LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Debian Woody 3.0
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 23745 01-04-2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0



Description: This is one of the latest Debian releases, Woody 3.0. Knoppix 3.3, installed to the hard drive, is this.
Keywords: Debian, Woody, Knoppix, 3.0


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 03-10-2004, 02:55 PM   #1
apache363
 
Registered: Jan 2004
Distribution: OS X; FreeBSD; Debian
Posts: 172

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 10

Pros: Stable, fast, tons of packages available
Cons: None, in my observations



I love Debian Woody 3.0. It's stable, fast, works really well, and has so many packages available for it. I cannot find any negative aspects of Debian 3.0, so I would recommend it to anybody, from newbie to power user. It's a real distro, with real power.
 
Old 05-09-2004, 11:25 PM   #2
csm0004
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 9

Pros: Availablility of packages, stability
Cons: installation, learning curve


I've been working with RH, Debian and SuSE for about 4 months. I keep finding myself returning to Debian Woody. The support documentation is specific enough to allow me to adapt it to my specific needs. It's very stable and it'll run on older machines without a problem. It has great support for the troublesome 3Com NIC's that my organization overbought. The only draw back has been learning the installation process.
 
Old 08-18-2004, 12:35 AM   #3
celejar
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Distribution: Debian Sid
Posts: 185

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 6

Pros: huge number of packages; doesn't use latest versions of things
Cons: less user friendly than other distros; doesn't use latest versions of things :)


I can't build kernels. The sig11 faq (http://www.bitwizard.nl/sig11/) suggests that it might be a hardware issue.
Weak on multimedia support out of the box (I don't have much experience with modern distros to compare, but much modern stuff isn't even on the cds).
Huge number of basic packages included on the 7 (!) cds, e.g. nmap, dictd, all sorts of obscure utilities and games, but a lot isn't installed by default (I guess one could try selecting 'everything' during installation). Some things aren't there at all (e.g. I can't find GTK+. I downloaded and installed GTK+ v1.2.10 from source, but haven't managed to build v2.x [something about Xft, which apparently is in XFree86 4.3 or greater, but v4.1.0.1 is the included version).
Seems solid and stable (except for the kernel building issue).
Another major caveat is that even the installed packages are often old versions. They apparently do this to ensure maximum stability (in the stable version), but it can make life difficult (e.g. libstdc++.5.so is not included in stable, only in testing, and can't be installed without an upgraded glibc, also from testing, which wrecked my system. The Firefox installer depends on that libstdc++, as does other stuff).
Update: I seem to be able to consistently build kernels when the machine's cold, i.e. right after turning it on, but maybe it's just a coincidence.
 
Old 12-17-2004, 05:23 PM   #4
Neuronet
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Distribution: Debian 3.0
Posts: 43

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 7

Pros: when it works its no hassle at all. Pretty stable too.
Cons: Seems to vary from install to install, with some installs being more hassle than others.


I like debian. That said, I am looking for a different distro. I've tried a few others (mandrake suse etc.) but debian was my favorite at the time. I'm now a little sick of the dependency problems I'm getting and think that a more simple distro may be in order.

Other that that debian has served me well.

When I've wanted a new package, apt-get has in general served me very well and the install was easy.
 
Old 01-04-2005, 12:49 AM   #5
lucky_dev36
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: D/L | Rating: 8

Pros: Supports hardware with ALSA | their working on spport for nForce (May have got it down) | Config is Somewhat easy | Found Workarounds/solutions to problems.
Cons: Kernel Panic on HD With 2.6.10 (Gonna figure this one out!) | The paniced kernel SUPPORTED MY SOUDCARD... | X11 4.1 said "no matching modes" (Upgraded to solve this.)


Pro Explainations:
1. Supports Hardwae w/ ALSA:
My soundcard is ALSA-Approved... Well the thing stopping me is a harddrive panic. (2.6.10, system on 2.4.18-bf2.4)

2. Their working on support for nVidia nForce:
Hopefully, this will be a "kernel's gift," to have my networking card(s) supported. (I Dont like USB Hookup.)

3. Configuration
Configgy is not too hard, but can be frustrating.

4. Workarounds for those nasty errors!
Programmer newbie, but working with strings, I can figure out plain config problems. (About strings: I used to have a kernel that instaid of "Kernel Panic", it would say "Kernel YEOUCH"

Cons:

1. -- Skipped --
2. Yeah, that nasty panic!
3. -- Skipped --
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration