LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 14
Reviews Views Date of last review
20 72975 06-22-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers None indicated 8.5



Description: "Fedora 14, code name 'Laughlin', is now available for download. What's new? Load and save images faster with libjpeg-turbo; Spice (Simple Protocol for Independent Computing Environments) with an enhanced remote desktop experience; support for D, a systems programming language combining the power and high performance of C and C++ with the programmer productivity of modern languages such as Ruby and Python; GNUStep, a GUI framework based of the Objective-C programming language; easy migration of Xen virtual machines to KVM virtual machines with virt-v2v...."
Keywords: Laughlin libjpeg-turbo Spice D-system-programming-language


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-09-2010, 09:04 PM   #1
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: ghhgfhfgh
Cons: ghggfhghgj



hgghjhjhjhgjhj
 
Old 11-16-2010, 04:08 PM   #2
rastahacker
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: lots of pros
Cons: some cons


Hi Everyone!
 
Old 11-25-2010, 05:09 AM   #3
nocountryman
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Distribution: Fedora 14
Posts: 60

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: it is faster than FC13, kernel update (now comes with Lirc Modules) seems to be more stable, cpu speed scaling is working better now.
Cons: some probs with installation (from preupgrade or livecd) install in text mode is not affected.


i have 2 laptops and one htpc. laptop1 is still running the FC13 (not for long) laptop2 FC14 with test updates enabled, htpc is running stable FC14.

the test updates do affect the stability unfortunately more than it was with FC13.
the stable one runs smooth and nice, the HTPC is also a server so has some load on it i have not yet rebooted the machine or crashed it ever since the day one i've configurd it (second day after FC14 release).

I've left FC13 on the first laptop to compare the FC13 and FC14 and now i see no reason why not to upgrade, gonna do it soon ;)

i've tested with nvidia and ati drivers (props from rpmfusion) and opensource both work fine and have no issues.

bottom line recommend to upgrade but better to do the clean install. preupgrade sometimes fails.
 
Old 12-06-2010, 03:25 PM   #4
axelsallright
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: free, very good.
Cons: none so far


So far Fedora 14 its pretty good, no cons. Great OS!
 
Old 12-07-2010, 08:38 PM   #5
nigerag
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Distribution: Fedora 20, CentOS 6.5
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Much smoother than Fedoar 13
Cons: Some minor mouse pad issues.


Great OS
 
Old 12-13-2010, 03:20 AM   #6
brpy1
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Posts: 23

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent - with some help from the forums here, I now have it running very smoothly.
Cons: None, so far. Does everything I want it to.


Easy to install, and if Randell's blog on post installation setup is followed, no problems after it is installed.
 
Old 12-20-2010, 10:16 AM   #7
spazticclown
 
Registered: Sep 2010
Distribution: Fedora, Android, CentOS
Posts: 91

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Faster than Fedora 13, lots of updates and programs available
Cons: Can be unstable as most of the software is still very fresh


I have Fedora 14 on my media computer, my notebook and an old media computer soon to be Xen server and all run great. Default video drivers have no problems with HD content to my TV or to my Monitor. Notebook runs F14 Gnome about as fast as it ran F13 LXDE. I am very pleased with the performance increase on my five year old notebook. Soon moving home server to F14 when I get the drives rearranged.
 
Old 12-26-2010, 07:19 PM   #8
linuxyeung
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Better than kubuntu 10.10
Cons: Can't find any


I have been using both kubuntu and fedora. Usually, I found kubuntu / ubuntu to be easier to set up and very user friendly. However for the latest, fedora beats kubuntu / ubuntu. Great distribution.
 
Old 12-28-2010, 12:56 AM   #9
deviceman
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Cursor does not hang as experiened in other distros
Cons: Nothing that wont be improved in 2011


Moving all my home computers off of MS OSs. XP was descent, but all the virus checkers and updates resulted in a slow system. Vista became unusable on my son's computer. Fedora informed us the HDD was going bad when Vista did not!

Crossover is taking care of applications not running under Linux.

Thank goodness for OpenOffice3. The new Office2007 became useless to me with the new interface. I couldn't even make graphs without great pain.

OpenSource is the way much of the world will be going due to necessity.
 
Old 01-02-2011, 03:55 AM   #10
wyw1215
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Too many to list them all.
Cons: Not found yet.


Happy New Year!
 
Old 01-10-2011, 12:04 AM   #11
wolflinux2008
 
Registered: May 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: update to the os!
Cons:


This is an outstanding os!
 
Old 01-23-2011, 10:19 AM   #12
JNKlikesLinux
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Posts: 28

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Real easy to use
Cons: Lots of major applications are not compatible with with Fedora 14, as they were in earlier versions.


Fedora needs a little more work, but so far so ... not great, but, ok.
 
Old 02-01-2011, 05:14 AM   #13
swarrier9
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: fedora 14
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: fast, smooth
Cons: displayed a password once! some hardware issues


i installed it on my desktop which had fedora 10 running. no upgrate: i just installed it. it's fast, smooth, and does everything i want.

however, it failed to detect my zte usb cdma wireless modem without some pushing: i used modprobe to get that fixed.it worked fine after that.

i retain a windows xp partition to deal with stuff people send me (it will probably go soon, because the amount of stuff that fedora can't handle is decreasing fast). i had to quit in the middle of a kernel upgrade and when i started up later i discovered i couldn't boot windows: got a message saying NTLDR missing.

otherwise, it's been great.
 
Old 02-03-2011, 04:33 PM   #14
Mark Myatt
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: All
Cons: None


Having used 10,11 and 12 with no real problems I dived into 14 with troubling 13. Even better. Advise anyone wanting a change to go for it.
 
Old 02-15-2011, 02:56 AM   #15
z10n
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: ?
Cons: ?


where's the download button?
 
Old 02-20-2011, 11:56 AM   #16
DavidMcCann
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Distribution: CentOS, Salix
Posts: 3,010

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: Good repository, strong user base
Cons: This version needed more setting up than usual



The first point about Fedora is that it's really intended to be installed from the DVD, which gives more software (obviously) and the ability to configure the installation. The live CDs are rather an afterthought.

Even then, I found there was a lot to do this time. My HP printer was uninstallable with hp-setup; eventually I thought to use system-config-printer, but I had to download it. I had no internet connection until I found that the system was set to look for a wireless connection, but not a wired one. There were a huge number of security fixes to download. On the second day, my keyboard driver stopped working, only to recover mysteriously on the third.

This is not one of Fedora's better builds. If you like Fedora, and your current version is not too old, wait for the next. If you want stability, get Debian or CentOS. If you're a beginner, get Mint.
 
Old 03-01-2011, 05:21 PM   #17
Lantzvillian
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Fedora, Debian
Posts: 210

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to use, most things work
Cons: upgrade from 13 was interesting


Got bluesnarffer to work with my broadcom bluetooth adapter pretty easily, same with wireless.

Seems pretty stable so far and on another install on a VM (Vmware 7.1x) - xrender renders nice eye candy themes/styles so far so well.
 
Old 04-07-2011, 03:19 PM   #18
szboardstretcher
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: GNU/Linux, LFS, Slitaz
Posts: 3,071

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast to install
Cons:


Fedora is awesome
 
Old 04-20-2011, 06:39 AM   #19
gugabaga
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Everything
Cons: None I cant live with


Quite satisfied with fedora 14.
Used it on Laptop,Desktop worked fine.
Used it as WebServer/SambaServer/Router/Database worked fine.

But as all things linux, waiting for the next build!!!
 
Old 06-22-2012, 06:01 PM   #20
lawashington
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: loaded on a reurblished Dell desktop so far so good.
Cons: certain USB ports would not reconize HP laserjet 1020 said it wasn't on moved to another worked for a while then stopped after reboooted. moved to another port and no problem.


I still like this distro. I a\m going to upgrade an old NEC laptop to 14 soon. Let know the results.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration