LinuxQuestions.org
Did you know LQ has a Linux Hardware Compatibility List?
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
  · Next Product »

SLAX 4.0.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 72574 12-20-2004
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.8



Description: A CD boot distribution based on Slackware GNU Linux. Comes with the KDE 3.2 desktop environment. The ISO download is only ~130 MB and therefore ideal for burning on to a Mini CD. This makes it a highly portable distribution.
Keywords: Live-CD Distribution on Mini-CD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-16-2004, 12:36 AM   #1
czechknight93
 
Registered: Aug 2003
Distribution: openSUSE 10.1
Posts: 95

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Burn it on a Mini-CD. Allows access to existing hard disks.
Cons: NONE



SLAX is a winner! This is a really cool distribution because you can carry it around on a Mini-CD. The ISO is only 167MB to download and does not require a hard disk to use because it boots directly to the CD. SLAX is different than other CD boot distros because you can access partitions on an existing hard disk. I like to run SLAX and open my Win XP partition and listen to my mp3 files. Keep in mind, the partitions SLAX accesses are read-only. SLAX is a perfect solution for anyone that wishes to try Linux without being forced to install it on thier hard disks. SLAX comes with an assortment of apps like, card games, arcade games, Koffice, MPlayer, K3b CD-DVD burner, KAudioCreator CD ripper, Konqueror, image viewers, and much more. SLAX packs quite a punch for a small distribution and is great for ANYONE.
 
Old 03-16-2004, 09:42 AM   #2
galen
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: LinuxMint, PartedMagic, Puppy, xubuntu. BOYCOTTING: Vector, Beatrix, BLAG, Slackware
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: lite fast demostration linux, cutest tux wallpaper
Cons: hard drive installer needed, too few apps for workstation


Well done live CD. Finally a nice non bloat Slackware live CD. Nice web site layout and humble developer. By adding another package ISO this distro could be a fine workstation OS. Hardware detection and configuration is great and midnight commander file manager is included. Nvidia was detected and configured, wow.
Definitely a distro to watch and to carry around.
 
Old 04-14-2004, 02:53 AM   #3
American Psycho
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: LFS
Posts: 88

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Good Hardware Detection, Good Packages, Not Bulky
Cons: none


GREAT distribution and the best LiveCD out there by far! Knoppix, overpackaged and a big download.

Slax, however is small, easy to burn, fast, has good packages but not too many, and is only getting better.
 
Old 06-13-2004, 08:07 PM   #4
dustin_wielenga
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Distribution: SLAX, Ubuntu
Posts: 113

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Small, KDE, Fast
Cons: Needs slax wheelmouse


I downloaded SLAX 4.1.2. I couldn't get it to work at first because at the boot you have to type "slax wheelmouse" to get it to work. The forums are very helpful, that's how I got it to work. I was surprised that a distro of 180 MB could look so beautiful. I had tried Feather Linux but this was my first KDE experience and I loved it. If you want to check out Linux I recommend this. I don't know if it has everything for the experienced developer but it can teach the begginer what they need to know. If there are problems, just check the SLAX forums. The developer is very helpful as well as lots of others there.
 
Old 12-20-2004, 01:04 PM   #5
goldenratiophi
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Quick tiny download, fits on mini-cd's, good hardware detection
Cons: SLAX cannot have GCC or else it wouldn't fit on a mini-cd, though this is not the developer's fault


SLAX is the greatest Linux Live CD I've found so far. The download was small - 180 MB, which allows it to fit on an 8 cm minicd. SLAX has everything a regular Linux distro would have minus a few programs. It runs extremely fast - close to the speed of a regular Linux distribution installed on the hard drive. It's easy to save your settings and home directory to a USB key or other device; just run configsave and you're done. The only problem, though, is that regular SLAX doesn't include GCC, and SLAX Professional, which does have GCC, doesn't fit on a minicd. I cannot blame this on the developer, though, because there is no way to make large programs suddenly have small file sizes.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration