LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Mandriva
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Mandriva Linux 2010
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 48149 06-05-2010
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
90% of reviewers $49.00 8.2



Description: "Mandriva is proud to introduce its brand new release: Mandriva Linux 2010, code name 'Adelie'. Included in this new release, 'Smart desktop' technology, coming from a European research project. Your desktop is tasks oriented. Organize your personal data (mails, documents, images, videos). Notate it, add your comments and tags. Now your data is easy to find through your projects. Boot time has been improved again. Mandriva Linux 2010 comes with 3 brand new designs - choose the one you prefer. You can also choose one of the 11 extra backgrounds contributed by community members."
Keywords: Adelie Smart-desktop Task-oriented-desktop


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-07-2009, 10:18 PM   #1
Olle Gladso
 
Registered: Feb 2005
Distribution: Mandriva 2009.1 powerpack
Posts: 22

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Another great release from Mandriva!
Cons: No 64-bit one cd available.



Very nice! First class hardware detection. Fairly quick to boot.
 
Old 11-16-2009, 04:49 PM   #2
ServalSoft
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Distribution: mandriva pwp 2010
Posts: 74

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Easy install, all Hardware detected
Cons: minor issues with rpmdrake


I installed it on my compaq presarion v4000 notebook, and although the install time was lengthy (about 45 mins), everything worked out of the box, and every plugins i need were easily installed via rpmdrake. I however needed to update, rebuild the db a few times to install packages :( a part from that, this is an excelent platform.
 
Old 12-01-2009, 04:07 AM   #3
mrloy
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: PCLinuxOS, Mandriva, Gentoo, [k]ubuntu, RELS
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: As close to idiot proof as possible, fast boot, fast overall
Cons: It certainly makes life easier to buy the powerpack


Excellent all round. Caters for beginners and advanced Linux users.
 
Old 12-01-2009, 08:01 PM   #4
pocosdad
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Smooth install and seems idiot proof
Cons: No 64 bit


KDE is very stable compared to previous versions of KDE...a very nice option for the windows users who want an alternative.
 
Old 12-08-2009, 08:13 AM   #5
john-ellis
 
Registered: Mar 2007
Distribution: Windows Vista
Posts: 8

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros:
Cons:


excellent product, big improvement from 2009, I installed on my Samsung laptop no problems with the install, propably the best Linux os I have used.
 
Old 02-04-2010, 02:24 PM   #6
tmyers0
 
Registered: Oct 2008
Distribution: mandriva 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: 64 bit easy to install, runs smoothly and efficiently
Cons: no good 64 bit flash player


I currently have windows 7 and mandriva 2010.0 and 2010.1 installed on my HP laptop. I have tried other linux distributions (ubuntu 9.04 and 9.10, suse, and fedora) and they all worked but I like mandriva the best.
 
Old 02-15-2010, 12:06 PM   #7
camorri
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Distribution: Slackware 14.1
Posts: 4,859

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: MCC - Easy to use tools - Fast boot
Cons: Havn't found any yet.


I'm a long time Mandy user. I'm now running 64 bit version on a gigabyte system, dual core, and a gig of ram, Nvidia audio and video.

KDE-4 is now stable. I also installed XFCE.

I have been using Mandriva, since Mandrake 9.0 This version is easily the fastest, from boot time to shutdown. I also run several servers.

Only problem I have is boredom, there isn't anything to fix, it just works.
 
Old 04-06-2010, 09:48 AM   #8
mikeonen
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: $49.00 | Rating: 8

Pros: great GUI
Cons: setup is difficult for newbies ike me


I would rate it a ten for all the bits I should have if only I could get it all together. :cry:I downloaded and installed Mandrivas 2010 free distro then bought the powerpack iso and after burning to disk in XP, because getting burning packages in the free version is a tad complicated, I tried to install the powerpack from the bootable DVD. After some time of watching the installation failing I decided to try the One distro and this then gave me the option to upgrade to powerpack. I inserted the DVD but could not get it mounted. I rebooted with the DVD to boot from but that failed yet again, Same messages I/O error device sr0 exit abnormally. so I tried using Brasero, yup this comes up easily in the One distro but the iso again thinking this was a windows vesus linux thing but no go. I have tried to update to powerpack using the desktop links but that is only going to download the same iso another 3 hours plus.

So would someone please explain what I am doing wrong because I confess I am clear out of ideas and my download link expires in about 9 days:scratch:
 
Old 04-14-2010, 11:30 AM   #9
waltersaegir
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Distribution: Mandrake 7.1
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1

Pros: Setup Loads
Cons: Poor support for older laptops


My Compaq Presario 1260 loads and runs the setup CD, *but* at some point the setup says that it can't find a driver for the CDROM drive which is a Toshiba XM-7002B. I'm left with a scroll box of *many* misc drivers from WiFi to SCSI to USB, etc, but nothing that looks useful for the CDROM.
 
Old 06-05-2010, 04:11 AM   #10
albatros1330
 
Registered: Jun 2010
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0

Pros:
Cons:


THANK YOU
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration