LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > PCLinuxOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

PCLinuxOS 2010.07
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 29513 01-19-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8



Description: "Quarterly updated CD images of PCLinuxOS are now available for download on mirrors worldwide. The quarterly release currently comes in three editions: KDE 4.4.5 SC edition, GNOME 2.30.2 edition and LXDE edition. Other editions to follow shortly. Highlights of the 2010.07 release: Linux kernel 2.6.33.5, KDE Software Compilation 4.4.5, GNOME 2.30.2 and updated LXDE desktop. PCLinuxOS includes all of the latest popular applications such as Mozilla Firefox 3.6.6, Mozilla Thunderbird 3.0.5, Dropbox, Pidgin 2.7.1, KTorrent 4.0.1, GIMP 2.6.9, Digikam 1.3.0 and Amarok 2.3.1."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.33.5 KDE GNOME LXDE


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-17-2010, 10:37 AM   #1
eveningsky339
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Distribution: PCLinuxOS (LXDE)
Posts: 466

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very responsive, uses apt and synaptic for .rpms, strong community, several desktop environment choices, restricted codecs already installed
Cons: Gnome edition somewhat immature, no 64-bit edition



When I first heard about PCLinuxOS, I thought it was simply a fork of Mandriva with user-friendly enhancements. Having no interest in Mandriva, I didn't bother giving it another look. But as the distro climbed the ranks on Distrowatch, my curiosity got the best of me.

PCLOS is KDE-oriented, but one has the choice of using Gnome, LXDE, XFCE, and even Openbox. This was quite a range of choices, all without creating spinoff distro's like Kubuntu and all the rest in the -buntu crowd. I selected KDE.

PCLOS enforces booting into the live CD or copying to RAM before installation. While this was a little annoying, it gave me an opportunity to play around. My first thought was WOW-- I have never seen a live CD, let alone one with KDE, this fast and responsive.

PCLOS uses the draklive installer, which is a little dull. I rebooted, set up root and my own account, and went off to the races.

I'll be honest, KDE on PCLOS is more responsive than Gnome on Ubuntu. I couldn't believe it.

Now for the nuts and bolts. Almost every system configuration option can be found in a central Settings Manager, sort of like openSUSE's YaST. This I believe was taken from Mandriva, and offers a single, user-friendly environment for managing hardware, video cards, sound, appearance, and so on.

As far as package management is concerned, PCLOS is awesome. Using a port of apt and Synaptic with .rpm's and, yes, even a few .debs, is genius. You can update and install software just as you would with Ubuntu and Debian.

Restricted extras are already installed. You can listen to .mp3's and watch video's on youtube from the get-go without the hassle of installing these formats.

The PCLOS community gives Ubuntu a run for its money. There is an extensive PCLOS magazine published by the community every month, an active forum, and lots of artwork, my personal favorite being a Windows error box which says something to the effect of "An error has occurred. Please remove Windows and install PCLinuxOS." Which reminds me-- PCLOS has a migration assistant for new users coming straight from Windows. I was very impressed with the size and passion of the PCLOS community, especially without the "community organizers" and Canonical marketing machine that Ubuntu has going for it.

I have two main complaints about this distro. There is no 64-bit edition for my amd64 machine, and the Gnome desktop edition isn't as mature as KDE. The draklive installer is clunky and I managed to break X with a simple upgrade. I also gave the LXDE environment a spin, but no significant problems were noted.

I am posting this review using PCLinuxOS. Ubuntu 10.04 is gone from my machine, and I see no need to put it back. I fully expect big guys like Canonical and Novell to start scratching their heads as this distro climbs the ranks.
 
Old 09-26-2010, 06:34 PM   #2
mbvo
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: slackware-current
Posts: 220

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Fast and easy install, easy configuration, large repositories
Cons: none that I've found yet


I got pclos after hearing about it from a friend, having high hopes I wasn't disappointing at all. The only thing I didnt like was KDE4 didn't run quite up to par, but that's cause of my laptop being so old. I'm using gnome now and it runs smooth. I love the fact that it comes with proprietary software(flash, mp3, etc). I've not had a single error message come up(well none that were not user error).
 
Old 10-02-2010, 05:05 PM   #3
treepalm58
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Distribution: SuSE 10.0, PCLinuxOS 2010.7
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Eay Installation, Hardware detection. Easy configuration stability and speed.
Cons: Difficulty configuring desktop properties.


I have been trying different distros for a while now. From openSUSE, Ubunto Debian and PCLinuxOS different versions. I am really impressed by the way PClos discovers my hardware and configures every thing out of the box. Other distros had problems with the same hardware. This version of PCLinuxOS is so far the best that I tried. It recognized my advanced HP laptop hardware easily compared to Windows 7 upgrade kit from HP. Every thing worked fine from the beginning. KDE 4.5 is the way I want it, thanks to the customized version. I believe making a Linux distro that is so user friendly will help shift users from windows to Linux. The only thing that Linux needs is Gaming. The high end Games that only run now on Windows.
 
Old 12-04-2010, 12:09 PM   #4
crystaldoc
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Distribution: PCLinuxOS
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to use and understand
Cons: none for me.


I first learned about Linux about 6-7 years ago and played with was then fedora core 3. did not understand or like apt get so gave it up. 2007 I'm frustrated w/windows and went looking again. found PCLinuxOS 2007 and liked it, but was still into gaming more. (SOF II). now changes have caused me to quit gaming & seek learning Linux as well as programing and computer forensics. have been running PCLinuxOS 2010 the last month as my main drive I use. I've downloaded Suse, Ubuntu, fedora, Linux mint and installed them on my other drives, but not used them as much and don't really like the way they either look or the programs there. I'll learn about them, I'm a tech and want to change people to Linux and be able to offer support. but for my own use I'll stick with PCLinuxOS.
 
Old 01-19-2011, 01:06 PM   #5
sdcougar
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: for geeks
Cons: not for beginners


I have used other live cd's: knoppix, mint, etc. and even installed others to try on partiion.

This one ??? It goes nowhere you can do anything but choose language and a couple other unintelligible options.

e.g. knoppix just works you have your desktop with programs and browser...this 'radically simple' one goes nowhere

I restarted; tried 'help'...no relevant info; tried to go live cd again; this time it asked for '...login'... on a live cd???
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration