LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Reviews > Distributions > Ubuntu
User Name
Password

Notices

Search · Register · Submit New Review · Download your favorite Linux Distributions ·
 

Ubuntu 9.10
Reviews Views Date of last review
28 104326 01-03-2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers None indicated 7.2



Description: "Ubuntu 9.10 brings changes small and large that all have a common purpose - to make Ubuntu the most user-friendly operating system available. Ubuntu 9.10 features a redesigned, faster boot and login experience, a revamped audio framework, and improved 3G broadband connectivity, all of which contribute to a first-class user experience. Furthermore, the innovative '100 Paper Cuts' initiative organised with the Ubuntu Community allowed users to nominate minor annoyances that impacted their enjoyment of the platform. So far over 50 fixes have been committed, removing minor irritants such as inconsistent naming or poorly organised application choices."
Keywords: faster-boot 3G-broadband 100-Paper-Cuts


Author
Post A Reply 
Old 11-07-2009, 12:01 PM   #1
gael33
 
Registered: Feb 2009
Distribution: Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit
Posts: 227

Rep: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Pretty, fast, stable and almost totally reliable.
Cons: Still not as flexable as Windows but it's getting there.



As a relative newbie and techno ludite I can only go of my own seemingly ignorant experience.
I loaded Ubuntu 9.10 (Karmic Kaola) on to my elderly (6 Years) PC after wiping the hdd clean. The install was easy and the instructions simple to follow, even for me.
Getting on line wirelessly was simplicity itself.
Everything appears to be working fine, and I've even reinstalled all my little favourite programs that I used previously. I have since used Bluetooth and that works perfectly ... as opposed to Ubuntu 8.10 where Bluetooth never functioned ... perhaps due to my inexperience and inability to find a solution to the problem. Having said that, I did have teething trouble with USB ports and sockets. The Firefox browser (3.5) kept freezing until I swapped the USB's around and then the whole thing settled down and it's been okay now for the last 3 days (touch wood). Anyway, my experience with Karmic Kaola has been thus far satisfactory ... lets hope it stays that way.
 
Old 11-17-2009, 01:37 PM   #2
thelastquincy
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast,Clean,Stable, Fixes old problems
Cons: Havn't found on yet


I messed around with my old distro so I messed up a few things like my screen. It wasn't full screen and when I updated 9.10 fixed that and now I have full screen again. So it's pretty amazing..Love it
 
Old 11-24-2009, 01:45 AM   #3
dudeman41465
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 794

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? no | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4

Pros: Stable Once You Get it Running
Cons: A lot of broken stuff compared to 9.04


A not so great release out of the box. I had a bad experience with wireless and some applications have funny little issues they didn't have before. It is pretty stable once you get it up and running and looks like about every other release of Ubuntu. Kind of feels like they tried to toss in all of the latest and greatest stuff without making sure it all played nicely together. (Why is Ubuntu One dependent on the Gnome Network Manager...?) Could be much better.
 
Old 11-25-2009, 01:17 AM   #4
lupusarcanus
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 1,022

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Desktop OS, clean interface, simple, easy to configure, easy to use, intuitive, extensive repository, customizable, fixed previous bugs
Cons: Bloated, slower boot compared to older versions, gettin too balkanized from other linux distros


Ideal For Begginners. Slow, but way faster than M$.
 
Old 12-01-2009, 04:04 AM   #5
mrloy
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Distribution: PCLinuxOS, Mandriva, Gentoo, [k]ubuntu, RELS
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Fast, stable
Cons: None found so far


As they say' works for me' :-)
 
Old 12-01-2009, 01:24 PM   #6
Arup65
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10

Pros: Works out of the box
Cons: none.


Using it on my PC and on around thirty PCs at my institute. It works nicely on cutting edge as well as run of the mill PC. In my case its working on my dual quad cores, my wife's Phenom and my Vaio laptop. I do avoid ATI video cards as I am aware that their drivers are the bane of any linux based system.
 
Old 12-01-2009, 10:23 PM   #7
wierdlmate
 
Registered: Nov 2009
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5

Pros: easy install, many things work out of the box
Cons: skype, gdm, bug report response is nonexistent


Maybe I am not in the loop enough, but some things just don't work right, and it takes an enormous effort to get around it. I reported the problems at launchpad and some other forums with no response whatsoever. None. This is a 64 bit, brand new system, but the hardware was purchased to support Linux.

1) X. Intermittently, it just takes about 5 minutes to log in, and nothing responds to mouse clicks (this am AMD quadcore system with 4G RAM). My only option is C-M-F1, and restart gdm.

2) Webcamera. Apparently there is a kernel/v4l bug which gives access to the camera only to root. The bug seems to have been fixed in Debian back in August---and this is November.

3)Skype. It has to be loaded with a preloader and a compatibilty package.

4) Printing. I could never make my Stylus-CX8400 work. It prints blank pages.

5) Youtube (flash). An environment variable has to be set/unset otherwise you cannot click on icons to start movies.

I hate to be negative, for I have been using Linux for 15 years with great satisfaction, but this is the first time my kids asked me "why do you have to run this Linux thing if even you cannot make it work right?".
 
Old 12-02-2009, 02:19 PM   #8
pj5739
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Great look, easy install, plethora of free applications, user friendly
Cons: Installing wireless drivers on older machines difficult or impossible


I downloaded Ubuntu 9.10 and installed it on the partition of my computer that had previously been the home of Ubuntu 8.04. The installation instructions were very straight forward and it installed cleanly. Customizing the appearance seemed easier this time around and there were more default options. There are plenty of applications to download and use.

I did have issues installing the wireless driver and am still in the process of getting that to work. I had had issues with the wireless driver installation on the previous version, but was able to get it installed and working; however, using similar steps do not seem to be working on 9.10.

Overall, a great OS that I would recommend to anyone, but due to the wireless issue I am experiencing, I give it an 8.
 
Old 12-16-2009, 09:07 AM   #9
aryys
 
Registered: Mar 2006
Distribution: Fedora 12, Mandriva 2010, FreeBSD 7.2, Slackware 13, OpenBSD 3.7
Posts: 29

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Clean interface, smooth running & stable
Cons: Pulseaudio/alsa problems broken for OpenGL games


Overall a great release,
Was initially put off by the sound problems in openarena and other games being broken but then after upgrading ALSA all the problems have gone

On all systems i have used it on i have had no problems with any drivers or setup, it did take a bit of a push to get my dual screens working on an Nvidia card but that isn't karmics fault
 
Old 01-12-2010, 02:31 PM   #10
dadrunamok
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.04, that alternative OS from Washington State
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Easy to use for the non-technical; plenty of software available.
Cons: Synaptic does not always have the latest stable release for some software packages.


This is my fourth Ubuntu release and it is my everyday desktop at home. Each release is better than the last.

I was not happy with the extra configuration work needed to get sound working correctly for everything, but it's all good now.

The support community is great and the distro is used widely enough that almost any problem can be solved within the first two or three pages on a Google search.
 
Old 01-23-2010, 12:37 AM   #11
dfowensby
 
Registered: Dec 2003
Distribution: Oz Unity Diamond IIB [x64 xfce]
Posts: 194

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3

Pros: free, easy install
Cons: degraded from earlier


my printer has issues, and all (3) of my web cams are now paper weights.
ubuntu is going down in quality and usability. i am now reloading and installing u-8.04.
i hope canonical (joke name, in the least)will provide a suitable realease for real, this next time. it seems they are determined to screw up a good thing
. MHO
 
Old 01-30-2010, 08:51 PM   #12
hrsz171
 
Registered: Jan 2010
Distribution: Ubuntu 9.10 on Netbook, 9.04 on Desktop
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9

Pros: Most everything works "out of the box", huge user base, lots of user support
Cons: Nothing major.


Loaded effortlessly on my Asus EEEPC 1005HA and everything seems to work right "out of the box." I believe this would be an excellent first distro for anyone thinking about trying out Linux.
 
Old 02-04-2010, 04:36 AM   #13
tinlegs
 
Registered: Mar 2009
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 0

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: easy install, good for beginners
Cons: non


worked right from the start, only problem I have had is that you have to put a memory into the inbuilt card reader (Acer Aspire One netbook ) before you switch on for the system to see it. all other ports I've tried work
 
Old 02-18-2010, 05:26 PM   #14
speedotorpedo
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Posts: 1

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6

Pros: great ui, fast, easy
Cons: not sure if i found any


well, I am a very new user of linux. I have never used anything so easy. even windows gave me more problems than linux. so far so good. if there are any bugs......other than the obvious wi-fi issue..... no problems.
 
Old 02-19-2010, 09:12 AM   #15
Laurens73
 
Registered: Aug 2009
Distribution: Debian squeeze (Gnome) on netbooks; Debian Lenny on servers and Debian wheezy (XFCE) on new laptops
Posts: 144

Rep: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation: Reputation:
Would you recommend the product? yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8

Pros: Pretty fast, good user interface, very good hardware support
Cons: Gets unstable sometimes


Unfortunatly Canonical has put Karmic in an unstable repository branch. The pro is that most hardware has full support, even wifi works on most laptops but on the other side many crash reports have been posted (also from one of my own machines over here has this problem). X hangs up freezing the entire machine, forcing the unexperienced user to switch off the computer and back on. In the next release they will return to the testing branch and I expect Ubuntu will get an 8 or 9 then if Canonical continues their good work.
 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items




  



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement

My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration