb5 mean). However, with basic knowledge of disk partitioning and Linux partitioning schemes the partitioning process is a breeze using the menu-based cfdisk utility, which is considerably easy to use than, for example, MS-DOS fdisk.

Slackware's setup program also does an excellent of job detecting hardware and I have yet to have the setup program fail to recognise and correctly initialise any hardware on my desktop system or my laptop.

The main advantage Slackware has over distros such as Red Hat and Mandrake is that it puts the user firmly in control. I find installing recent versions of Red Hat incredibly frustrating because the installation program will try to handle all sorts of settings without even offering the user the opportunity to have any input - and subsequently a new install of Red Hat results in a system which is bloated, memory-intensive and for which it is unclear what has and has not been configured, short of searching through config files and looking at the contents of directories. Whilst Slackware avoids automatically setting up XFree during the installation procedure, XFree configuration is very straightforward using 'xf86config'. Slackware's 'netconfig' tool means users don't even have to touch config files in order to set-up basic networking (such as connecting to the Internet using an ethernet card or a modem).

Packaging is handled by the simple but effective pkgtool program. Installing new software can be as easy as visiting http://www.linuxpackages.net/, selecting a package and using installpkg. However, one of Slackware's key advantages is that with the help of a brilliant tool called CheckInstall (http://asic-linux.com.mx/~izto/checkinstall/) users can compile from source and at the same time enjoy the benefits of a packaging system such as rpm or apt (i.e. programs compiled from source can easily be upgraded or completely removed).

Slackware offers users choice and control - a powerful, yet easy to configure and straightforward to use, operating system which is as brilliant on a desktop machine as it is on a server. Slackware 9.0 includes all the software and tools you'd expect from a modern desktop or server OS and the configurable installation procedure means Slackware 9.0 works equally well as a basic server on a 486 with 16MB RAM, occupying only 100-200MB disk space, as it does on a modern desktop system with a modern AMD or Intel processor and 256MB-1GB RAM and a user who enjoys listening to MP3s, burning CDs, playing games and browsing the Internet. Complete 'newbies' should definately do some background reading before attempting to install Slackware but more experienced users or those who are considering moving on from Red Hat or Mandrake (having picked up "the basics") can probably get started with Slackware right away. Slackware 9.0 is a brilliant distro and I highly recommend it to users of all levels of experience for everything from a powerful all-in-one server system and firewall to a modern multimedia desktop entertainment system - and everything in-between.

'Newbies' shouldn't let talk of Slackware being for "advanced" users put them off giving it a go because they'll soon find that once they start to read about Slack and begin tweaking and maintaining their own Slack system they'll quickly reach that "advanced" level.
 
Old 08-23-2003, 11:38 AM   #14
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything,it drives me crazy:)
Cons: Kernel source 2.4.20 not included


I't gives you many options to use your hardware at full power. && You are the boss around here;)
 
Old 08-27-2003, 08:34 AM   #15
dunbar
 
Registered: Dec 2002
Distribution: PCLinuxOS 2009.1, UNR 9.04
Posts: 53

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Simple Installation
Cons: KDE errors, different versions of 9.0


I appreciate Slackware 9.0 a lot - I am finally using the command line for Linux configuration - I feel that I have learned much more about Linux from Slack than any other distro I've used to date. I have kept Slack 9 as my current and now my longest installed distribution, pushing 5 months on the box.

I've installed and used many distros over the last 3 years:
Slackware 8.0 and 9.0; ArchLinux 0.2-0.4; RedHat 4.0, 5.0, 6.0, 7.1; Mandrake 7.1, 8.0 - 8.2, 9.0; Peanut 9.2, 9.3; Debian 3.0.0, Icepack 2.0.

I feel that I can safely say that this was the most enjoyable installation I've ever experienced. Not 'simplest', most enjoyable. I personally appreciate all the questions which Slackware presented during install and configuration. Other installations may ask the same questions, but Slack seemed to be more informative when it presented a choice. Mandrake, in expert mode installation, forced far too much on me, making everything a complex task, and Mandrake still forced my hand during expert mode, which is where people claim Mandrake offers the most user flexibility. Slackware allowed me to get more infor at the point of decision - I liked that.

The runtime experience was also appropriate to my expectations, in that I had to edit xinit to specify the window manager; this is important to me because I also had to choose a window manager in other distros, but for a few of the distros I tried, if I did not like the window manager I chose, tough beans, bucko, search for the docs for the answer - it was a one shot choice. I appreciate that I now know how to change my window manager ... all it took was some forethough from the group that developed the installation routine, and now I have been taught.

I also liked the fact that the developers included the "Slackware Linux Essentials" book with the distribution, I strongly urge you to use it and you will gain important configuration skills which are very easy to learn from this book.

The down sides, in no particular order:

The "Slackware Linux Essentials" book pertains to Slackware 8.0, minor differences versus 9.0, but the traditional trend is to forget to update the docs... yet again, and here as well.

KDE 3.1 in Slack 9 was compiled to an incorrect version of Qt, so when you use an application, some windows will close themselves after you had opened that window a first time. Quit the application, and relaunch, same issue, but the first try lets you in as expected. (I entered KDE bug 57370)

I also discovered that the installed 'download' version is a bit different from the installed 'retail' version. That is not a surprise to some folks, but the details are mundane, so I will simply remark about the difference existing.

Finally I learned that, if you during the installation tell the installer about mounting an existing partition and assign that partition as /home, then, after rebooting into the installed OS, the /home directory will only have root owner and access permissions. The point is that root permissions on /home will refuse access to your user, whose home is owned by root!

Despite all of the above, I was patient and I kept the mindframe that I could fix the issue with the information at hand.
 
Old 09-01-2003, 02:32 AM   #16
Leper Messiah
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9(bastardized), Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 26

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Uses Unix file naming and directory structure, excelent reliability, fast and smooth OS
Cons: none yet



Installs painlessly on the average machine, compiles and links source very fast. I use this distro at client workstations as well as embedded equipment and have over 90% uptime. This distro is simple to tweak and customize- you can re-invent your very own product out of it.
 
Old 09-01-2003, 07:02 AM   #17
-Jk-
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to install, works great on older systems.
Cons: none


Installed Slackware 9.0 on a P120 with 16MB RAM. Installation was plain and simple. After installation, I was very surprised by the bootup speed. It booted MUCH faster than what Mandrake 9 did on my P200MMX with 64MB RAM.
 
Old 09-01-2003, 10:17 AM   #18
Zb7
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9 (current), Gentoo 1.4, Redhat shrike
Posts: 86

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Minimalist yet extremely powerful, Customizable and STABLE
Cons: No package management


I have hopped around a lot of Linux and BSD distributions to say the least. First I started out on Redhat, which was great to have as my first distribution. Then I switched to Gentoo, the compiling times drove me nuts (at first). I then switched to Slackware, but I was still a novice with the command line, and the appeal of a package manager allured to switching to Debian. But on Debian, half of my hardware didn't work! So I tried OpenBSD and FreeBSD, but found them very difficult to install. So I settled back on Slackware and haven't looked back since.

Slackware's install is just as easy as Mandrake's or Redhat's if you ask me. The only difference is the non-option of automatic partitioning, which isn't really a problem even when you do minimal homework. It may not look pretty but Slackware gives you as little or as much customization as you want, with levels in between. (I'd recommend for newbies though that you not try to mess with expert installation). With Slackware I set up a system at about 400 megabytes, while still including functionality. I don't have GNOME or KDE installed on my system, but instead use XFCE4 and sometimes Fluxbox (both very minimalist window managers) Both of these installed flawlessly on slackware. Fluxbox, like many other very popular products, offers a precompiled Slackware package (the tgz).

On the subject of package management let's speak. Many of critics of Slackware tend to ignore the fact it is the most stable mainstream distribution and focus on how it may be the hardest to install software upon. Personally I've never had a problem installing software on Slackware (dependencies, whatnot), but I certainly wouldn't balk at program like apt-get. Of course, I always install all libraries that are available to be selected, during the initial installation, and usually this minimizes problems. Also, if you really like to not be bothered from compiling from source (as is the only option when slackware packages are not present), there is a nifty program called the rpm2tgz, which I used to install XFCE and still many other applications.

Now that we've looked at the "lacks" of Slack, let's take a gander at some of the stronger features. Slackware is extremely stable to say the very least. I've never had any sort of crash or hangup. When I ran Redhat, crashes weren't nearly as common as in Windows, but they still happened. Also, Slack is EXTREMELY versitile. It's minimal space and powerful use of the computer makes it ideal for almost anything. I often am running open office while talking to friends, listening to music, and compiling programs all at the same time, and the computer doesn't even flinch. It also works well with games, as my version of Quake3 does extremely well running on it. And thirdly, it's good as a server of any type. I run a http server and sometimes a half-life server on it, and the performance is very good, even during times when there is a bit of a load.

In conclusion it doesn't even do justice to say that Slackware is great. It supports most hardware, and you can do anything that you want to do on it. If you can think it up, Slackware can do it. It can work well as a server, a home PC, a workstation, whatever. While lacking package management abilities, this isn't that hard to overcome, and is essentially the only flaw in it. If you're looking for great stability and a good way to learn Linux, use Slackware.
 
Old 09-05-2003, 11:31 AM   #19
ceedeedoos
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 10.0, Mandrake 10.1
Posts: 174

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $39.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: Fast, good installer, detected most of my hardware without a glitch
Cons: none really, or at least none that can't be fixed


Slackware installed really nice, and worked from the first time. I used mandrake for about one week before I switched to slack, and I managed to do all that cool stuff that just wouldn't work in mandrake (probably my fault but it doesn't matter). Plus I was forced to learn about config files and I had to read the man pages a lot.

Hardware detection was superb, though mandrake did a good job too! It even nailed it on some aspects that Windows failed to recognize, though the sticker (annoying shiny thing that was hard to remove) says "designed for windows XP".

I liked the simplicity and the raw power I saw... and that's why I decided to buy slack. Working in slack made me realize why I ditched Windows in the first place, while working in Mandrake didn't give me that feeling so explicitly.

A great distro, even for a newbie like me...
 
Old 09-05-2003, 04:38 PM   #20
jholl
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 19

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, Easy to install, and Gives you full power
Cons: No Kernel Source in the dl version, Didn't boot from my cd


The only distro I like more is Gentoo, but with out a broadband connection I will never convert. Slackware gives you total control of your system, And lets you squeeze every bit of power you have out of your hard ware. It took me a while to figure out how to get cron working... it wasn't using /etc/crontab. Before Slackware I was a Red Hat user until the mean bully's(my friends) made fun of me for using Red Hat, there answer was Slackware. I have been using it of and on since the initial release of 8.0 but this summer I made the decision to go pure linux. then i got mad. Slackware wasn't doing what i wanted to. so in turn i tried, Debian,Gentoo(never finished downloading...56k nightmare) ,Suse,Red Hat,Lycoris,FreeBSD,OpenBSD, after finding out that non of them did exactly what I wanted, and some even ran poor(Red Hat,Suse,and Lycoris), Some had old software(Debian) Bsd's seemed more suited for the server room not my bed room. So I promptly returned to Slackware. My only non user error complaints are that the kernel source was not included, eventhough it was so they could include more software, and the fact that I had boot my system of 3 floppies to get the system installed.

To sum up my experience all i can say is "Once you go Slack you never come back".
 
Old 09-09-2003, 04:26 AM   #21
Skeptikal
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: Slackware 9 / Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast, stable
Cons: Haven't found any.


I have just come over to Slackware from Mandrake which I have run from 8.0 -------> 9.1 and all I can say is "Why didn't I make the move sooner ?? !!".

I was tired of the new releases every 6 months that generally required a fresh install, along with the time limited support for older versions. I was looking for something that was less bloated, stable, upgradable with the minimum of fuss and somewhat of a challenge - so having been told Slackware fitted the bill, I gave it a try after finding version 9.0 on a CD.

My Slack box is everywhere as sweet in the "eye-candy" department as Mandrake ever was, and with the aid of Swaret the box is as up-to-date as anyone could want. The system has more than enough grunt to run KDE 3.1.3 without so much as a hiccup. It runs Xine, XMMS, all the goodies I had under Mandrake only much faster and better :)

As for speed there is no comparison, it flies compared to Mandrake. Few seconds or less to open Kword makes a joke of what Mandrake offered me on the same machine.

The install was an experience, having been "hand-held" through the process by Mandrake many times in the past, I stumbled and tripped through this but in the end got it installed with the minimum of fuss, a little reading and note taking before hand was a definite bonus.

I have even installed and configured the dreaded D-Link 520+ wireless card (Texas Instruments acx100 driver) and have my remote DSL connection up and running on the 2.4.21 kernel.

I have learnt more about Linux in the past three weeks with Slackware than I ever had in the past.

All in all - a brilliant distro, I am sold and proud to be known as a Slacker, I only wish I had made the move sooner.
 
Old 12-05-2003, 01:39 PM   #22
samwwwblack
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Distribution: Lapwing-Linux 2009.1
Posts: 64

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to configure, easy to fault find/fix and infinitely expandable
Cons: None


Always used Slack based Linux distros - started on Peanut, moved to Vector then to the father Slackware.
Peanut weened me off Windows and taught me the command line interface whilst still being usable; Vector removed the (unfortunate) bloat of Peanut and operated more Slack-like; and Slack is just fast, clean and all I want - it's not point and click, it takes time to learn and build up - because of this I'm learnin how Linux works, not how to rpm -i everything.
Since moving to Slackware, I've decided to give LFS a bash; I wouldn't have thought 6 months ago that I'd be building my own OS! :-)
Best distro, best OS.
 
Old 02-10-2004, 10:25 AM   #23
czarherr
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Slackware 13
Posts: 288

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Simply top of the line
Cons: Can get a bit confusing, but no more than any other distro, really


I talk to a lot of people either running linux or seriously considering it, and i always recommend slack to start with, met by unsure looks of fear. They want to start out with something simple and easy to use, like RH or Mandrake. Eventually im able to prove that slack is just as easy to use, not to mention more stable and reliable, and it doesnt have a lot of alias' and extra programs built in to make customization that much harder. It is relatively untuitive if you really want to learn, and it rarely, if ever, gives the user any problems that he himself did not create. This is a serious 10, the slackware team is brilliant.
 
Old 03-24-2004, 04:47 PM   #24
Mortus Canis
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Slackware, RHEL
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.95 | Rating: 9

Pros: It is a fast, stable, and standard distro
Cons: requires more work than other distros


I use Slackware 9.0 because it is simple and is the "most UNIX-like" of all distributions. It isn't fancy or specially configured to great extents as the more commercial distro's are, it is just plain Linux and it just plain works.

You can understand the mood of Slackware through the fact that it boots into a text mode command prompt instead of a GUI login. It boots fast, too. Slackware is the ultimate command line experience, but it also comes with KDE, Gnome, and other window managers, which are, again, not reconfigured with Slackware logos all over them, but left as they should be, the way the developers released them. KDE and Gnome are just plain KDE and Gnome, there had been no customization, except that which enables them to run well with the rest of the Slackware system.

Another benefit is the fact that Slackware provides no distro-specific configuration file editors--you have to go edit them yourself! This way, you have complete control and you become more knowledgeable about the system. Slackware affords you a big choices for customization, the installer will let you select groups of packages to install, and even select individual packages from groups, so you get the system you need with the minimal amount of bloat

It is easy to learn with Slackware, and you learn best by configuring configuration files yourself. There are a wide variety of packages on the CD, enough for almost any system. The .tgz packages for Slackware are simple, and they work smoothly for installing software. Slackware is also a great system for compiling source code into binaries for your system.

Slackware is a powerful and stable Linux distro, and it has given me a love for the command line. Choose it if you are serious about learning Linux.
 
Old 03-26-2004, 10:47 PM   #25
rose_bud4201
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Distribution: Xubuntu, RHEL, Solaris 10
Posts: 927

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Extremely easy to use and customize, never disappointed me
Cons: Occasional difficulty installing some of the more obscure programs, libraries sometimes go in unconventional directories


The best disto I've tried. I've not upgraded to 9.2 yet, for some random reason. It runs my servers (Apache, ProFTPd, and SSH) flawlessly, and had no problems. It's extremely configurable, comes with a choice of Window Managers, the Slackware.com servers house a large variety of programs and the "installpkg" tool is breeze to use. In my opinion it gives more control over my system than other distros.
Installation of apps is usually no problem, but if a dependancy is missing some config files might have to be modified. Slack isn't for the commandline-fearful, as you might spend a good deal of time there (something I love, so it's not a problem :)). Knowing which files go where and what they do is also pretty useful.
Any intelligent user (even a newbie), can use Slackware perfectly well. Its status as "the most UNIX-like" doesn't make it hard at all, and it can be an excellent learning tool.
 
Old 06-09-2005, 02:08 PM   #26
Erik_the_Red
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very nice to older computers, "raw" feel, easy installation
Cons: No easy package management system, though some feel this is OK


I installed this on a very old computer:

Pentium MMX @ 200mhz
32mb of EDO RAM
4.02gb HDD
2mb Diamond Stealth Video Card

XFce is included among the desktop environments and will result in a very fast system.

Slackware doesn't load up many processes by default. This means faster performance.
 
Old 07-09-2005, 10:04 AM   #27
mikebalcos
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: It is really lean and mean. And it is stable too.
Cons: It might intimidate others because it is very configurable.


My first Linux distribution was Slackware 3.0. When I got to learn how to somehow use this, I was astounded by its potential. Currently, I have a modest late 90's machine that's running Linux and Apache. The performance of the web server impressed my visitors despite of the old hardware. Installation is easy, even if you choose to select packages using the menu or expert options. This is the year 2005 and I'm still clinging to Slackware 9. I decided to stay with this version since it has a smaller footprint than the newer Slackware versions. But I'm not saying that the newer versions are not good. I just decided to stay with version 9 since it is still maintained and because older distros work better in older hardware. For newbies who want to try Slackware Linux, I will suggest that they get the latest.

I use Slackware for our home gateway, firewall, and personal webserver. I even use it on a workstation or even a desktop. As a desktop OS, it provides plenty of options. I think it is very configurable as a desktop OS, so you can get something you can call your own. :)
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration