LinuxQuestions.org
Support LQ: Use code LQ3 and save $3 on Domain Registration
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mint
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Linux Mint 9
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 24695 01-08-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 10.0



Description: "The team is proud to announce the release of Linux Mint 9 'Isadora'. New features at a glance: new Software Manager - 30,000 packages, review applications straight from Software Manager, APT daemon, visual improvements; new backup tool - incremental backups, compression, integrity checks, backup and restoration of the software selection; Menu improvements - editable items, transparent menu, always start with favorites, 'Add to' shortcuts; desktop settings - changes apply immediately, additional options; better look and feel - backgrounds, welcome screen, update manager; system improvements - Windows installer, Husse quotes, USB Creator, default software selection, local repository and Gnome-PPP, APT hold/unhold/held commands...."
Keywords: Isadora APT-daemon backup-tool USB-Creator


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 07-06-2010, 11:45 PM   #1
sandman6471
 
Registered: Jul 2010
Distribution: #! CrunchBang(10 Statler)
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Very Stable, Easy to Use, Awsome
Cons: Non so far



I've been using it for about 2 month's now, right after Mint 9 came out. I've used other Distro's and this one is just easier to use to me who is just coming from windows. I have no thoughts of ever going back to windows.
 
Old 10-20-2010, 11:41 PM   #2
catilley1092
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Linux Mint "Mate" x64 (primary OS), Win 7/8 x64, XP Home/Pro x32.
Posts: 61

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Great for newbies and pros alike, over 30,000 apps at your hands
Cons: picky about printers


I've been using Mint since 7 (Gloria), and have found a home in Mint. The 64 bit version is awesome, smoking on only 2GB RAM, and an older AMD Athlon X2 64 (3250e) processor. It for the most part, meets my needs.

For those who are considering Linux, Mint is great for a newbie. If you can use Firefox (or Opera), you already have the knowledge to begin to use Mint.

Also, perhaps the most elegant of all Linux distros.

Cat
 
Old 10-24-2010, 06:37 PM   #3
tiredofbilkyyaforallican
 
Registered: Aug 2010
Distribution: LMDE/Peppermint/Mint 9,&10/along with a few others
Posts: 152

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: easy to learn
Cons: doesn't like certain printers


I've been using Mint 9 for about 3 months now on 2 different laptops,A Dell 1525 & an Emachines E625.Both came with Windoze vista and can honestly say that my experience has been more than satisfying.Although Linux is not for everybody I believe everybody should be made aware of its presence in the computer world.I even got my wife to give it a try and now I can't get her away from my back up laptop!!(The Emachine).I am still learning about computers in general and find myself lost on occasion but there is more than enough help online to get by with.This OS found all my drivers and I had absolutely no problem with getting both machines running the way I wanted which really surprised me compared to when I set up vistuh!! still re-growing my hair over that one.Aside from the printer problem which was my own stupidity(check which ones support Linux)I have had a good time with it.I should also say that I have tried Ubuntu,Knoppix and a few other OS but I seem to be drawn back to Isadora. My wife still uses Isadora but I have moved on to Julia and am finding it just as easy.
 
Old 01-08-2011, 03:15 PM   #4
rahulkya
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Linux mint,Ubuntu,Debian,RHEL 5,slackware 13.1, free BSD,solaris.
Posts: 186

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: very easy to configure
Cons: for me none


My love for the mint is since from mint 8. I found mint 9 pretty stable without any update. I know it is derived from ubuntu but I can definitely say that it is better and stable than ubuntu. Liked pretty much its graphics configuration sharper than any linux distro...
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Main Menu

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration