LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > CentOS
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

CentOS 5.5
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 39568 04-20-2012
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.5



Description: "We are pleased to announce the immediate availability of CentOS 5.5 for i386 and x86_64 architectures. CentOS 5.5 is based on the upstream release 5.5 and includes packages from all variants including Server and Client. All upstream repositories have been combined into one, to make it easier for end users to work with. Live CDs for CentOS 5.5 on i386 and x86_64 are being released at the same time as the main distro. The live CDs are meant to be used to run a CentOS 5.5 environment or to start a network-based install. The live CDs are set up to allow running from either optical media like CDs and DVDs or from USB keys and other portable media."
Keywords: Redhat-based repo's-combined live-CD


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 09-09-2010, 12:48 PM   #1
danilomori
 
Registered: Sep 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:



Bajare centos para instalarlo en mi notebook
lo necesito para hacer linea terminal
 
Old 09-11-2010, 12:24 AM   #2
SA_Ron
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Multiple. Depends on my mood.
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: It's linux
Cons: wireless config was a pain: hard disk issues


I guess this is okay. It seems that my main issue was hardware related, but it is an odd one.

Was only one major error on install, but it's a doozy for me. See the part about my hard disk below.

Setting up my Atheros card was a pain. I tried setting it up thru Network Configurtion and it wouldn't come up. I did some research and found that I had to use NetworkManager tool instead. Managed to get the wireless working. So one tool works and the other doesn't. Okaaaaayyyyy.

I have a WD2000JB-32F Western Digital hard drive as a slave (ext3). It has all my stuff on it. The master has my linux distros on it and not much else. CentOS did fine with the master drive, but on that slave it had I/O errors and couldn't mount it. Didn't show up in /dev either, but it seems that the hardware manager saw it just fine.

Since my other distros don't have issues with this drive, I decided that I wasn't going to troubleshoot the problem. Wasn't going to take the chance of blowing away my data when other distros saw the drive (and the data) just fine.

I had wanted to use CentOS as a work/play distro, but since I have the drive issues it is useless to me. I'm not surprised since I've had issues with multiple versions of CentOS on several hardware platforms. It seems there's always some issue with CentOS.

I recommend it only on the idea that this OS probably just doesn't like me. This is the only OS that refuses to work for me no matter the version or the hardware. It hates me and I hate it. You'll probably have better luck with it though.
 
Old 10-15-2010, 05:43 AM   #3
hand_of_hack
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Linux
Cons: Default Desktop install


I have not had a lot of time to fully assess the product. It seems stable as most linux distros.

I have not installed the KDE of the product, which I feel is the better of the two desktops. I have been running this under VMware Server 2.0 and it behaves as expected, with one exception. The scrolling using a wheel mouse. When it automatically scrolls to the bottom of the page whenever the scroll wheel is moved the slightest bit.

I will be switching to the KDE desktop soon.
 
Old 01-12-2011, 11:09 PM   #4
zitonglanhu
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


How can I get the isos?I need linux.iso to build my virtual machine.
 
Old 03-22-2011, 02:34 PM   #5
kitek
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Posts: 252

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


I have been using Centos since around 2005. It has been great for me. It was the second distro I stuck with from 2001 when I first took the step to any Linux Distro. Red Hat 8 was my first. Little that I knew, I purchased it at Best Buy. Shortly after, O discovered the Open Source and all that. So I used Blue quartz which was based off I believe even Centos 3 I think. I have dabbled in a few other distros but, I kept coming back. I have 2 servers that have been up and running since 2006 and they are in good running condition now upgraded to Centos 5 now.Thumbs up from me.
 
Old 04-20-2012, 04:53 AM   #6
suresh.k
 
Registered: Aug 2011
Distribution: centos, Ubuntu
Posts: 163

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros:
Cons:


Centos Live CD's are very help full.
and also it is very great to use as a server as well as client.
This is also a user friendly.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration