LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Fedora Project
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Fedora 13
Reviews Views Date of last review
21 120553 12-19-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $2.00 7.6



Description: "The Fedora Project, a Red Hat, Inc. sponsored and community-supported open source collaboration, today announced the availability of Fedora 13, the latest version of its free open source operating system distribution." Some of the more interesting features in this release include: "A streamlined installer; automatic print driver installation; new desktop applications and enhancements, including Shotwell photo manager, Deja-dup backup software, Pino Identi.ca/Twitter client and Simple Scan scanning utility; NetworkManager improvements; color management; enhanced iPod functionality; enhanced streaming and buffering support in Totem; 3D support for ATI cards via Radeon driver...."
Keywords: steamlined-installer auto-print-driver-install Shotwell Deja-dup Simple-Scan


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 06-04-2010, 09:41 AM   #1
RudraB
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 262

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: anaconda,yum, stability, wireless support
Cons: graphics



This is an excellent release from fedora. True to philosohy, it includes almost the recent version of basic packages, while maintaining the stability(balancing this two is a tough job, and they did it very well). Anaconda, the installer is probably the best(ok, one of the) installer around. And then there is yum....the package manager for fedora!
Only, in my personal opinion, the graphics is lower side. Except that, its an excellent release.
Have you never tried fedora before, give it a shot.
 
Old 06-10-2010, 06:11 AM   #2
rhel5.1
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: good
Cons:


good
good
good
 
Old 06-11-2010, 08:05 AM   #3
orlandopinelo
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


hello
 
Old 06-21-2010, 03:50 AM   #4
 
Registered: Dec 1969
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


It can help!
 
Old 07-17-2010, 03:39 PM   #5
s.j.f1
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


good...
 
Old 07-27-2010, 10:39 PM   #6
maspok
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros:
Cons:


fghghg
 
Old 08-03-2010, 02:20 AM   #7
abarouri
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Distribution: ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy to handle
Cons: did not auto detect some hard ware


n-vedia video card was not supported for 3d
 
Old 08-05-2010, 12:16 AM   #8
el_gallo_azul
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 16

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: Everything works, including codecs
Cons: None that I have discovered


Make sure you have the following extra repositories (software sources) enabled in addition to Fedora 13:

Adobe
Google Chrome
RPM Fusion

I have disabled Livna because it was causing problems.
 
Old 08-08-2010, 06:39 AM   #9
wtlone
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 2

Pros: what's wrong with my firefox and input methd
Cons: 2


yesterday i download a new firefox china edition from http://www.mozillaonline.com/ ijust want to change my web browse.but it appears two problems
first one,after tar the bag , i use this command ~/firefox/firefox want to start the firefox ,bu it tells me "cannot restore segment prot after reloc: Permission denied"
then i use "setenforce 0" shut down the selinux ,after that i can start firefox, problems is i need to "setenforce 0"evertime if i restart my computer ,i can't do this again and again how can i do that?
second one is my input method can't input chinese ,I think with the above issues,input method can't find input windows
OMG……HELP ME
 
Old 08-12-2010, 02:07 AM   #10
plamarca
 
Registered: Aug 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


good...
 
Old 08-17-2010, 06:55 PM   #11
linuxyeung
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Upgrade from fedora 10. No major problem
Cons:


There are some glitches but in general it works nicely
 
Old 09-01-2010, 01:52 PM   #12
java
 
Registered: Apr 2008
Distribution: fedora 13
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Almost every works
Cons: Touch pad does not work on my laptop


I think the only issue i have with it thus far is that my Hp laptop touch pad does not work.When i was using RHEL3 with a 2.4 kernel and i recompiled it to a 2.6, i got the touch pad working and not only that but i was also able to scroll horizontally along the bottom of the touch pad in addition to vertical scroll on the right of the touch pad i.e the full extent of the touch pad just as in microsoft windows so i was a little surprise that it didnt work in fedora 13.
 
Old 09-05-2010, 05:16 AM   #13
spazticclown
 
Registered: Sep 2010
Distribution: Fedora, Android, CentOS
Posts: 91

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Extreamly flexible, easy install, well supported, well documented, cutting edge
Cons: Some hardware support issues (bamboo tablet requires setup, touchpad, some wifi, etc...)


I have installed this on a variety of systems from Netbooks to Desktops and servers dating from 5 years to current hardware. The only issues I had were working with an AMD 785 chipset on a PC (resolved by simple yum -y update) and the WIFI on a Netbook. The Netbook WIFI is a Realtek controller with limited Linux support, searching for a driver found detailed instructions on install and it worked flawlessly.

If you want to have the most cutting edge OS and learn a lot about Linux, Fedora is for you.
 
Old 09-07-2010, 08:37 AM   #14
linuxghost
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Distribution: Fedora 20, Cubox, Raspberry pi
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Smooth upgrade (yum - mie!!) smooth clean install
Cons: some packets install in non-standard locations


Upgraded from Fedora 10 on ACER Aspire One.
Went very well, only minor issues (Update software GUI gpg key issue etc).
Quote:
including Shotwell photo manager, Deja-dup backup software, Pino Identi.ca/Twitter client and Simple Scan scanning utility;
did not install automagicaly on this upgrade.
Smooth clean install on ASUS EeePC 900A.
 
Old 09-10-2010, 01:47 PM   #15
talalpro
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Distribution: Gentoo (Sabayon)
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, Fast, Always updated.
Cons: Graphics problem.... bit after kernel update everythings go like a charm!


It's the best distro for VAIO users...(Also see Opensuse){REDHAT BASED}

Smooth installation.

Good virtualizaition support even with latest kernel.

Cons:Low desktop usability support.(KDE). <<<THE UGLY IS: SElinux RESTRICTIONS: FIREWALL PROBLEMS, FIREFOX, YOU MUST DISABLE IT AFTER INSTALLATION>>>

After all good DISTRO for intermediate users & Experts.

If your looking for more updated linux distro...Of course gentoo or sabayon for nebwbie.
 
Old 09-12-2010, 01:34 AM   #16
richardwoodward
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Excellent upgrade process!!
Cons:



To upgrade my Fedora 12 to Fedora 13, all I had to do was run 'preupgrade' as the root user and click a few default options.

After installation of Fedora 13 was complete, I used the 'System' menu to get Firefox/Thunderbird to be the default Web Browser/Mail Reader. The click path was:

System->Preferences->Preferred Applications
 
Old 09-23-2010, 07:47 AM   #17
mbvo
 
Registered: May 2006
Distribution: slackware-current
Posts: 220

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy and fairly fast install, excelent live cd
Cons: Complete exclusion of propriatary software


I've been trying out several distros recently, trying to figure out which one I want to settle with. Fedora 13 runs excellent on my presario x1000. I was a little disappointed by the fact that it does not come with gaim or pidgin, and also because fedora maintains it's repositories completely free and open source it cannot come with flash. What I did like though was compared to the current version of ubuntu fedora loads twice as fast and runs 10 times faster on this old machine. It turned me back on to gnome... maybe I'll go back to kde when i get a faster computer.
 
Old 09-27-2010, 07:25 PM   #18
kringle777
 
Registered: Dec 2004
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Easy to upgrade, nice live cd
Cons: Some propietary software would be nice. Not available


Great distro!
 
Old 10-15-2010, 06:05 AM   #19
arijan
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: up to date technologies, professional alternative
Cons: RHEL's testing platform (perhaps can be read as "RHEL's orphan")


I used Fedora 6,8, and tested 13.
Personally, I am not a fond of Fedora, mostly for the basic concept it had evolved from.

It is a good choice for users who like mix between desktop and enterprise, although such mix has it's disadvantages.

In order to reach stability and performance closest to RHEL and for free, one should rather consider CentOS.
 
Old 11-18-2010, 03:56 AM   #20
arunvk
 
Registered: Nov 2005
Distribution: Fedora 11
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: excellent hardware detection, faster boot,stable
Cons: gnash flash plugin is not that capable, some issues with power management options


fedora 13 is good and as always better than the previous version. I didnt waste too must time trying to get things working.
 
Old 12-19-2011, 01:57 PM   #21
zeebra
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Mageia 3, Debian Wheezy, Maemo, Linux Mint 14.
Posts: 165

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: large community, KDE version available
Cons: quite closed, non configurable, slow, unfriendly community


I have wanted Fedora to be great for years but have always ended up sadly disappointed. The last version(13) I tried was awful, many taditional Linux configure options removed and a horrible custom Grub that doesnt let you edit menu.lst
this is fine enough, but get worse when the GUI boot config tool only allows Fedora to be added! an unfriendly rude community IRC did not help and the lack of wireless success left me finding solutions elsewhere.
Fedora as the child of Redhat may have become too commercial for its own good, and for me is only slightly better than Windows Vista In fact it doesnt let you configure that much more of the system than Windows vista does either.

I wil never try a future version of Fedora again, even though I havee waited for a good one. The overall impression was just too poor. since Fedora 10 it has only gone downhill.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration