LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 10 Linux Mint 10
Reviews Views Date of last review
11 29290 04-10-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.2



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 10. New features: install codecs and upgrade to the DVD edition from the welcome screen; the menu highlights newly installed applications and makes them easier to find; the menu finds and installs software from the repositories; addition of search engines to the menu's search box; Software Manager with a better categorization of software and use of application icons; update manager can ignore updates and shows download size; upload manager improvements; new look and feel featuring a traditional light theme and dark background; various system improvements...."
Keywords: Ubuntu-based Software-Manager


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-16-2010, 04:13 AM   #1
raywoods
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Distribution: Linux Mint 9 ~ 64 bit Gnome
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to install, easy to use and do things
Cons: not many, if any



This is not just a distribution for Linux Newbies but one for anyone who needs a reliable operating system to do things with. I personally have a number of computer cretins using Linux Mint with very few problems.

It just works without restrictions.
 
Old 11-19-2010, 04:29 AM   #2
agambier
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Distribution: Fedora 13
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: ubuntu bases but without bugs
Cons: some software are installed over ubuntu


Like ubuntu but with all new bugs corrected.
Very stable and reliable distro.
 
Old 11-28-2010, 12:20 PM   #3
GJQ
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04
Posts: 93

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


I am running Linux Mint 9 and is working well.Would like to upgrade to Mint 10.How do I update from Mint 9?

Thanks
 
Old 12-17-2010, 07:49 PM   #4
tsidock
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Distribution: Mint 10, 9, 8, 7.
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: It just works!!!
Cons: The word Linux still scares people


My last Windows machine died, it was my wife's. I have been running Linux for about 5 years.

This is a bad time for us, I told my wife, you know I can't buy another PC or OS. It's Linux (MINT 10)or ...

She was a good sport the first day, the second day she panicked, When our networked printer was unresponsive she blew. Can't you buy office and Windows? When I showed her the prices, she backed down. Next day I offered to buy an HP printer, I was at work. She wrote back and said we'll discuss tonight.

Turns out that the Canon MP970 Multi-function network only printer started working for her during the day. Printer, Scanner and Ink status! Wow! She is happy, I am happy and Kudos to the Mint team! It Just worked!
 
Old 12-19-2010, 10:56 PM   #5
garrydb
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Installs easy, works well, very stable, well built
Cons: to much fear of the unknown. Root operation is taboo


I use it about 16 hours a day and. I have another hard drive that has movies, yet another that has music. yet another hdd that has my work.. I can't switch back and forth with out sudo or that kind of garbage,, NOBODY but me uses this machine.. I prefer to sign on as root,simplifies my life, but when I do, music won't play.. Have to sign on as user for the music, then can't do my work.. so, right now I use Absolute linux, cause it lets me sign on as root and allows me everything.. But, I want to use mint10
 
Old 12-20-2010, 11:27 AM   #6
tsidock
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Distribution: Mint 10, 9, 8, 7.
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Rock Solid
Cons: None


Since my last post, I regretted using the 6GB partition on the original drive. Bought a new 1TB drive, used PartEd Magic and then Clonezilla, reinstalled Grub2, cleaned the boot menu and once again it just works!

Spent yesterday testing the other Mint versions, KDE, FluxBox, XFCE and the newly minted not quite ready for prime time, Debian. And Ubuntu 10.10. Mint 10 is just miles ahead of the pack. The Debian branch shows tremendous promise!
 
Old 01-13-2011, 12:12 PM   #7
ichase
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to install, easy to set up hardware, great look and feel
Cons: Have not found any yet


Mint 10 Julia is a excellent option for the user that wants to or has to leave the world of Windows. garrydb's situation is a prime example of what makes Mint 10 Julia great. Can easily be set up, works with most hardware out of the box. Some require proprietary drivers but that you will find with any disto.
For someone who does not want to "Learn" the inner workings of Linux but wants an OS that they can turn on and do what they want to do as they did in Windows, Julia is and what I recommend in this situation.
 
Old 02-07-2011, 02:50 PM   #8
gturner
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Distribution: Linux Mint 10
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Easy install, functions very well, PC or laptop
Cons: Maybe a little slower then Windows


Have installed on PC's and Laptop's. Everything functions way better than I ever expected. Appears to have a laptop issue when you close then re-open screen. locks up, need a reboot.
 
Old 03-14-2011, 05:33 PM   #9
rick1959
 
Registered: Mar 2011
Distribution: Linux Mint 12 LXDE, Puppy Linux
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Smooth and works with virtually any computer and peripherals
Cons: None yet


Started with Mint 9, 32 bit. Now use Mint 10 in both 32 and 64 bit versions. Smooth and reliable. Why does Windows still exist???
 
Old 03-17-2011, 02:39 AM   #10
jraz
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Distribution: Linux Mint LMDE
Posts: 52

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy setup, HW detection good
Cons: Backgrounds are a bit heavy in size, slow system load times.


I have installed 9 and 10 to a couple of laptops and one Asus EEEpc. Installs are easy and intuitive. Very little is done after unless desired. It is obvious they pay attention to the small details.
 
Old 04-10-2011, 01:33 PM   #11
Heraton
 
Registered: Apr 2011
Distribution: Mint 10, openSuSE
Posts: 58

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very high usability, perfect to start with Linux
Cons: none so far


I tried several times to leave Windows behind. Without success, because every time i had some trouble with my daily business. Until i tried Linux Mint. Everything i needed was just working from the beginning. Since a few weeks i am doing everything in Linux, and i feel comfortable. Mission accomplished, thanks to Linux Mint ;-)
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration