LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 10.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 31597 03-06-2013
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.8



Description: "The Ubuntu team is pleased to announce Ubuntu 10.10. Focused on home and mobile computing users, Ubuntu 10.10 introduces an array of online and offline applications to Ubuntu Desktop edition with a particular focus on the personal cloud. Ubuntu Netbook Edition users will experience an all-new desktop interface called 'Unity' -- specifically tuned for smaller screens and computing on the move." Also includes a brand-new Ubuntu font family, a redesigned system installer, the latest GNOME 2.32 desktop, Shotwell as the new default photo manager, and a number of other features.
Keywords: Unity Ubuntu-font-family


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 10-15-2010, 08:09 AM   #1
arijan
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: easy to use, No.1 in up to dates
Cons: degenerated "concept of perfect desktop" lead to heavy patched slow system



I was so enthusiastic when first Ubuntu was released. I used Debian, and thought "Finally someone decided to take Debian to the next level towards greater usability and update frequentivity".

And it did, for couple of releases; and after that, developers started degenerating the stability and simplicity of Linux itself (Debian in this case), for the sake of universal "perfect desktop" that should fit everybody's needs, and perhaps own concept of glory.

Well, here is how it is possible to fit general needs and to pick all the glory: be fastest in releases, patch the system more and more for every release, care not for the stability and performance - anyway it won't be noticeable and annoying to users, because everyone now has fast hardware, right? - Wrong concept!
It is not possible to make such a blend and not to ruin the basic structure - fun desktop usage is one thing, and professional usage is another - they both require different system concepts.

If one compares Ubuntu and Windows 7, it is obvious that Windows 7 has approached close to Linux stability, and goes ahead of Ubuntu in terms of speed and functionality. It's not just the virus that slows and messes the system - that's what I say to those whose general argument on Linux vs Windows is Linux's immunity on viruses.

So, I would recommend Ubuntu 10.10 to all non familiar with Linux with desire to switch, fun desktop lovers, latest hardware owners, and non professional orientated users.
 
Old 11-13-2010, 10:31 PM   #2
SA_Ron
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Multiple. Depends on my mood.
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy to use
Cons: sudo


Just installed this yesterday. Installed it on one of my partitions because I was curious. I generally use rpm based distros because that's what I'm used to, but I thought I'd give this a try.

I liked the fact that it was pretty easy to install. There were no major issues and I can't even remember any minor ones so it must have been an easy install. I also liked the fact that it was easy to install the Nvidia drivers. There was a nice little reminder about installing proprietary drivers and the interface for installing them was very nice.

Once I'd gotten it installed I decided to install the PAE kernel so that Ubuntu could see all 4g of my RAM. Well, I only installed the new kernel and I wound up with just a command line on reboot. No video drivers. I booted back into the old kernel and installed the header files, along with the other module packages. The next reboot into the PAE was good after that.

Using sudo is a pain-in-the-butt. I'm an experienced admin and I don't really appreciate the training wheels. It's an annoyance I can do without. If you aren't experienced, however, sudo is a good thing. Fortunately, there is a root account that can be used.

Those things are not terribly important though. This is easy to use and it would be good for new Linux users. I know that devotees of other Linux distros look down on Ubuntu, but there needs to be an entry level Linux for Windows refugees and this seems to be a good one.

There was one thing that was awful and that's the background and splash screens. The picture they use looks like a burst of light and it's VERY annoying. Change it first thing before you get a headache. :)

If you're not too familiar with Linux but want to try it, this is a good distro to try. If you're looking for a more streamlined and faster distro, there are others out there built for that.
 
Old 12-07-2010, 01:59 AM   #3
dspie
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Knoppix, Ubuntu
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: works on Toshiba laptop and boots from flash drive
Cons: none so far


This was the only distribution that I could get to work on my Toshiba Satellite L505d-GS6000 laptop. I have used Mandriva and Knoppix the most and have to say I like this better. I installed the files to the 8gb flash drive and it runs great from it. Fast, simple, tons of downloads for it. I didn't have to configure anything special for the ethernet, wireless or anything. I am sold on Ubuntu.
 
Old 12-22-2010, 11:36 PM   #4
mastemmer
 
Registered: Jul 2007
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Automatic hardware detection. Excelent package manegement.
Cons: Does "automatically" dangerous things such as replacing MBR.


Ubuntu is clearly designed for beginners. This means that it can automatically detect all your hardware and set it up as a nice operating system. All without asking any question. But sometimes it can also screw up your hole HD also without asking any question.

Pros:
Automatic hardware detection and setup usually work remarkably well. Very easy to install.
Very flexible: Excellent Debian style package management. Enormous assortment of applications available for apt-get. Very easy to install/remove applications.
Very up-to-date.
Nice and useful live CD.

Cons: Ubuntu sometimes does "automatically" dangerous things:
Whenever it installs grub (during initial setup or when grub is upgraded) it dumps all the boot setup, replacing it with an auto-detected setup menu. No questions asked.
The fdisk utility actually destroys data on the partitions instead of only overwriting the partition table.

Ubuntu is recommended for novice users and those who don't want to know the inner working of a real Linux system.
 
Old 12-30-2010, 02:11 AM   #5
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


But i dotkonw how to download!!
 
Old 03-06-2013, 05:11 AM   #6
kedarp
 
Registered: Jul 2012
Distribution: Mageia 4
Posts: 183

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: minimum bugs, excellent UI, VERY FAST
Cons: none in my experience


[look at pros]
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration