LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Damn Small Linux
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Damn Small Linux 0.6.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 44076 05-08-2008
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.6



Description: Damn Small Linux is a business card size (50MB) bootable Live CD Linux distribution. Despite its minuscule size it strives to have a functional and easy to use desktop. Based on Knoppix 3.3
Keywords: Small 50mb business card cd live


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-15-2004, 10:26 PM   #1
spoody_goon
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: Mandrake, DamnSmallLinux, VectorLinux
Posts: 416

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Small Stable GUI fits in your wallet
Cons: limited applications



When I reboot into this live cd based on Knoppix it recognized all my hardware right off the bat. Busted throught the a firewall and read all the window partitions. This Distro is a great portible tool an it is only 50mb. Damn windoz is up to what? a gig or two this is another example of how Linux is smaller more versitile and more adaptable that windoz. I Love Linux!
 
Old 03-16-2004, 08:51 AM   #2
galen
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Distribution: LinuxMint, PartedMagic, Puppy, xubuntu. BOYCOTTING: Vector, Beatrix, BLAG, Slackware
Posts: 63

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: no bloat, super small, packed, multimedia, adsl, dialup
Cons: non mainstream apps


Outstanding distro for it's size. Developer has the best example of KISS around.
Carry a floppy around with your ISP, email configs and you are mobile on even the lowliest hardware.
A must have distro to amaze others.
Can be used on recycled old computers.

Would like to see it even smaller and fit on a 100Meg zip drive... ok maybe a 250Meg ZIP
 
Old 10-04-2004, 11:55 AM   #3
reverendm
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Distribution: Win2k pro, Damn Small Linux, Mandrake Move, Mandrake 10.1ce, xandros
Posts: 52

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


all hardware was detected without a prob. didn't even have to config ethernet or local ip.
i discovered, dl'ed, burnt and booted all in the first few hours of my sunday morning.

this is for any pc but a must for older ones. i'm gona go buy a usb stick becuase i have a good reason to now :)

this is a good distro for showing off linux might!
 
Old 02-02-2006, 08:40 PM   #4
JohnDA
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent package for limited computers
Cons: Couldn't think of any


I had an out of date IBM Thinkpad running a Pentium 114 Mhz CPU with 24 megs of ram and an 800 Mhz HD. It was clearly out of date and didn't have the HD space to allow me to use a full package. When I read about DSL Linux, it sounded like it could possibly work on this machine. I deleted Windows from the HD because the CD ROM drive could not be made to operat as a boot device, and the floppy drive was an external unit. This way, I just installed DSL on the HD. DSL recognized all the equipment in the laptop without a hitch and operates perfectly. Yes, it is "Linux Lite" but the suite is perfect for what I use the laptop for. Thanks!!
 
Old 05-01-2006, 05:15 PM   #5
w8qh
 
Registered: Feb 2006
Distribution: Mephis 3.3
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Makes my older AMD 533 Work like a champ
Cons: limited but still great


GREAT
 
Old 07-09-2006, 01:17 PM   #6
ubl
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Live CD
Cons: None, that can't be solved...somehow.


This is an awesome O.S.

Good to have a copy, even if it's just for backup and fixin' things on other O.S's.
 
Old 11-30-2006, 10:54 AM   #7
hoverbored
 
Registered: Nov 2006
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: INCREDIBLE COSMIC POWER!! Itty, bitty little space!
Cons: Distro Name, & I've gotta get the wireless figured out, not necess. their problem


I did find their MyDSL panel a little confusing at first, and why things had to be altered to use apt-get. I'm a Linux newbie, but in some ways, this is helping to understand why certain flavors of Linux are the way they are... Good work, DSL gang! Just get a new name, as I work for a Christian organization... and it is awkward. Why does it just HAVE to be that way?
 
Old 04-01-2007, 03:08 AM   #8
Andavane
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Not sure
Posts: 5

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Excellent in every way
Cons: None, considering its size


Every linux user should have a copy of this in his holster to astound PC Users everywhere.
It leads onto whatever major distro one wants to end up with, also.
All power to you, baby!
 
Old 05-08-2008, 12:05 AM   #9
paulpc
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: openSUSE 10.3, 11.0, DSL
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: DAMN SMALL linux
Cons: yet to discover them


This is an awesome distro for a pen drive! I tried ubuntu, pendrivelinux and suse and they all are resource hungry. This thing kicks ass! Albeit it is not a "real" distro with all the cool apps but it's just enough to make you hardware independent if you have google docs and some form of webmail
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration