LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu Studio 9.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
4 28584 12-16-2009
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers None indicated 8.5



Description: "The Ubuntu Studio team is proud to announce its sixth release: Ubuntu Studio 9.10 'Karmic Koala'. With this release, which you can download in a 1.4 GB DVD, Ubuntu Studio offers a pre-made selection of packages, targeted at audio producers, video producers and graphic designers. Ubuntu Studio greatly simplifies the Linux-based multimedia workstation. Features: official upstream real-time kernel; font meta package added to the graphics meta, which installs hundreds of free fonts; Xwax and a2jmidid packaged and added to the audio meta-package; Xjadeo added to the video meta; Firewire libraries are now upgraded to 2.0...."
Keywords: Karmic-Koala real-time-kernel font-meta-package Xwax a2jmidid Xjadeo Firewire


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-12-2009, 05:38 AM   #1
Neofish
 
Registered: Dec 2008
Distribution: Fedora
Posts: 35

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Very good at what it does
Cons: not that good for anything but studio work



I tried this out, but went back to normal ubuntu within 48 hours. It works beautifully as a linux studio, but isn't that easy to get it working for other stuff aswell. It also lacks alot of the new features of ubuntu 9.10, including a gui installer, ubuntu one, software, gnome-network-manager, email/chat client, just to name a few. It would only put this on a box that would be used for media production. (you can't even connect to the internet with it!!!)
 
Old 11-29-2009, 08:40 PM   #2
techxkg1086
 
Registered: Dec 2007
Distribution: trying out some
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Ability to encrypt the drive and the home folder
Cons: Hung once on install. likes a clean hard drive


Using it now initially not satisfied. During first week started having trouble booting up. Will put it aside for now and look into it more later. Well put aside for two days and started again last night. booted up nicely for first night. Curiously three different messenger service's don't work properly. Turned on effects and use the Gimp, and Firefox of course. Put a few screenlets on too. Every thing else seems to be working ok. All and all I think this is a good distro and worthy of working with. Heck who knows, the trouble could be this old machine. Had to completely wipe the HD's to get the LVM and encryption feature to work. Last weekend I loaded it on a different machine.It doesn't have trouble booting up any more. It doesn't have trouble doing anything. Have compiz set to max and speed dial on Firefox with adblock turned on. A couple days later I put on V box so I could run XP and access my work training modules. So far so good. Brings me the point of saying why I use Linux. In summary a very customizable distribution.
 
Old 12-02-2009, 01:10 PM   #3
ursa
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu Studio 9.10
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: worked out of the box
Cons: none so far


I have been able to utilize the same functions I used on Ubuntu 9.04: email, connecting to the Internet via Firefox, Seamonkey Composer, audio editing and playing, burning CDs and DVDs, etc. Visual Effects is turned off as default but I don't need that. Using AMD64.
 
Old 12-16-2009, 07:40 PM   #4
glarrain
 
Registered: Oct 2009
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7

Pros: Improved usability and apperance
Cons: Too many bugs. Slow boot (w/o "tune-up")


I've been using Ubuntu since 7.10 and it has improved a lot but in this release I think they rushed with features that weren't tested enough.

I had bought a new laptop (Lenovo t400) so I decided to give 9.10 a try instead of sticking with Intrepid Ibex. I had many issues with the graphics, as the ATI support for linux drivers is weak and Ubuntu's propietary-driver installer (jockey?) crashed my X and disabled me from logging in.

The desktop and appearance in general have been improved but there still are weird things going on when switching toolbar's layout to vertical (either left or right).

Also, boot time took too long, which obviosuly wasn't expected in a brand new computer. Googling I found out this was a common issue and could be solved installing some packages.

So, after all, it is a good release but not stable enough for production use. I really expect Canonical to solve the many small bugs in the next release, due in April. Remember it will be LTS so stability (not appearance improvements) and reliability SHOULD BE the main concern.
 




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration