LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Other
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Scientific Linux 5.4 "Live CD/DVD"
Reviews Views Date of last review
1 26542 12-06-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0



Description: "Scientific Linux Live CD/DVD 5.4 has been released for i386 and x86_64. Features: live CD/DVD can be installed to local hard disk; runs from USB key; changes can be stored persistently on an external device; can be mounted over NFS (diskless client). Software: Linux kernel 2.6.18, OpenAFS client 1.4.11, X.Org 7.1, 3D desktop with Compiz and AIGLX, ALSA sound library 1.0.17; GNOME 2.16.0 (standard desktop), GIMP 2.2.13, OpenOffice.org 2.3.0, Firefox 3.0.15, Thunderbird 2.0.0.22, KDE 3.5.4 (only on DVD)."
Keywords: kernel-2.6.18 GNOME KDE Redhat-Enterprise


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 12-06-2009, 05:50 PM   #1
Flymo
 
Registered: Feb 2008
Distribution: Bodhi Linux 2/3 , SuSE, Puppy, Knoppix, SliTaz, Raspbian, ArchBang
Posts: 59

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Fascinating mix of packages - including interesting games
Cons: Clumsy methods of full installation



Recommended with a cautionary warning - I could not get it to install in a spare partition, and had no luck with using an installation disk (as opposed to the Live CD). Both attempts reported problems with Anaconda, the installer, in both graphic and GUI modes the screen corrupted, so there was not a lot to go on.
So there may be a problem, but it could be specific to my laptop (Acer Aspire 5684 WLMi, T5600, 2GB, 200GB, NVidia GeForce Go 7600 with 128MB).
But having said that, I like it a lot! The live CD works well, the packages are fascinating and we plan to persevere.
Well worth booting it up for a look, and sharing the secret if you manage an installation.
We will be looking into the Fermi and CERN sites for their installation methods.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration