LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Slackware Linux 13.1
Reviews Views Date of last review
17 79463 04-17-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
94% of reviewers None indicated 9.3



Description: "Yes, it's that time again! After many months of development and careful testing, we are proud to announce the release of Slackware version 13.1. Slackware 13.1 brings many updates and enhancements, among which you'll find two of the most advanced desktop environments available today: Xfce 4.6.1, a fast and lightweight but visually appealing and easy to use desktop environment, and KDE 4.4.3, a recent stable release of the new 4.4.x series of the award-winning KDE desktop environment. We continue to make use of HAL and udev, which allow the system administrator to grant use of various hardware devices according to users' group membership."
Keywords: Xfce-4.6.1 KDE-4.4.3 HAL udev


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 05-26-2010, 03:39 PM   #1
gegechris99
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Distribution: Slackware 14.1 32bit
Posts: 699

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, fast with KDE 4.4.3, user in control of setting up the system to his/her needs
Cons: Being in control of setting up the system to one's needs might frighten a newcomer



This latest release gives me the most satisfaction since I'm using Slackware (September 2005 with 10.2).

In addition to the expected stability and simplicity (i.e. I'm in full control of setting up the system to my own needs), this release comes with up-to-date packages in particular the KDE 4.4.3 which I find highly functional and responsive on my desktop (1.8MHz, 1GB RAM).

With this release, the Slackware team demonstrates that stability and bleeding edge are not incompatible goals. It seems to boil down to a good vetting process before deciding what gets included in the distribution (Thanks Patrick Volkerding for making the rather controversial switch to KDE4 in 13.0).

As usual, reading the documentation files is highly recommended before installation or upgrade (I would dare to say mandatory even for longtime Slackware users). A good starting point would be:

README.TXT

CHANGES_AND_HINTS.TXT

and if you want to upgrade from 13.0:

UPGRADE.TXT
 
Old 05-27-2010, 02:38 AM   #2
icecubeflower
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 304

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: awesome
Cons: none


Slackware 13.1 is the best OS ever. The KDE people have been kicking some ass and now you can do window tabbing just like fluxbox. Also you can drag windows to the edge of the screen and they'll auto size to half your resolution which is actually EASIER than writing my own apps file in fluxbox. I'm actually switching from fluxbox back to KDE again. I didn't see that coming. Not in a million years. Also it boots pretty fast.

Also KDevelop 4.0! Kick-ass.

KWord still won't save in .doc format so it's useless when you want to email a resume. But that's no big deal because you can install whatever word processor you want.

I have a noob-proof tutorial for installing slackware here if it's useful to anybody:
http://www.icecubeflower.com/slcak.html
EDIT:
By the way you can get the Openoffice Slackbuild script and it uses the .deb package so you don't even have compile. So although slack technically doesn't come with Openoffice it's extremely fast and easy to install it and you'll be saving .doc's in no time.
 
Old 05-28-2010, 11:26 PM   #3
michaelinux
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Distribution: Slackware -current
Posts: 166

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: it's slackware!!!
Cons: are you kidding me? ^^


after a while using slackware it became my favorite distro, i've been using it since 12.1, and for this release i couldn't expect less, such a great work with kde, still as icecubeflower said kword doesn't save your doc files but, i guess that's something we're gonna have to bare with in a while.
in one word... AMAZING
 
Old 06-06-2010, 03:36 AM   #4
meetscott
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 405

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Good Documentation, Hands on Learning
Cons: None so far....


Slackware and Linux are the reasons I went back to school for computer science. I've been a Slackware user for 15 years now. It's an extremely rewarding distribution. Things just work.

I second the comment about vetting. The maintainers do such a great job and the documentation is short and to the point. Very easy to follow the readme's in the base of the distro.

It is so rewarding and satisfying to get new things working because the base is so solid. I set up encrypted logical volumes on my laptop following the docs, RAID 1 and LVM on another server, again, just follow the docs.

I configure things or figure them out once in Slackware and I can just merge my changes as time goes on. It is this respect for my own preferences that makes me love Slackware. It so flexible and simple. Other distros do spooky, scary things under the covers. Slackware is right in your face about all of it. I like that.

It is more effort but it's not wasted effort. It is productive effort. That has not been my experience on other distros. I waste tons of time on stupid stuff with other Linux distributions. Slackware will never do this to you. I promise :-)

Oh, and I should add plugs for stability and speed too. I haven't used anything better than Slackware in both of these respects.
 
Old 06-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #5
zhizaki
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, Familar, excellent out of the box experience.
Cons: Not for the faint of heart or GUI/Wizard dependent folks


I've been using Linux for 10 years and always wind up coming back to Slackware because of it's simplicity.
 
Old 08-23-2010, 07:03 PM   #6
njb
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 167

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable and powerfull
Cons: motivate me to improve my Linux


I'm new in slackware but not in linux distro.
I've learn more with slackware in three months than with others distros in three years.
I started with the 13.0
Now with the 13.1, I can go further, and the KDE 4.5.0 (cause I upgraded to current) is so rich in functionalities.

NjB
 
Old 09-18-2010, 11:59 AM   #7
EL DEMONIO
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Slackware & Fedora
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: sooo stable and fast!
Cons: The installation inferface is not for newbies


I love it! so stable... currently running my radio station online and I like it better then red hat! I switched from Red Hat 5.5 Eterprise to Slackware Linux 13.1
 
Old 10-22-2010, 11:58 PM   #8
lssanjose
 
Registered: Aug 2010
Distribution: Slackware, Gentoo (trying to) on the laptop
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros: Very flexible, deployment ready, no BS, simply elegant
Cons: learning curve, but that depends on how willing a person is to go through the Slackware path


Slackware has been a distribution of mention throughout my exposure to Linux. Having talked to someone about Linux, Slackware was his recommendation. I've tried setting up linux on my own, and had given up back then because I thought it was too hard.

Enter summer 2010: I had been tipped about using Ubuntu. I installed it, and was given a great out of the box experience. But, I felt, I was being robbed indirectly. I don't think I was being forced to learn Linux like I felt I was going to learn it.

This said, I popped in the latest Slackware, and wasn't fazed because I had read the beginning sections of the Slackbook. After that, I had an able system, ready to take on what Linux has to offer me. During this time, I hadn't been keen on customizing my installs. However, as I grew into it, I started being more daring, and getting more comfortable compiling things from source. I do like the idea of having to deal with them on my own.

I use the x86 flavor on my laptop, the 64 w/ multilib on my desktop. Each have been stable, as long as I don't install a faulty package. I've had a number of times where my keyboard and mouse have been disabled after going into X.

This said, I think Slackware, is a highly rewarding; but very productive because you get up and running in minutes. This allows people time to worry about configuring it, as opposed to time spent worrying about assembling it.
 
Old 11-15-2010, 05:54 AM   #9
zrdc28
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: Slackware current
Posts: 234

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable as a rock, comes loaded with packages ready for use.
Cons: lilo works well, but grub might be better for dual boot!


The hardest thing about slackware installation is setting up the particians. If you know how to use fdisk or gparted to set up the particians the hardest part is behind you.The best part of installation is that 90% of the questions ask, offer a suggestion, just enter and move on! If you do the full install, slackware has far more packages than any of the other distros ready to use. I have used many of the other distros over the years and some are great, but I think that the helpful knowledge base for slack is tops.
 
Old 11-15-2010, 12:54 PM   #10
gbschenkel
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Distribution: Slackware of course
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: stable, fast, reliability, secure, with this distro you are The Man
Cons: the people maybe will start complain which you are a nerd


I am using Slackware Linux since version 11.0, i have try use other distros, because i don't was much skillful, but i always back because the others distros are too stupid making tools to auto install packages and dependencies which you never will use or don't ever know was installed.

I use Slackware as server and client, and i am very satisfied, and i recommend use it.
 
Old 11-25-2010, 12:48 PM   #11
monfen
 
Registered: Nov 2010
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Friendly to the user, Stable, Simple, Secure, Speedy, ...
Cons: Hard to complain about it, it simply works ...


I started my experience with Slackware with this very version - 13.1 (32bit). I am new to Slack but I am starting to love it much in every detail! Wonderful creature!
 
Old 11-26-2010, 08:16 AM   #12
Linux.tar.gz
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Slackware forever.
Posts: 2,223

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: 100% pure Linux OS. Stable. Fast. Simple. No blah blah.
Cons: Well... If i'll find one, then i'll tell ya.


Here's a way to have a PC fully powered. Even an old one. No bad surprise. No bulls**t. Good reactivity of updates. No 140 cd's set you'll never use.
I like the poor graphisms during installation because they introduce no bug.
The configuration tools (net, packages...) are quick.
On the Slackware site, you have The Book, from which you can learn Linux really fast.
The packages system is strong. No dependencies headaches.
A LOT of packages at http://slackbuilds.org/

Slack leads you from newbie to expert :
I've learned more slackin' 6 monthes than 10 years of others OS (including other Linuxes).
Well, please stop reading and just go for it.

P.S.: Big thanx to Patrick Volkerding and all other people who makes Slackware.
 
Old 12-05-2010, 08:30 AM   #13
sl13kp
 
Registered: Dec 2010
Distribution: slackware
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: stable,flexible
Cons: none


Slackware is my preferred operating system for exceptional stability and customization.
I started with Slackware version 7.1
 
Old 01-14-2011, 01:22 AM   #14
androidd
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Distribution: Slackware 13.1 / Debian / Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great way to transition from noob linux user to Advanced user
Cons:


Amazing... Everyone who has moved to Linux needs to change over to Slackware it will change your life! read above comments and you will see it's true this will take you to the next level in your Linux Life!
 
Old 01-17-2011, 05:35 AM   #15
ggarron
 
Registered: Nov 2007
Distribution: Arch Linux
Posts: 11

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Stable, simple
Cons: It is not for newbies (May not be a con)


I'm not new to Linux, but I am certainly new to Slackware, I have started with it about six months ago.

I've used Ubuntu and Fedora, also for a small frame of time. Gentoo, Mandriva. Tested a lot of others on the Virtual Machine. But I have been stick to Debian and Arch Linux.

Now I've tested Slackware, I have three favorites, and just can't decide, so I use them three, Debian, Arch Linux and Slackware.

Here is what I think about Slackware.

My Slackware review

Guillermo Garron
 
Old 02-21-2011, 11:54 PM   #16
kayakman
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Distribution: Ubuntu 12.04
Posts: 39

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: no comments
Cons: wireless function



Review of SLACKWARE: After 3 days of attempting to find a way to make a wireless connection....it has eluded me to no end. I'm tired of people saying Slackware is so Great. If you happen to be a code writer/programmer, I guess this distro is for you. Not for me. My nic card shows up during the booting process. No way to determine how to find it from the desktop or do any configuration for it. Not one that makes sense. My laptop is a Dell 1545, 4gb ram, 80gb hard drive for installing Slackware, it took two attempts. Finally got a desktop (XFCE) to appear. My best experience of linux distros: LinuxMint10.1, PCLOS and SUSEEDucation. I know I know I'm overly critical here and you guys that know linux inside out I envy. Yet I was wanting to try Slackware and see what all the hype is about. So far...None.
 
Old 04-17-2011, 04:37 PM   #17
Archduke
 
Registered: Apr 2011
Distribution: Slackware 13.1
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Very slim
Cons: No good package manager


Slackware's really fun. I use it for my laptop, desktop, and server. Very fast, stable, and clean. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a "real linux" experience that is somewhat familiar with BASH. Works great on older machines -- my webserver never goes above 100MB of RAM unless I'm hosting a game server.

I would recommend the 32bit version over the 64bit version because it has higher compatibility right off the bat. I would recommend giving the SlackBook a quick read.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration